We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place to stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Fox,s Lair

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SteveJL80
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed July 14, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Well equipped, well maintained with a great little view. Not far from the beach at Aberdyfi with all the amenities you could. Great base for walks of the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View from the small garden area
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danilunt1...
Shropshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect stay!”
Reviewed June 8, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Both myself and partner loved out stay at Fox Lair! It has been done to a high standard and has everything that you need for your stay. Even tea, coffee, bed linen and towels were included. Fox Lair has a little patio with a table and chairs that are lovely to sit on in the sun. Its a brilliant place that i cannot recommend enough, will definitely be returning!!

Thanks Gary

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JK0082
England
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Really lovely”
Reviewed March 15, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The facilities were great, everything was clean, the owner was helpful. The chalet had a lovely cosy feel and we were lucky enough in March to have beautiful weather and be able to sit out in the little porch with the gorgeous view and read. The sunrise is also beautiful from there. It was a lovely romantic weekend. Aberdovey is a sweet little town with basic facilities (note: No free cash machine) and its Indian restaurant/takeaway (Bay of Bengal) is outstanding.

No complaints from us. I would reiterate what others have said: bring pound coins. I also recommend bringing a blanket as it got chilly when the heat hadn't been on esp. with leather sofas and the heating isn't overly efficient so takes a while to warm up. You definitely need a car - beware the road up to the chalet is steep and bumpy - but fun if you want to feel like a rally driver. I'm not sure how anyone would ever get up there in the snow. ... And if you're with Vodafone, forget it. 'Emergency calls only' :) and as I didn't know where to go on arrival that made it tricky - but luckily my husband's EE network was fine. No wifi either - for me that was a good thing though.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bubblyjan...
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous!”
Reviewed September 17, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

A very clean and lovely, tasteful chalet just ideal for 2 people on a romantic break. The view is breathtaking and even though it is quite a steep drive up to it, it's well worth it. We will certainly be back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia L
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing! ”
Reviewed September 8, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just come back from a 2 night stay and the chalet was beautiful! It was so modern and had everything that we needed, including an iron
It stood out from the other chalets and you can tell that a lot of work has gone into it. The neighbours were friendly and we had a chat on the private patio with gorgeous views.
At night I have never seen so many stars it was absolutely stunning!
The fire place really made it for us, it was so snug to put it on and chill out with the TV on like a home away from home.
Already recommended to all our family and friends and would love to come back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToniB50
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a litle gem!”
Reviewed September 6, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Just returned from a 3 night stay at Fox's Lair for my partners birthday. What a beautiful find. The chalet was immaculate, cozy and comfortable, A "home from home" and literally 10 minutes from Aberdovey. The steep climb is well worth it. Even though we took basic provisions there were already tea, coffee, salt and pepper and washing up and cleaning products there. The kitchen had everything that you could need. The electricity is provided by a £1 coin meter and even after cooking 2 full meals and breakfast, hot showers and using the fire briefly one night we only used £3. I can't recommend this place highly enough. Gary the owner responded to our booking request immediately and as he lives nearby I felt the need to go and thank him personally for providing such a wonderful place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and superb accommodation
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing