We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still unimpressed”

The Boat House Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 161 Restaurants in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $97
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The best of international cooking using great local produce served with flair.
Holywood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Still unimpressed”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Said I would not go back based on previous experiences but had no choice as it was a good friend's big birthday. Once again it failed to impress- as before, the presentation was everything but the food so not follow through on taste- flavours overall did not work and seriously bland across the board. The location is nice and when the food comes out initially, you expect so much because of the presentation (and the prices) but once again the Boathouse fails to follow through. Also agree with other reviewers in terms of inferior wine selection at vastly inflated prices. Not good enough.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    58
    25
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“By far the best”
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Dining experience I've had in Northern Ireland. Food, service and surroundings all superb. The three members of staff we met were all professional and pleasant, the food was interesting, full of flavour and good value considering the effort involved. I'll be back.

Helpful?
2 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not for me”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Every tiny, pea sized drop that will appear on your plate will be described in the menu descriptions, even if they are so insignificant that you can’t taste them and barely register that they are there. The food is all well cooked, but the whole place seems like a bit of an ego boost rather than a place that exists for pure enjoyment. The prices are horrendous for what actually arrives on your plate, and you may well find yourself eyeing up one of the local chip shops on your way home, if you have enough money left!!

All in all, you will find food that is just as good locally, and at a far better price.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We had the tasting menu with the wine choices to match. I can't deny that this is the most expensive way to eat, but for a special occasion it is more than worth the cost (especially if you're a "foodie")

Each course is an exciting surprise (they ask at the start if there's anything you don't like), and each one was very impressive. The waiters explained what was in each course very well.

For the wine, the sommelier picks a wine for each course and you get a big glass of each, he said its £30-40 per person for the 5 course tasting menu. It's not cheap (!) but I cannot recommend it enough! He picked the wines perfectly and it really made the meal.

Useful tips...
If you want a G&T, be prepared for the extensive (and exciting) gin menu! You can study the bottles on the left on your way in
The dining room is down relatively narrow stairs and the toilets are upstairs. Make sure you let them know when you book if you have trouble with stairs so that they can accommodate you (I think there is a stair free way, but it wasn't open)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Penguinsandgiraffes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Twice since last time and my mother loves the place.”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I have to bite my tongue when I go out for a meal with my mother. Not one complaint from her. My son an 8 year old, was treated like royalty and made food to suit his desires. The dessert he had was varied from the menu and he loved it.

Tasting menu excellent as ever.

I was down again a couple of weeks later for lunch, and had an excellent starter of Eel which was bloody marvelous. I always talk about the food in my reviews here, but what I really want to say in this one is about the service and the wine list. It has come into criticism because of price. Take it from me, as some one who enjoys his wine and knows the prices restuarants pay for it. Firstly the margins are remarkably keen, and secondly from a wine geeks perspective, this wine list is the best in Northern Ireland. Wines that are unusual, jam packed with flavour and you will not see them anywhere else.

Kudos Jasper, thankyou for going with your passion and not your wallet!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boat House Restaurant also viewed

Bangor, County Down
Bangor, County Down
 
Bangor, County Down
Bangor, County Down
 

Been to The Boat House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing