We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Fashioned family welcome”
Review of Trefeddian Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trefeddian Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I knew this was going to be a relaxing stay from the minute I walked through the doors. We ordered tea, which arrived in heavy old silver pots and sat looking out over the beautiful beach. The hotel is strange in some ways - lots of 'la troisieme age', with a good sprinkling of children and everyone in between, but everyone staying there is just so nice and friendly and tolerant of each other that it totally works and even if there is the odd blip it doesn't matter because this hotel has somehow nailed the family vibe down to a tee.

The staff are all very friendly and efficient. The room rates are great value on a DBB basis. It is an old family business and feels like one. The children are welcomed, they loved the freedom of the playroom. There wasn't even much for them to do in there but they loved going on their own and meeting other children. Grandparents can contentedly snooze in the several lounges. The food is fine, even if it wasn't spectacular, it is good enough, and they always managed to deliver the crispy bacon I like in the morning, that so many hotels seem unable to do.

The setting is glorious. The pool fine [not enough seating for adults watching kids though].
Our room was cramped but I was with my 3 children so they probably made most of the clutter themselves and we all loved the in-room biscuits every morning!

I have only two complaints about this hotel - guys - you need to sort out the wifi. We are living in a digital age and I like to go online. This is not my failing. I just like to! I want to look for attractions nearby and road distance and the weather and the history of the area and all sorts and I don't want to go and sit in one small corner of the bar to do so.

Secondly, how many times did I see older guests queuing for the one slow lift to arrive and when it eventually arrived a staff member pushing a trolley would exit the lift. You need another lift, a faster lift. Your clientele staying on the upper floors deserve another lift.

Other than those two gripes, we had a wonderful relaxing four days at this quite lovely hotel. Thank you Tref.

Room Tip: sea view everytime
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jae39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
There are newer reviews for Trefeddian Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 462 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our family of four stayed here on a last minute booking and were fortunate to get two twin bedded rooms overlooking the hill view. The views from the front of the hotel were beautiful and we would book a sea facing room next time. Our rooms did suffer some early morning noise from the kitchens from about 6.30am onwards! This didn't distract from the holiday too much, although we would have given a higher overall rating if it had not been the case. The room and bathroom were clean and tidy and tastefully decorated.

The food was superb with 5 course dinner and traditional grilled breakfast in the morning. Staff were helpful and friendly. The facilities are also excellent with games room including table tennis, pool and air hockey - there is a playroom for smaller children which we didn't need and a separate snooker room. The indoor swimming pool is located a short distance away from the hotel in the garden and has changing rooms and a hot shower - really good! Also machine to dry wet costumes - collect towels first from reception, We enjoyed several games of mini golf on the putting green and booked the tennis court for an hour one day. All of these activities are free apart from the pool table and air hockey which were 50p.

The beach is a short walk away across the road, golf course and sand dunes. It is a lovely stretch of sand and was amazingly quiet for the time of year.

There is a bar, adults only lounge, another lounge and a small library where our son found the best wifi connection, however in some places where internet connection was meant to be, there was a lack of service. This didn't bother us but it did him! The hotel was clean and well presented in all areas and we would recommend this to our family and friends, We had a lovely short break at the Trefeddian Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms 111 & 112 were noisy in the morning due to the kitchens being just below. The family room...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at the Trefeddian Hotel for 3 nights at the end of July. It's a beautiful spot, made even better by the weather which was glorious for the majority of the time we were there.

Sitting in the garden at the front of the hotel, overlooking the links golf course and the sea was lovely and utterly relaxing.

There are lots of great facilities at the hotel - you can relax on the sun loungers in the garden at the front, have a glass of wine and enjoy the view. You can play the little putting course if you fancy some gentle activity. How about a game of pool or snooker, or a game of table tennis? A swim in in the indoor pool or a nice pedicure or manicure. All available on the premises.

The evening meal is fantastic - there are not many hotels where you can get a 5 course evening meal where the food is cooked fresh each day and menu changed each day too.

The communal areas downstairs are lovely and well kept and a great opportunity to sit inside and look out at the view with a coffee if the weather is not too great.

The nice thing is that in the restaurant, they assign you a table for your stay. We were lucky and got a table by the window so we had the lovely view over the sea. A nice touch and meant you weren't waiting each day to be seated - very much appreciated.

Only a couple of adverse comments: we had a balcony and sea view room which was great but I would say that our room was OK but nothing special. There were no particularly nice touches to the room such as pictures or soft furnishings and we had asked for a double room and got a room with 2 singles. Unfortunately we could not change this as the hotel was busy but it would have been nice to be advised when we booked that this was the situation.

The breakfast was disappointing after the lovely evening meal. I was expecting nice fresh bread for the toast. Instead it was bog standard sliced and was in some cases not even toasted. The bacon was not particularly appetising and the scrambled egg was grey looking. However, there was good choice, but it definitely lets the standard down.

Lastly, the staff were in the main really nice and helpful. However, one of the receptionists didn't seem all that happy with her work, and when I checked out (despite the bill being circa £720 for the 3 nights (bed, breakfast and evening mean - which was enough to pay), she didn't even look up or ask if we had enjoyed the stay which I actually found quite rude.

Still overall, would thoroughly recommend and we would consider returning.

Room Tip: Definitely choose sea view if you can and apparently (we have been told since) that the rooms at eit...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Dined here for Sunday lunch. Have eaten here before so knew roughly what to expect.
Food was generally good although some desserts seemed quite small - portion wise - particularly the cheeses. However, no supplement for cheese and biscuits unlike some places

Overall the meal represented reasonably good value for money, unlike the bar, where the prices are extortionate. Well over £5 for an average bottle of beer and other drinks similarly expensive.

Each time I go I think to myself - this place has seen better days - so will probably go elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank tg7812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We have stayed at the Trefeddian Hotel on several occasions. The rooms are delightful, everywhere is immaculately clean and beautifully furnished. Lovely views out to sea on the front, green hills to the rear. Great selection of different sized rooms, generously sized family rooms and a hotel that actively encourages the single traveller with well proportioned single rooms with full sized bathrooms. The hotel has a luxurious feeling, but it is not pretentious. A great place to relax, unwind and explore the beautiful local area. Great food, friendly staff. Also a brilliant place to pop in for a lunchtime drink and sandwich, you can sit in one of the comfortable lounges and take in the sea view, it really is amazing. The prices for bed, breakfast and evening meal are very good and well worth every penny. We have stayed with and without kids (2 girls aged 10/11) there is an indoor swimming pool, games room, putting green and outside play area at the rear. 100% recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueLorry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

.....and Location with a capital L.!
Went for Lunch on Saturday and had a savoury Cheesecake for starter, a Fish platter for main and Blackberry and Apple Crumble for dessert. All was enjoyable and the crumble was one of the best I have tasted - none of that pie
filling but actual whole fruit and not sickly sweet & mushy but had a bite to it. The waitress was very chatty and friendly and the service was just at the right pace. Then Coffee in the lounge, watching the kite surfers in the bay and the golfers opposite. £56 for three of us with a couple of drinks and coffee. This is what hotels used to be like, alas not many of them left now. Next time we shall call in for Afternoon Tea which we hear is very good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carolansk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Called in on Saturday for lunch, setting is wonderful especially with a window seat in the restaurant.
The pace here is slow - no rushing about there is plenty of time between courses to allow you to relax.
Food is well cooked, it's not fancy just good old fashioned British food.
Coffee can be taken in the lounge - again lovely views & you can take your time & let your lunch go down!
Worth a visit if you are in the area & reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GRAHAM H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
1.3 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 3 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
661 reviews
15.0 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
339 reviews
5.2 mi away
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
#1 of 1 in Eglwys Fach
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
484 reviews
0.8 mi away
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
#2 of 11 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
330 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dovey Inn
Dovey Inn
#7 of 11 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trefeddian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trefeddian Hotel

Address: Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park LL35 0SB, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Price Range: $69 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trefeddian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is perfectly-positioned between the Snowdonian mountains and the Cambrian coast, just outside the pretty seaside village of Aberdovey (Aberdyfi in traditional Welsh). With panoramic sea views, the Trefeddian Hotel's accommodation is the perfect place to enjoy crisp mornings and sun speckled afternoons. Each of our 59 hotel bedrooms and three self-catering units are well equipped with all the modern comforts you need to feel right at home. We have a range of sea view and hill view bedrooms, with a lift to all floors. Quietly charming and traditional, the Trefeddian Hotel has been passed down the generations of the Cave-Browne-Cave family who firmly believe in 'good old-fashioned hospitality'. Nothing is too much trouble, just let us know any special requirements, we will do our very best to meet them. Being an award winning family friendly hotel, the Trefeddian is the ideal place for a family holiday in Wales, there is just so much to do, rain or shine! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Trefeddian Hotel Aberdovey
Trefeddian Hotel Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing