We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Urban chic by the seaside!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Llety Bodfor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Llety Bodfor
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Urban chic by the seaside!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We just spent four days at Llety Bodfor in Aberdovey. The plan was to get away from work for a few days and relax... and the plan worked to perfection!
This is a gem of a place perfectly situated with great views of the estuary (and indeed the car park opposite does not detract from the ever changing light over the water and the hills) and the house is impeccably decorated. We stayed in a first floor suite, Pedwar (Four in English). It is a very comfortable spacious room with high ceiling, a super king size bed, leather settee and two Lloyd Loom chairs with table in the bay window. We had a very handy kitchenette (with fridge and well filled reasonably priced minibar) between the room and the bathroom. The latter being the size and having the luxury fittings of a town house and the feel of a beach house! Just right!
The concept of bed and no breakfast suited us as there was no pressure to go to the dining room at particular times in the morning. However, the individual kitchenettes and the scullery and dining room in the house provide enough for making your own toasts, cereals etc.. And for those who need more, there is an arrangement with Seabreeze, a restaurant two doors down.
The feeling of being at home is increased by the fact that the house is locked but unmanned after hours as well as the vinyl and DVD collection. We had a great time reminiscing when listening to some great classic.
We were grateful that Llety Bodfor provides its residents with permits to park in the town. A great perk! And we want to thank Gareth, Helen and all staff for their help and friendliness.
We certainly shall return and do a few more walks around the place (we had the beach virtually to ourselves when we walked to the next town, Tywyn). We are even considering renting the whole place for my husband's 60th. We have no doubt that our friends and family would love the house and the area.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Durberville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    7
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Well where to start with my praises. Ok the hotel is different in you get a front door key and your room key and after 6pm you are left to your own devices. It's great down stairs is a shared seating area leather sofa dinning table kitchenette area where you can make drinks and toast etc if you want too. The lounge has loads of vinyl and a record player and you play what you like. There are tons of DVDs you can borrow and take to your room which is very well appointed.

The rooms have small kitchen areas with a stocked bar which you can pay for although tea and coffee are available for free like most hotels. The bedroom was exquisite. Huge bed leather sofa large flat screen tv DVD player. You can control your own heating so not reliant on general hotel heating which in my opinion can be too hot or cold and you can't change.

The views over the estuary were extraordinary. I was lucky the sun was setting when I arrived and I watched it rise the following day it doesn't always rain in Wales. Anyway will attach some photos so judge for yourselves.

The bathroom was spacious with large free standing bath corner shower and toilet and basin. All is very tastefully decorated with modern colours.

Breakfast is not included in the stay but you can book it at the Seaview restaurant. Very good. Please see my restaurant comments for more information

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPT1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

What a super place to stay. A beautiful room, well when I say room I mean suite because we had a huge bathroom and small kitchen-ette attached. The hostess was charming and when she found out it was our wedding anniversary she sent us a loving spoon in the post. The rooms were stylish and large and whilst you don't get breakfast you know this before you book so that's not a problem. There's lots of places locally to eat so why rush to get to a breakfast you don't really want.
We'll go again... definitely!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsoo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at Llety Bodfor last Sunday night. As it was quiet, they had upgraded up to one of the suites, which was great - top floor, incredibly spacious, and fabulous views (until the weather set in). We were greeted very warmly upon arrival, and I cannot fault the room or the amenities. Lots of little extra, like bathrobes, an umbrella, ironing board, and a well-stocked (and well-priced) mini bar. Although we didn't use it, there's a great lounge space and well-equipped scullery. Aberdovey itself was lovely - I'd highly recommend eating at The Seabreeze!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amuia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

I recently stayed at Llety Bodfor overnight and it was absolutely delightful. I had room naw (Welsh for 9) which overlooked the beach, estuary and hills beyond - most definitely a room with a view (there is the car park directly in front but with such wonderful scenary beyond....who cares?!). The room was very tastefully decorated and furnished with little touches of luxury throughout (I wish I had this sort of flare of design and furnishing when it comes to my own home!!) I particularly liked the big bed with nice fluffy pillows and duvet all topped off with a Welsh wool blanket (Melin Tregwynt). A well stocked mini bar at very reasonable prices was an unexpected addition and I enjoyed an ice cold glass of wine relaxing on the sofa, watching a DVD (from the big collection of DVD's the B&B has for guests' use) whilst looking out at the lovely scenary. I dealt with Gareth, who owns this place with his wife, and he was an absolute pleasure to deal with, very pleasant, helpful and informative. Breakfast was supplied by/served in The Seabreeze restaurant a few doors down and it was lovely, absolutely no complaints at all. For those preferring more a self-catering approach, there is a lovely scullary provided for guest's use at Llety Bodfor, just off the lovely guest lounge. I wouldn't hestiate to recommend Llety Bodfor - a delightful little place, luxurious and well run.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aet1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STOCKTON ON TEES
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was our very first trip to West Wales and we were very pleasantly surprised. Aberdovey is a very pretty town located on a beautiful estuary with acres of sandy beach and a really friendly atmosphere - thanks in no small measure to the masses of very friendly Brummies who apparantly escape to this resort on a very regular basis.

LletyBodfor was everything we hoped it would be - tasteful, comfortable and staffed by people who know how to make you feel very welcome. We stayed in a first floor suite with a bay window which gave us fabulous views across the estuary to the coast.

The in-room facilities were superb - ipod, wi-fi, minibar etc.- and the bathroom was spacious and beautifully designed.

We've already booked to go back to Aberdovey next year but this time with family so we've had to take the self-catering option, otherwise there is no doubt we'd be heading straight to the Bodfor!

Room Tip: Try and book one of the suites with a bay window - the views are spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MICHAEL C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Fourth stay at Llety Bodfor. Fantastic room (Pedwar) especially as we had our 18 month old with us. Tons of room for cot, storing buggy etc. Little things like access to a fridge, microwave etc make a stay away so much easier.
The whole place is beautifully decorated and I could quite easily buy the entire contents of the little interior design shop!
Still a pricey hotel but in our opinion - the only place to stay in aberdovey!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ericthecat2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
0.5 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 4 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
15.0 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
#1 of 1 in Eglwys Fach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dovey Inn
Dovey Inn
#5 of 12 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
#2 of 12 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llety Bodfor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llety Bodfor

Property: Llety Bodfor
Address: Bodfor Terrace, Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park LL35 OEA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Llety Bodfor Hotel Aberdovey / Aberdyfi
Llety Bodfor Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing