We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow what a view!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trefeddian Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trefeddian Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
South Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Wow what a view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2007

After weeks of rain and floods my wife and I travelled a lengthy journey to Aberdovey - where right on cue the sun shone. The hotel, set less than a mile from the small town overlooks golf links and beaches. It is an uplifting setting.
Seeking a short break - four days - we could not have been more fortunate in our choice of hotels. It was smart, tidy and welcoming. The sea view room we had was compact but very comfortable ( some have balconies) and what a view to see first thing in the morning. The bathroom worked - not always the case in some hotels - plenty of gushing hot water in bath and shower.
Several lounges offered comfortable relaxation throughout the day and the restaurant provided the most delightful meals. The staff at all times were genuinely warm and helpful.
The hotel caters for a wide range of people. Many are a little mature but it was delightful to see three generation families at ease in the situation.
Aberdovey is a little "hidden" but it is well worth the trek into Wales for it is a gem. We shall certainly visit again.

  • Liked — Always feeling totally comfortable
  • Disliked — Small lift - just occasionally used by the young in their games.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    107
    34
    5
    2
See reviews for
141
183
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2007

'The Tref' is a real family hotel. It offers a warm welcome to all generations. My grandparents enjoyed many holidays here, my parents have been going for years & since we had children my husband & I have enjoyed an annual long weekend.
For the more mature guests there is disabled access to many rooms & quiet lounges.
For children there is a play room, games room, early suppers, babylistening & rooms large enough for extra beds & cots.
For everyone there is an enormous clean, sandy beach, a nice indoor pool, 9 hole golf course & terrific 5 course dinners. All the staff (many who have been there for years) are friendly & helful.
There is plenty to do in the area- fabulous hill walking, good golf and sailing. The tallyclynn railway is good fun. Reception will provide literature on the endless local attractions.
It's not a budget holiday (the 4th floor rooms are worth the extra) but I can't imagine anyone not having a great time.

  • Liked — the wonderful food
  • Disliked — only one (rather slow) lift
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pollylovesthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2007

In March we went to the Trefeddian for our third visit in three years. Our previous visits have been either in June or August so a visit in middle March was taking a chance on the weather. In fact for most of our stay the weather was warm and sunny and we ate outside one lunchtime overlooking the sea at Tywyn!

The rooms on the 4th floor are obviously the best - spacious and roomy. We had a corner room with a great view of the bay and the hillside where we watched the rabbits playing first thing and late afternoon. The bathroom was large and had a walk in shower as well as a bath - great for those of us who have difficulty in climbing in and out of baths.

The food as always was excellent with plenty of choice at dinner and the menu changing daily. The breakfasts offer plenty of choice for full English, continental etc. with fresh fruit including strawberries available even in March!

The staff are friendly and helpful and will arrange lunch to take out if wanted.

Thoroughly recommended for a relaxing stay with plenty of interesting places nearby to visit. If you have small children the beach at Aberdovey is ideal for sandcastle building.

Our only slight complaint is that it is a bit on the pricey side but have always felt well rested after a few days stay at the Trefeddian.

  • Liked — Quiet location, marvelleous sea views, excellent food
  • Disliked — railway line across the road between the road and the sea
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlenysW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton-le-Fylde
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2006

We stayed at the Trefeddian Hotel in August 2006 with our grandson. Aberdovey has everything to suit a family holiday. The surrounding countryside is well worth exploring - we visited ruined castles, climbed mountains, visited the beautiful Cregennan Lakes. Walked for miles along the spectacular beach, visited the museum for alternative technology. The hotel is well run, the choice of food was excellent - there being a different menu every day. We had the luxury of staying in a fourth floor room which are exceptionally large and modern - well worth the extra cost. There was plenty to keep our 11 year old grandson occupied - miniature golf, indoor pool, tennis court, games room etc. The hotel seems very tolerant of children and dogs, all of whom were well behaved! This was our second visit in three years, nothing much had changed and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We like the fact that the room rates do not rise spectacularly during school holidays - a rarity these days. The rate for children is excellent - but overall it is still an expensive place to stay. We hope we can afford another visit!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Overall price
  • Tips/Secrets — Visit Cregennan Lakes
  • Stayed August 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maggie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2006

We visit this hotel regularly and love it.
The location is great, and the views are breathtaking.
This hotel is especially good if you are a golfer, however it has lots to offer for everyone else as well.

The meals are out of this world, the menu changes every night so there is always lots to chose from.

Some parts of the hotel have been done up to a higher standard, but the other parts are still very clean and comfortable.

We enjoy coming here more for the hotel than anything else, however Aberdovey and surrounding areas are a great place to spend a weekend.

  • Liked — The meals
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for sea view
  • Stayed September 2005, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank betty23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow Bucks England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2005

Stayed last in July 2004, having been a visitor on several ocassions with parents in the past.

Hotel has had money spent on it and is a good class. Top floor rooms newest and best and do not bother with hill view. One sheep looks like another.

Food very good and staff excellent.

Too expensive though. We have an adult autistic son who has to share a room with us. Per person pricing means that we are paying far too much for occupying the same space as a couple. We have stayed at better hotels in Italy and Spain for less.

Aberdovey is very pretty but not a lot to do for more than a couple of days.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank NeilofMarlow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2004

We found the hotel to be dated - be careful what room you get ours was certainly not 4 star. Some floors have been updated so check when booking we were not told and the prices are the same! I understand the top floor to be very good which is new. Preferential treatment given to repeat visitors did not feel very welcome as first and last timers!

Swimming pool/changing room in need of refurb.

Food was good as were the staff around the hotel - restaurant in a big room not very intimate - best tables near the window which everyone requests.

The views and surroundings are first class Aberdovey is a lovely place to visit.

Helpful?
22 Thank munnUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
1.3 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 4 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
15.0 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
12.7 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.8 mi away
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
#2 of 12 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
6.3 mi away
Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trefeddian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trefeddian Hotel

Property: Trefeddian Hotel
Address: Aberdovey, Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park LL35 0SB, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Trefeddian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Also Known As:
Trefeddian Hotel Aberdovey
Trefeddian Hotel Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing