We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis of calm and comfort”
Review of Trefeddian Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trefeddian Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
174 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm and comfort”
Reviewed February 22, 2011

This hotel is exactly what good "family "hotels used to be like: well organised, professionally managed, comfortable and service orientated. My wife and I were here for a short break, after a very busy time with our family. Our first delight was the location with the views over both Cardigan bay and the Dovy estuary. Our second delight was the dinner menu - it is a long time since we were presented with a six course menu with comprehensive choices at each stage. The food is excellent, well presented by a chef who really can cook; the beef and the venison main courses were as good as you would get anywhere. Complemented by the soups, fish and vegetables to make dining here a great pleasure. This is also a sufficiently" old fashioned " hotel to have more than adequate public lounges to relax, read or just look at the sea unlike more modern places where the public spaces are four chairs and a coffe table lodged between the reception desk and the front entrance. Use the indoor heated pool - at 8.00 in the morning we had the whole place to ourselves - millionaires bathing!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    117
    34
    6
    3
See reviews for
152
190
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abersoch
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Booked this hotel as a family get together treat for our fathers 82 birthday,
It really is lovely in every aspect.
The location is just superb.
Immpeccable service from the moment we entered the hotel to the moment we left .
The food lovely, menu varied.
The lounges simply delightful.
Additional facilities such as the games room, swimming pool, and mini golf, and an 18 hole course on your door step. Excellent.
We had a sea view room which comes highly recommended.
My only critisim is that our bathroom which though modern was very small. Then again my brothers bathroom was huge!.We were also able to take our little dog which was allowed in the foyer and one lounge. How fabulous and unique. Perhaps our bathroom was small as it was an allocated dog room. But the reality is you do not spend your holiday in the bathroom !

These type of hotels are like hens teeth - where cleanliness, quality, comfort , customer care, homely ambience and traditional charm are all combined.
Far superior to these over rated clinical boutique hotels
Having stayed at many 5 star hotels in the past for me the Trefeddian wins hands up every time.Better than the Grovenor in Chester.
A proper hotel with quality and standards. PERFECT,PERFECT,PERFECT.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annamali2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
381 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 599 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2011

We stayed on one of their special packages during January and it was a real treat, and great value. The hotel is a family-run delight overlooking the beautiful estuary of the Dovey on Cardigan Bay. It's one of the most beautiful locations in the UK, combining the delightful river, expanses of beach and dunes. There's a links golf course and road between the hotel and the dunes, but they don't detract from the charm. The railway station is 6-7 minutes' walk away from the hotel, and you can take the spectacular local train north to places like Barmouth and Harlech (the castle is really worth a visit).

The hotel is to the north of the quaint harbour of Aberdovey, has around 45 rooms (est) and has been run by the same family for a few generations. The photos on the hotel's website do not do it justice. The public rooms are lovely and the hotel throughout is smart and comfortable. There are three or four lounges, games rooms, snooker, a good swimming pool in a separate building and plenty of space to relax. The food is very good and served at quite a canter. The wines are okay - no real bargains but you aren't ripped off and the servers will happily put aside your half-drained bottle for the next evening if required. There's even proper beer in the bar (in bottles).

The real jewel, though, are the staff, who just went out of their way to do all they could to make our stay as pleasant as possible. As just one example (from many), one of them engaged our four-year-old in conversation and then asked if he would like some fruit. He then went to the kitchen and brought back a pear, all without us asking and expecting any of this. Nothing was too much trouble. All of the staff seem local and really care about the hotel and its guests.

Our room was modern with a pleasant balcony overlooking the sea, with wonderful views of the sunset each evening, even when the weather wasn't too pleasant. I did overhear one guest describe his room as a little small, but our room was spacious and warm. As one who often stays in corporate hotels for work, the Tref is a truly remarkable exception to the faceless and bland chains that dominate the industry. There aren't many that you actually look forward to returning to after a day out, but this is certainly one.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Roskers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagley
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2010

We stayed for our wedding anniversary. The hotel is in a spectacular location with panoramic views of the estuary and sea so we were very lucky the weather was beautiful. We experienced a very relaxing time with quality facilities. We stayed in the family room which was very comfortable. The service throughout the hotel was extremely good and the staff were most helpful. The other guests may have been slightly older in the main, but were very friendly. There were at least 3 cosy lounges to choose from and a very nice bar. All of our meals were delicious in the restaurant and of a high standard. We were able to walk down to the beach and go for long walks..either into Aberdovey or the other way to Towyn. We played some golf, and even found a 9 hole municipal course for only £7 fee at Fairbourne (15 miles with a view towards Barmouth + estuary) then enjoying a hot cup of tea and homemade cake in the small cafe there. Personally we were glad this hotel does not have evening entertainment - we could then enjoy a leisurely 5-course dinner. Would we come again? Definitely and would recommend the hotel if guests are looking for quality in a spectacular setting.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaineaustin6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrexham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

I stayed at this hotel with my disabled mother and my sister in a lovely room over looking the sea and the hills. The food was fabulous, my Mum wanted to take her bed home with her and the holiday was very relaxing.
Only downside was there was nothing going on in the evening, but still I want to go back because we were all so relaxed when we left.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sidesie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2010

The hotel is in a beautiful location overlooking an estuary where the tide goes out to give a fantastic beach - although it isn't safe to swim here. Immediately infront of the hotel is a road and railway line and then the golf course and sand dunes. The road is a little busy during the day but we didn't notice it during the night at all - despite our room being at the front. Hills surround the hotel and my mother's (good sized) single room at the back of the hotel had a nice view of the sheep and rabbits on the hillside. The hotel provides excellent detailed maps of walks and mountain bike routes and the area would appeal to birdwatchers. Obviously, it's also good for sailers and golfers.

The hotel itself caters for all ages and certainly while we were there there were several three generation groups like ourselves. Facilities and equipment for the less able were very good. The food and service was excellent and all the rooms and lounges very comfortable. There's tennis, pool, snooker, table tennis, a play area, swimming pool and putting - and free wifi access around the games area. (There's also a laptop you can pay and use if you want) Almost everything has been thought of - even water in the jugs on the dinner table and jigsaw puzzles and magazines in the lounge.

We had a very interesting trip to the Centre for Alternative Technology and we also did a tour of the library at Aberystwyth. There's very little in the way of nice cafes and shopping in the area if the weather is bad but if the weather were good this would beat most holidays abroad!

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CMWNewcastleUponTyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Had an quick break in Mid Wales and wouldn't usually stay in a large hotel but was pleasantly surprised.
Our room on the fourth floor was brilliant. The views over the golf course to the sea were spectacular. Also there was a separate lounge up there with a balcony to sit out on as well. We had afternoon tea out there and loved sitting out to read.
We sat out in the evenings so cannot comment on the lounges bt they looked pleasant enough.
The food was very good and I liked the idea of sitting at the same table for all meals. There was plenty of choice and the wines were good - if not a little dear.
We walked along the beach to Aberdyfi which was great and enjoyed a trip to Ynys Hir bird reserve. There was also a reasonably priced spa and indoor swimming pool.
Have already recommended the hotel to friend.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janetteteague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
1.3 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 3 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
15.0 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
5.1 mi away
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
#1 of 1 in Eglwys Fach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dolffanog Fawr
Dolffanog Fawr
#1 of 1 in Tal-y-llyn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
12.7 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.8 mi away
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
#2 of 11 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trefeddian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trefeddian Hotel

Property: Trefeddian Hotel
Address: Aberdovey, Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park LL35 0SB, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Trefeddian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Also Known As:
Trefeddian Hotel Aberdovey
Trefeddian Hotel Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing