We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting”
Review of Trefeddian Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trefeddian Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This was a first visit to the Trefeddian Hotel which is in a lovely setting on the edge of Aberdovey with stunning views over Cardigan Bay. I have recently moved to the area so this was not as a resident of the hotel but a lunch date with a group of local ladies. There were around sixteen of us, as a large group we chose from the lunch menu in the bar before we were seated in the restaurant. Two courses for £12.95 or three for £15.50, with seven starters and a good range of main courses there were plenty of choices that appealed to everyone.
I personally chose Smoked Trout and Cream Cheese Pate as my starter followed by a fisherman's platter which consisted of poached and smoked salmon, smoked mackerel, prawns and salad.
An enjoyable meal reasonably priced and good service in a location with stunning views means that I have every intention of eating here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank LindyLouMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (480)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 480 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel on many occasions over the past fifteen years or so. We are a discerning couple in our 60s, and having both followed busy careers (and two daughters!) we look for premium service when we visit hotels and restaurants. The Trefeddian continues to offer a magnificent standard of customer care, and all staff extend a courteous, friendly and efficient service.

The rooms are well appointed and comfortable, and in our many visits we have never found cause to make negative comment.

The dining room has a friendly atmosphere, and the menu (which you can see on the hotel`s website) provides an extensive range to cater for all tastes. Prices for the food (and wine list) are fair and sensible.

External facilities (tennis court, swimming pool, putting green) and in excellent order.

If you want an all singing / all dancing holiday with entertainment provided, this is not for you. if you seek a leisurely, relaxing stay at a high quality hotel, then it is.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CWETetbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed for one night to see the coast and make most of the good weather.

Hotel is in a stunning location overlooking Cardigan Bay and directly across the road from the Golf club and beach. Aberdovey is a pretty village quite unique in being very unspoilt and lacking the normal dreadful amusement arcades, fish and chip shops etc. which blight our coast line, not forgetting the chavs that go with it. Some smart shops, art galleries and generally very pleasant with great views across to Ynys Las across the estuary.

We stayed in the back of the Hotel which was a blessing as rooms at the front would have been extremely hot with the blistering sun. Whilst clean and reasonably well appointed room was dated and needed updating.

We ate in the restaurant as we had DBB and had the 5 course dinner. There was an excellent choice of half a dozen starters, mains and deserts. Food we could not fault and excellent service from the staff.

Generally staff were very pleasant although I did find the reception staff somewhat surly and stuck up. Little eye contact with their heads down and got the impression they could not really be bothered especially the middle aged gentleman.

Would stay again but I disagree with other reviewers in terms of value for money, I don't consider £200 for one night here a bargain at all. Also the hotel is dog friendly and it terms of cleanliness I do question it really appropriate that we had two Labradors roaming round the corridor outside the room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgh1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We decided last minute on a two night stay at this hotel booking the day before arrival.
We were offered a side sea facing room with a balcony, room 217. It was a large room with one double bed and two singles although we were only a couple. There was also a nice bathroom with two opening windows, a bath and separate shower cubicle.
The balcony was large and quite private. Around the edge could have done with some brushing out as it was full of debris. The rest of the accommodation was clean.
We were pleased in the end not to be in one of the front facing rooms as we stayed there in very hot weather. Our room stayed quite cool. It is next to the lift but this did not cause us a problem. There was more noise from guests in the upstairs room and bathroom.
One good idea was that lunch could be taken in lieu of dinner which we took on the first day.
The lunch was enjoyable in a quiet dining room and we sat by the open window with a lovely view. We were also offered as part of the deal a choice of sandwiches in the evening. We had these with a glass of wine on the lawn outside. It was very pleasant but would have been improved with more comfortable outside seating. On this occasion I think the circumstances were unusual as most people were opting to sit outside as it was so hot. Nevertheless, we thought this an excellent idea and much appreciated it.
The second night we decided to try the dinner but wished we hadn't, not because the food was bad which it wasn't but the frenetic way in which it was served. The waitress picked up the dinner plates, asked us what we wanted for dessert and less than one minute later it was on the table. All a bit rushed for our taste. After the meal we took to the outside seats again and enjoyed watching a stunning sunset. A suggestion would be to slow down the dinner service a bit but ensure there are staff to take drinks orders from the lounges/outside seating areas rather than guests having to go to the bar to get their own drinks.
Husband sampled the swimming pool a couple of times which he liked - long enough for a decent swim he said.
All in all a nice traditional hotel in a stunning position with many good points - well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed at this hotel numerous times and never disappointed. Value for money superb views and excellent food. Rooms are of an adequate size and well appointed. The surrounding areas are well worth a visit with very little traffic.
.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking gardens are cheaper and views are not bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon trip around Wales so forked out the extra cash expecting it would be worth the money.

Sadly we felt it was not.

The room we stayed in was modern and clean recently refurbished but tiny for a double costing £200 a night the corridor wasn't straight which made you feel like you we're drunk when walking along it.

The food in the restaurant was good but the service could have been better I had my plate taken from my table whilst I still had a piece of toast in my hand!

As a couple in our 30's we felt quite awkward there and as other reviews have stated it seems to be a place favoured for the older generation who return on an annual basis.

All in all we felt it a little pretentious our main disappointment was that we didn't feel it was worth what we payed for it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

A beautiful hotel in a beautiful setting. Everyone and everything is arranged for the comfort and pleasure of the guests. The bedrooms are well furnished and spotless as are the lounges and public areas. The food is delicious and the dining room staff pleasant and smiling. We spent a most enjoyable two days here with our daughter and son-in-law and hope to visit again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have views over the estuary and some have balconies.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank lochan421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
1.3 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 3 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
682 reviews
15 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
343 reviews
9.1 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
334 reviews
8.9 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
462 reviews
19.5 mi away
Buckley Arms Hotel
Buckley Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinas Mawddwy
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trefeddian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trefeddian Hotel

Address: Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park LL35 0SB, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Price Range: $71 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trefeddian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is perfectly-positioned between the Snowdonian mountains and the Cambrian coast, just outside the pretty seaside village of Aberdovey (Aberdyfi in traditional Welsh). With panoramic sea views, the Trefeddian Hotel's accommodation is the perfect place to enjoy crisp mornings and sun speckled afternoons. Each of our 59 hotel bedrooms and three self-catering units are well equipped with all the modern comforts you need to feel right at home. We have a range of sea view and hill view bedrooms, with a lift to all floors. Quietly charming and traditional, the Trefeddian Hotel has been passed down the generations of the Cave-Browne-Cave family who firmly believe in 'good old-fashioned hospitality'. Nothing is too much trouble, just let us know any special requirements, we will do our very best to meet them. Being an award winning family friendly hotel, the Trefeddian is the ideal place for a family holiday in Wales, there is just so much to do, rain or shine! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Trefeddian Hotel Aberdovey
Trefeddian Hotel Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing