We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fully enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay. The staff were lovely the rooms nice and the food excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happycamperni48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (479)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

465 - 471 of 479 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2011

We stayed here while in Bangor for a wedding nearby. The hotel was in a great location in Bangor, the rooms were really clean and the beds were amazingly comfortable. The bathrooms could do with a bit of updating but they were really clean.
The staff were really friendly and helpful, although the service in the restaurant when we ate lunch and breakfast there wasn't great but the restaurant and lounge were really modern, comfortable spaces to relax in.
And the view - fabulous. If you can, ask for a sea view room, it really is lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LouJo255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

We had booked our stay through Groupon and weren't quite sure what to expect never having been in the hotel before.We were taken to a large sea facing bedroom which was beautifully furnished, warm&comfortable.We had dinner in the restaurant at a window table with good views.Ordered the smoked salmon which was the best i've ever eaten, served with mini potato farls,it was delicious. Main course of duck was beautifully cooked. After a comfortable night we had a superb breakfast,the coffee was excellent pleasing even my husband who claims you can only get good coffee in France!All this made even better by the fantastic staff for whom nothing was too much trouble.
Brilliant, would recommend this hotel to anybody!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ziggy9947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

Bangor Northern Ireland is a handy, lovely sea port just 30 minutes outside Belfast by a super train service. This hotel came highly recommended so we booked it for a 2 night stay in mid October. Upon arrival the friendly staff took our bags to our tiny and over priced room that was 3 floors up, in the back of the hotel, facing into 'no man's land'. This was a non smoking room that reeked of smoke smell, and no lights working! After the staff called down to have the breaker reset we turned the lights on and they all exploded! At that point we grabbed our bags and headed down the street the Marine Court Hotel.... same price, 3 times the size of the room at Salty Dog, very friendly staff and full breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank pizzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

A lot was crammed into the first floor of this B&B; a tiny reception, public bar, eating/breakfast area and restrooms. A highlight is that it's situated across from Bangor bay, conversely, it faces the main road. While I was happy my room faced the bay, I awoke to the beep-beep-beeping of trucks backing up to an off-load area at the marina where a special event was to take place. The room was clean, spacious and the internet free. The Boathouse restaurant across the street, at the marina, was excellent, although a bit difficult to find.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhoenixHotspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2010

We stayed at the Salty Dog while attending a friends wedding. We had a lovely double room with big sleigh bed at the front of the hotel with a sea view - this was a great room, really comfy and just what you need for a weekend stay. Staff super friendly, breakfast was very hearty! Really nice chilled and relaxed vibe to the bar and hotel as a whole. I would definitly go back.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurenkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2010

When I made the reservation for the Salty Dog I was informed that there were no sea facing rooms available, i did not realise the rooms we did get booked into were of a completely different standard. We stayed in rooms 4 & 5 at the back of the hotel. Room 4 had large thick sheets of PVC plastic on the window which made the room dark, & obviously no view watsoever. There was a fan going in the room when we checked in, this was because the room was so hot & stuffy. There was damp on the ceiling, the furniture was dated, the bathroom cramped & we had no hot water the following morning. We paid £90 for this room which in my opinion is completely overpriced. The rooms displayed on the Salty Dogs website are misleading compared to the one we stayed in. The only positive thing I can say about this hotel is that the staff are friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathleenrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
579 reviews
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Strangford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newtownards
269 reviews
Golden Mile
Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro

Address: 10-12 Seacliff Road, Bangor BT20 5EY, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range: $136 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old Victorian townhouse that’s been beautifully transformed into a stunning boutique hotel overlooking Bangor’s Marina and the Irish Sea. A perfect retreat from everyday hustle and bustle. Friendly staff, gorgeous rooms and great food will make your stay a memorable one. Committed to fine local produce, our highly skilled, award winning chefs, offer a real alternative to Belfast’s restaurants. Whether you’re visiting North Down’s attractions or want a memorable Bangor night out – The Salty Dog offers accessible, nostalgic food in a relaxed setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salty Dog Hotel And Bistro
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro Bangor, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing