We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home, Sweet Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hargreaves House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hargreaves House
Ranked #2 of 19 Bangor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Home, Sweet Home”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

A beautiful, cozy, waterfront B&B that we will definitely visit again. The hostess, Pauline, was incredibly welcoming and helped us plan the rest of our trip. She even stored some of our luggage while we went to Scotland so that we didn't have as much to carry, then met us at the train station to deliver it! The very best B&B experience we've ever had!

Room Tip: We had the room with the world's smallest bathroom, which actually worked quite well! If you li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordongirl429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerPauline, Owner at Hargreaves House, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Hi - Thanks for taking the time to make your lovely comments on your stay with us. So glad you enjoyed yourselves and look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future. Perhaps next time you would prefer the larger double room on the first floor with the larger bathroom complete with corner bath although I am sure you will not find it as 'intimate' :-)) Thanks also for the beautiful flowers - they lasted for well over a week. Also hope you managed to get home your luggage and contents safely! The couple in San Diego can't wait...........
Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    21
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
88
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cookstown, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have just returned home from Hargreaves House B&B, it was lovely, quiet, clean and very cosy. The breakfast was just perfect, with the basil and nasturtium adding that finishing touch. Pauline was very attentive, friendly and an excellent host. The children really enjoyed our stay in Bangor. Thank you, if you want a B&B in Bangor you will not get better than this so book it now!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerPauline, Owner at Hargreaves House, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
I am glad you appreciated the nasturtiums and basil! I only hope that the next time you are here the flowers are still in bloom......Thank you for your lovely comments and hope to see you again soon.
Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2013

had a wonderful time in bangor last weekend.we stayed at the hargreaves house guest house and couldn't have been treated better by our mothers ! Pauline was the most attentive,friendly host i have come across in many a holiday. i couldn't find fault with anything and even the weather was great . would recommend hargreaves house to anyone wanting a relaxing stay in bangor. top marks.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAUL B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerPauline, Owner at Hargreaves House, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Hallo - Thanks for the lovely comments about your 3 day stay and glad that our suggestions helped and also that the weather behaved itself for your visit.
Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Pauline was great and knew everything we asked, and advised us on lots of things , and it was never too much trouble for her ,and most of the time arranged it for us. The room was clean and tidy at all times. Food was great ,and even did our breakfast when we were late on one occasion. The location was perfect and had everything close by. I would recommend it to anyone and will use paulines b&b in the very near future “thanx for making our stay very simple

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snappy1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerPauline, Owner at Hargreaves House, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Hi - Glad you enjoyed your stay and especially your 'late breakfast' - we hope to see you again soon.
Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed one night at Hargreaves House last weekend, we completely enjoyed our brief stay! Everything was just perfect, the breakfast was wonderful, our room was small but grand, Pauline pays attention to all details to make your stay tops! "Aunty" Pauline was very nice, kind and thoughtful, she even rode us with a wee bit in our car to guide us out of town...We would highly recommend her B and B to everyone staying just a few miles outside of Belfast (don't forget to take Susie Millar's Belfast tour). The only bummer was that the TSA took my two homemade jelly with whisky jars from my backpack in LA on the way home! I was really looking forward to having a bit of Ireland back home - thanks for all Pauline!!!! Allen & Janet

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerPauline, Owner at Hargreaves House, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Hi - Glad you made it home safely but sorry you had your whiskey marmalade taken from you! Taking steps to sort that out! Luckily we have some more guests in at the moment from the US. Anyway, perhaps you will be able to stay longer next time you visit Ireland? One night just isn't long enough.
Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rostock, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Germany
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The Hargreaves House ist a very nice bed and breakfast with a brilliant hostel warden called Pauline. She was very nice, courteous and supporting. The rooms are very individual personally. Breakfast and breakfasttime is requiring by the guest.

Wir haben uns sehr wohlgefühlt. Es hat uns an nichts gefehlt. Wir waren und sind noch immer kolossal begeistert.

Liebe Grüße aus Rostock, Leipzig und Potsdam

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerPauline, Owner at Hargreaves House, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hallo - Thank you for taking the time to write about us after your very successful stay for the World Police and Fire Games. It was lovely to meet you all and follow your successes in the new Olympic pool here in Bangor. I wish you well at the next Games.
Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2013

A wonderful location on the sea front only minutes from the town centre. This BnB gave us everything we needed. From before even arriving Pauline, the most lovely host, arranged taxis for the weekend and even a hair appointment for my girlfriend before the wedding we were in Bangor for.

The room we stayed in was very comfortable, clean, and included everything we needed. Breakfast was great and couldn't have asked for anything more.

Make sure you stay at this BnB when you stay in Bangor - we will again.

A wonderful stay - thank you Pauline!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JN04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerPauline, Owner at Hargreaves House, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hi - Glad you enjoyed your stay and you were happy with the way the hairdresser did your hair for the wedding - at the house. Hope to see you again soon.
Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
0.2 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
516 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
3.1 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
946 reviews
5.6 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 3 in Holywood
1,661 reviews
7.0 mi away
Rayanne House
Rayanne House
#2 of 3 in Holywood
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hargreaves House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hargreaves House

Property: Hargreaves House
Address: 78 Seacliff Road, Bangor BT20 5EZ, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Bangor
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Hargreaves House Bangor, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing