We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time in Northern Ireland”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hargreaves House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hargreaves House
Ranked #2 of 19 Bangor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria VA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“First time in Northern Ireland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is an amazing B&B!! We have stayed in many Bed and Breakfasts in Europe, Canada and the United States, but none like Hargreaves House. It is quite simply THE BEST. From the very first contact to a fond farewell, it was an absolutely wonderful visit. Words can hardly describe the warm, friendly, charming and professional Pauline. She set us up with anything and everything we wanted to do -- from taxi to restaurants to trains and tours. Her home is just lovely , nicely furnished and appointed. Pauline provides delicious and healthy breakfasts. Best of all is Pauline's warm personality -- full of wit, knowledge and good suggestions. Our best memories are the "stairway chats" at the end of the day.
We would and have HIGHLY recommend Hargreaves House and Pauline.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmithsOnTheMove1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerPauline, Owner at Hargreaves House, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hi - Thank you for your wonderful comments about your visit here at Hargreaves House. You said some lovely things about your stay and we are so happy that you enjoyed yourselves. Should you ever get back here again we look forward to some more "stairway chats".
Thanks again
Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    21
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
88
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We spent 8 dyas at the Hargreaves House and found it to be extremely comfortable and perfectly situated. The host Pauline was wonderful and very friendly, she gave us great advice and lots of very good information about the area.
The room was spacious very clean and comfortable the bed was perfect for us. Our breakfasts were very good freshly squeezed oragne juice beautifully coocked fry up and Pauline made every effort to give us some really nice extras like fresh fruit smoothies and Pain au Chocalate.
I would certainly recommend Hargreaves without any hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerPauline, Owner at Hargreaves House, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hello - I am so glad you enjoyed your stay here and I hope you visit us again.
Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

My wife and myself stayed in Hargreaves two years ago we had a great time so we booked again.It was a great place to bring my wife who is Chinese, Pauline made us very welcome.
The food there is great and plenty off.
Hargreaves is a warm friendly home and a great place to stay and see Northern Ireland.

Room Tip: No noise at all from any part of house
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerPauline, Owner at Hargreaves House, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hi - Thanks for your lovely comments and we look forward to your third visit !
Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Booked for one night only as we were off to a party down the road and this place came out well in reviews.
We were offered a choice of rooms and decided on the cheapest option of the double on the ground floor which has an ensuite. To be fair, it was explained at the time of booking the ensuite was “small” and this did turn out to be the case. The room has no sea views just a window to the rear enclosed yard. The room was comfortable although the restricted ensuite was an effort to come to terms with. A pity really as there was room in the bedroom to have made it a foot longer and deeper that would have made a big difference. Very small wash hand basin, even for a wet shave.
Pauline was very welcoming and nothing was too much of a problem for her. She organised taxis for us and took details of what time we would like breakfast – we were the only guests that night.
Breakfast was excellent. I had ordered freshly squeezed tomato juice which was excellent. My partner had the orange juice which was also top class.
Ingredients for the Breakfast are sourced by Pauline and nothing gets served unless it has a good pedigree and is wholesome. We enjoyed the view over Belfast Lough as we dined.
A pleasant stay in comfortable surroundings.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yourpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerPauline, Owner at Hargreaves House, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hi - Firstly thank you for your lovely comments about the breakfast you had here - we always serve the freshest of food and always freshly squeeze the juices so it was nice to see that it was appreciated! Also for your comments about the view from the breakfast room over the water.
This brings me onto your comments about the small ensuite shower room and therefore the size of the bedroom. We actually did a survey of our customers about whether to make the bedroom a bit smaller by adding a small ensuite. Without exception everyone said that the benefit of an ensuite toilet and shower would outweigh the disadvantage of it being small. We did consult the professionals before doing anything and the result was the largest we were allowed to put in. By adding an extra 12 inches in length it would have encroached on the actual doorway to the bedroom and we had to leave enough space for a wheelchair to have access. Thank you for your comments and I hope this explains that whilst the ensuite is smaller than normal it is still serviceable.
Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed here recently and what a great place! Everything to hand eg. robes, shower gel, shampoo, hairdryer even mouth wash and lovely belgian chocolates on the well stocked tea/coffee tray. There was even an iPod dock. Breakfast was wonderful, from the freshly squeezed orange juice served in crystal glasses to the great sausages, bacon etc!. To add to that, a real coal fire was lit in the dining room.

Thanks for a wonderful stay,Pauline.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Durell72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerPauline, Owner at Hargreaves House, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hallo - Thank you for leaving a message after your stay - I am glad that you were comfortable and especially enjoyed the coal fire whilst you having breakfast.
Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We loved arriving here on the coast in Bangor for our first day in Ireland; we immediately asked to stay another night. Pauline was so helpful and gracious welcoming us and recommending a fabulous place to eat - The Boat House, on our first night and with short notice. She also provided us recommendations and vouchers to tour Belfast - all perfect. Our room had everything one could want and sitting in the diningroom/parlor we enjoyed some wine ( which she went and picked up for us) and the lovely view of the sea. We would highly recommend you put this on your schedule; we are so glad we found This B & B!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Verinvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerPauline, Owner at Hargreaves House, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hallo
Thank you so much for your lovely comments on your stay here at Hargreaves House. Also I am glad you enjoyed your meal at the Boat House and were able to make use of the discount tickets we gave you for Belfast. Perhaps we will see you again on another visit?
Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

We first came across Hargreaves House when our cousins came over from South Africa to visit our relatives in Bangor. Pauline could not have been more helpful. Arranging a taxi to and from the airport due to visitors ill health. My cousins were very interested in our Family Tree. Pauline put them in touch with a Family Researcher. She could not have been more helpful and accommodating to them. A coat had been left at another relative's and Pauline kindly received it for them. Everything that was needed was catered for. So when my sister, husband and myself needed to go across due to illness in our family the first place for us to stay was Hargreaves House knowing we would get a warm welcome and assistance in whatever was needed and we were not disappointed. Hargreaves House is very near the main street in Bangor and easily accessible. Nothing was too much trouble for Pauline as she seems to enjoy looking after her visitors. The bedrooms were very comfortable. Excellent breakfast in front of an open fire. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sloaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
0.2 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
3.1 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
5.6 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 3 in Holywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
5.2 mi away
Strangford Arms Hotel
Strangford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newtownards
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hargreaves House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hargreaves House

Property: Hargreaves House
Address: 78 Seacliff Road, Bangor BT20 5EZ, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Bangor
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Hargreaves House Bangor, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing