We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great nights rest”
Review of Trefeddian Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trefeddian Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Whilst on a nostalgia trip, (Aberdovey being the place of childhood family holidays) booked into Trfeddian late in the afternoon. We were very pleased to accept the special price for late booking and had the perfect night's rest in the most idyllic setting, food, room and facilities were just what we needed. Thanks folks.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (480)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 480 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2013

Travelled with a three-year old and we were made to feel very welcome in this traditional hotel with spectacular views and excellent service. Very attentive, helpful and courteous staff throughout this family-run establishment but especially in the dining room. Food was excellent and whilst portions are not huge, at the end of the 5 courses you are full! Even though High Tea is served for little ones, this didn't fit in with our timings and there was no problem with her (or other children) being allowed to eat in the dining room, with small portions available of what was on the superb and varied 5-course menu. Highchairs available.

We had room 109, a family room on the first floor (double and single bed) - plenty of room with more wardrobe and drawer space than I've ever seen in a hotel. Bath with hand held shower only, but we were advised of this when booking. Furnished balcony and fabulous sea views over Cardigan Bay. Could watch the golf and hear the waves while we watched the sunset - beautiful. Good refreshments tray with selection of Twinings tea, Nescafe Coffee, Suchard Hot Chocolate and plenty of biscuits. Only let down was the rather basic toiletries - combined shampoo/conditioner and a shower gel - expect better quality, branded products in this sort of price bracket.

Good selection of public areas, all with free Wi-fi. Great idea to have an adult-only lounge as with a toddler this made us feel more relaxed in the other lounges. Lots of good quality magazines and also books available. Large games room with Little Tikes playhouse, slide, climbing frame, ride-on cars, other toys and plenty of seating for parents. Adjoins a small TV lounge and also another room with pool table, air hockey and table tennis. PC with internet available but at 10p a minute this is expensive! Outdoor playground and tennis courts, pitch and put, but due to poor weather couldn't use it. Used the indoor pool - large and warm with small paddling pool about 30cm deep for toddlers - great idea. Not a particularly modern facility (1970's and very basic changing room facility) but very clean and well maintained - hey it does the job. Towels provided. Nice outdoor decked area with sun loungers and sea views adjoining the pool building.

It's about a 15 minute walk from the train station, (last part up steep hill) along the pavement next to the main road but its not a particularly busy road and we managed it with a buggy, case and bags. £4 for a taxi to station if you chose not to walk. 20 min walk to main part of Aberdovey, lovely little unspoilt seaside town.

The only downside was the failure to maintain the dress code stipulated in the brochure/booking. My husband doesn't normally wear a jacket/shirt & tie on holiday but as this was stipulated as required for the dining room, we took the trouble of packing them. 95% of the male clientele obliged, with just one or two tieless/jacketless. But then, a party of 20 men came in, only a couple of whom had jackets/shirt & tie. Some had jeans and T-shirt. The tone of the establishment was immediately lowered and the ambience disappeared. What had until then been a quiet and pleasant dining experience turned into a noisy one.

I really don't see the point of stating there is a dress code if it isn't upheld - either drop the requirement or enforce it! I think if the Hotel wants to accommodate parties of this size, they should be in a separate dining area. Indeed, only last year I know of a ladies golfing party of 16 who were turned down at this hotel as they were told such a large party would spoil the atmosphere for other guests. Policy has obviously changed in difficult economic circumstances, but I don't think it's appropriate to subject couples/families to the noise of such large parties.

Otherwise, it was a lovely stay and I would recommend/return - in the hope there are no large parties dining there!

Room Tip: Balcony with sea view worth the extra charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VOB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husbands family have been visiting this hotel for 30+ years and I have been visiting for the last 12. We recently had a weekend at the hotel to celebrate a family members birthday.
It is the most wonderful hotel that seems to have a unique touch of making all ages of guests happy. The hotel has many amenities including an indoor pool, children's games room with table tennis, pool table and air hockey, adult snooker room and a great pitch and putt. The lounges have big picture windows and comfy couches and chairs and the views of the sea, beach and golf course are unbeatable. They serve cream tea in the afternoons - which is a real treat.
Rooms are nice and clean - but not overly large. Sea view rooms to me are an absolute - we have had a hill view but the view is part of the experience of this hotel.
Finally the food - they still provide dinner, bed and breakfast (which is getting to be a rarer board basis) - but the dinners are fantastic. They offer a 5 course evening meal (always a vegetarian option and always willing to accommodate any dietary requirements) - the food is of high standards and served meticulously in a lovely dinning room.
All the staff at this hotel go above and beyond to make guests happy - many are familiar faces, having been there for years.
This hotel is suited to travellers that are seeking a traditional british seaside holiday - with a bit of luxury.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YRLENGLAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Wonderful views of the sea and a 5 mins walk through dunes to wide sandy beach.
Rooms are clean and comfortable.
Indoor pool very nice.
Pitch and putt and kids games room popular with our kids.
Wondered how older clientele would be with kids - but they felt welcome all over the hotel.
We opted not to do children's tea - too early - and instead our kids, age 7-10, ate with us in restaurant. The food was good, not wonderful, but fine. Bit fussy for the kids and I would suggest during holiday time they should have a roast on the menu each night for children. Service in restaurant very good. Only criticism - the 6 course menu seemed an outdated idea. Three courses would be better, and instead concentrate on making those memorable.
Breakfast, lovely help yourself to cereal and fruit, and cooked breakfast cooked to order. No complaints there.
We were on dinner b and b but had lunch in the lounge and it was fine - sandwiches, jacket potatoes etc.
Plenty of nice lounges to sit in, and a good adults only snooker room.
In short a wonderful place to be looked after, and for the kids to wander around safely without fear of being told off.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We were 210 on middle floor overlooking sea, family room with double, single and put you up. roomy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JUMUMSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We have always found this hotel and ALL it's Staff including the Boss man to be friendly and willing to assist. The food is beyond praise. Every meal a delight. The rooms are well appointed and beautifully clean. There s an indoor Swimming pool and a lovely Pitch an Putt area.
We have no hesitation in recommending The Trefeddian ....although we suppose the more of ou that go there, the less chance we have to get booked in for our breaks ! Enjoy.

Room Tip: All the rooms are GOOD.... But we like the corner room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My partner and I have just returned from a great weekend at the Trefeddian. This was our second visit so we knew what to expect and found things to be just as good as on our last visit.
The food and service was excellent.. Our room had a sea view but no balcony this time but it was comfortable and the power shower certainly woke me up. My partner used the swimming pool and loved it.
I hope we will be back soon .

Room Tip: Sea view and,if possible, a balcony , are best.Book dinner at the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthWalesMillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have just returned from a plesant weekend break . we found the hotel to be clean and the staff to be helpfull and friendly. The service in the restraunt was superb with a good quality of food. We had an event to attend on the saturday night and the hotel were happy to swap the evening meal for a sunday lunch.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phillinabox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
1.3 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 3 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
682 reviews
15 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
343 reviews
9.1 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
334 reviews
8.9 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
462 reviews
19.5 mi away
Buckley Arms Hotel
Buckley Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinas Mawddwy
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trefeddian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trefeddian Hotel

Address: Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park LL35 0SB, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Price Range: $71 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trefeddian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is perfectly-positioned between the Snowdonian mountains and the Cambrian coast, just outside the pretty seaside village of Aberdovey (Aberdyfi in traditional Welsh). With panoramic sea views, the Trefeddian Hotel's accommodation is the perfect place to enjoy crisp mornings and sun speckled afternoons. Each of our 59 hotel bedrooms and three self-catering units are well equipped with all the modern comforts you need to feel right at home. We have a range of sea view and hill view bedrooms, with a lift to all floors. Quietly charming and traditional, the Trefeddian Hotel has been passed down the generations of the Cave-Browne-Cave family who firmly believe in 'good old-fashioned hospitality'. Nothing is too much trouble, just let us know any special requirements, we will do our very best to meet them. Being an award winning family friendly hotel, the Trefeddian is the ideal place for a family holiday in Wales, there is just so much to do, rain or shine! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Trefeddian Hotel Aberdovey
Trefeddian Hotel Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing