We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again”
Review of Hargreaves House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hargreaves House
Ranked #2 of 18 Bangor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Would stay here again”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed at Hargreaves House at the end of June for two nights, when we were in Northern Ireland for a 50th birthday party in nearby Donaghadee.

Pauline was the perfect hostess, making sure everything you needed was taken care of.
Bed was extremely comfortable and the breakfast excellent.

Wouldn't hesitate in recommending Hargreaves House to anyone who asked.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    21
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
91
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Strathaven, Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights whilst in Bangor to see our new born grandson.
Although she had never met us before, Pauline opened a bottle of bubbly for us to celebrate and we had a lovely end to our first evening chatting. She could not have been more attentive and was always anxious to make sure we enjoyed our stay. Fresh towels each day, strawberries for breakfast, parking just outside the front door. Ideal.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer Island, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed only one night with Pauline at this lovey B&B. She was extremely helpful and the facilities were great! The breakfast was wonderful! Pauline was most gracious and provided us with everything we needed! A very good place!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnandevey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaysville, Utah, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

My wife, daughter and myself recently stayed with Pauline in our first trip to Ireland. We could not have been treated more graciously and provided with every comfort. We were a bit anxious given this was our first trip to Ireland- not sure what to see, where to go, getting around etc. After we booked our room with Pauline, she called us over six times to help us with our planning- got us tickets to local events, made sure we knew directions and did everything she could well in advance of our arriving.
Upon arrival we were greeted by a hot cup of tea and Pauline's warm smile. The rooms were wonderful and the morning breakfasts superb. She made calls for us, introduced us to people who would help us with our trip and met and exceeded our every need. The town and location are perfect to see the surrounding sights. We could not be more pleased and will definitely stay again on our next visit. The highest marks to Pauline.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

This is a beautiful B&B on the water front. The hospitality, friendliness was just awesome. Definately one of the most nicest B&B's in Ireland. Breakfast was excellent, and the travelling advice from Pauline was extremely informative. This place is definately value for money. I give it a 5/5.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Makeit3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

The best facets of this cosy B+B are the friendliness and hospitality of Pauline, the owner. The room was comfortable with shower, flat screen tv, coffee/tea/hot choc, even monogrammed towels and bathrobes. The organic breakfast was delicious and definitely worth the 5 star food hygiene rating. We were given great advice about where to eat, where to visit etc. A very interesting lady who is clearly passionate about encouraging tourism in Northern Ireland. We ate in an Italian place called Little Wing - best garlic bread I've ever had. Great pint of guinness in the Rabbit Rooms, then a walk along the harbour to our B+B, which has a specatacular view of Belfast lough / Bangor harbour. All in all a very relaxing, value-for-money adventure

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rsszme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Hargreaves House is in a good, quiet, location right on the seafront. The breakfasts were excellent. The rooms were adequate, if a little on the the small side. This is a basic guest house but with some nice touches and a high level of friendliness, personal attention and hospitality from the host.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aroomsomewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
0.2 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
538 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
3.1 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
973 reviews
5.6 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,695 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shelleven Guest House
Shelleven Guest House
#1 of 18 in Bangor
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hargreaves House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hargreaves House

Property: Hargreaves House
Address: 78 Seacliff Road, Bangor BT20 5EZ, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Bangor
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Hargreaves House Bangor, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing