We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Visit for a local Wedding”
Review of New Inn Hotel

New Inn Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
New Inn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Ellon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Weekend Visit for a local Wedding”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Excellent friendly hotel in a lovely location looking to the River Ythan. The hotel was friendly and clean. Breakfast was delicious and the Waitresses were really good at their job. My only criticism was instant coffee instead of real at breakfast. We would definitely stay there again. The local beach at Newburgh is well worth a visit to see the seals.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CC50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    58
    25
    6
    3
See reviews for
35
28
5
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

First impressions of hotels can be revealing, but the uncleared bird droppings and weeds greeting you at the entrance to the New Inn are a bit misleading. The rooms are quite a good standard and are not unreasonably priced for the Aberdeen area. You just have to wait a while for the shower pump to stop pulsing, but otherwise everything works. The restaurant serves good food at reasonable prices, witness the fact that it was packed with local diners. Nice breakfast, friendly service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllanKnaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Family meal for 6. Pleasant, friendly service. Vege lasagne, fish, pork and burger dishes all well presented, tasty and filling. 30 min wait from ordering until all 6 freshly cooked meals served together. You may want to order nibbles while waiting but we had no room for desserts after the main course. £86.00 including drinks for 6 is very good value. Will return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exzombaresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellon, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Had a delicious tea with friends. Food was to die for, service excellent. My favourite place for either lunch or tea in Ellon. We only went for tea so unable to comment on accommodation. Have also been to private functions at this hotel and once again quality of food and service is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Met up with friends here for lunch, we did not spend a great deal but did spend more time chatting and catching up than we had realised, the staff were very good did not rush us were attentive without hovering, very easy to catch the eye of staff for further coffees. In all a very pleasant lunch with the food, staff and also catching up with friends

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maglit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Booked this as a last minute business trip. Had a twin room which was very spacious, hotel has free Wi Fi 24/7 not like some of the big chains where you get a few minutes free then have to pay a large fee per day. Rates in clude full English breakfast and cereals etc. Food in Restaurant was first class and really good value with very big servings.Staff were very friendly and helpful. Will certainly stay again

Room Tip: All of the rooms were very tastefully decorated. If you want a twin room go for room 11 which obverl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed here for work and found the hotel spotless and the food was amazing. Hope to stay here again. The room was at the front of the hotel with a nice view over the river and bridge. Decor was very modern (think it had maybe just been refurbished). Stayed for evening meal which was lovely and breakfast the next morning was basically whatever you fancied.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigspender1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellon
0.1 mi away
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ellon
93 reviews
9.0 mi away
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cruden Bay (Port Erroll)
235 reviews
12.9 mi away
Buchan Braes Hotel
Buchan Braes Hotel
#1 of 7 in Peterhead
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Strathburn Hotel
Strathburn Hotel
#3 of 5 in Inverurie
140 reviews
4.3 mi away
Newburgh Inn
Newburgh Inn
#1 of 3 in Newburgh
199 reviews
9.1 mi away
Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Inn Hotel

Property: New Inn Hotel
Address: Market Street, Ellon AB41 9JD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ellon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ellon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your New Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Ellon
New Inn Hotel Ellon, Scotland - Aberdeenshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing