We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hargreaves House
Nearby Hotels
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$269
$233
Official Site
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel(Carrickfergus)(Great Value!)
$76
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dobbins Inn Hotel(Carrickfergus)
$91
$88
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rayanne House(Holywood)
$169
$147
Agoda.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loughshore Hotel(Carrickfergus)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveler rating
223
22
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
223
22
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bguinness breadantrim coastwealth of informationnorthern irelandbreakfast was deliciousfluffy bathrobesbreakfast room isplace to staymaking reservationsfront windowirish seabeyond the call of dutyfive minute walklittle touchesrabbit roomsa lovely stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
234 - 239 of 246 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2009

The location of Hargreaves House was absolutely spectacular. Right across the street from the seawall and the bay. We are not sure if any of the rooms look out over the bay , but ours did not and was at the back of the house. Our room was a bit small , but we managed alright because we are quite small people. Stacking the suitcases was a challenge though. The bathroom was really small and anyone bigger than us (5'6" and small frames) would have a real problem.

Pauline was a fantastic host and was so helpful to us. She offered to book places for us to eat every night , but we wanted to look at them. When we went into Belfast , she gave us specific instructions on what to do and what to see and she supplied us with the "Hop on Hop off" bus tickets.

Breakfast was wonderful with enough choices to satisfy anyone. The breakfast room looked out across the water and the view was fabulous.

This was a good choice of bed and breakfast for us and we would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2oldies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2009

Wonderful accomodations and outstanding hostess. Pauline is a fabulous person with a network to assist her guests.She arranged bookings for events and dining and the necessary everyday items such as laundry always with a smile and a want to help with more. We not only found a marvelous place to stay, we also found a friend. I would highly recommend Hargreaves House to anyone traveling in the north of Ireland.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RetCop46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2009

Pauline is the perfect hostess. Our room was classy, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was the best and cooked to order. But Pauline -- words cannot describe the woman! If we wanted to go to dinner, she was on the phone getting us reservations. When we wanted tea at the Merchant, she was on the phone making reservations and making sure we were treated even more specially. It was like having our own personal concierge except that she does this for everyone who stays at her home. She got us all sorts of reservations, she got our laundry done, she totally took care of us. Even when we decided to stay a day longer, and she couldn't accomodate us due to bookings, she found a room for us and helped us to move our luggage there! On the 1 to 5 scale given here, if I could, I would have given Pauline a 12. She was THAT good. Add that to the quietness of the room, the location (right across the street from the sea wall), the convenience (easy trips to Belfast and easy walk to Bangor) and I can't think of any place else I would stay in Bangor.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank celticolleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2009

Pauline was very helpful in making reservations for us. She arranged a tour of
Belfast and each night at restraurants. My husband had been in Bangor years ago, Pauline made arrangements for us to go see the home he lived in. The breakfasts were very good and the bed was comfortable. We stayed 3 days and felt like we were leaving family when we left.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kdcUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

Hargreaves House is quite outstanding in terms of comfort, welcome and hospitality. Pauline, who runs the place not only delivers great 'bespoke' breakfasts but offers discouted restaurant and attraction deals, local knowledge and a genuine home from home experience without ever being 'in your face'.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HectorSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews