We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two night break at Penhelig.”
Review of Penhelig Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Penhelig Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Two night break at Penhelig.”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We had a two night break in March. More than happy with the accommodation and service. Upgraded to the four unit house at rear of hotel which was lovely and quiet with great views of the coast. The food was exceptional and as we had our dog with us we were required to eat in the bar instead of the restaurant. It was the same menu so no problems there and the bar has a great atmosphere. Aberdovey and surrounding area lovely and some great walking country direct from the hotel. Would definitely stay at Penhelig Arms again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    181
    69
    36
    22
See reviews for
86
406
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Great hotel/pub, accommodation was way beyond expectation, we were in the millennium building above the pun, very roomy, light exceptional level of comfort, loved the under floor heating in the bathroom. Five star accommodation.
The food is fabulous well presented and freshly cooked. Also a breakfast to die for.
The pub area is very comfortable, lovely fire, great staff, and every one was friendly, we all sat chatting.

Couldn't fault this place and well done to all the staff.

Room Tip: Millenium rooms above the pub fantastic facilities and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123totsaround69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stayed at The Penhelig Arms during February, it was our 2nd stay and we were very much looking forward to our time there , we were not disappointed. On booking we asked for the room that we had stayed in before (room 3 ), it is a lovely room with a dressing area, lovely bathroom and fantastic views over the estuary.
We ate in the restaurant on our 1st evening, my husband had the seared scallops with crispy pork belly for starters, it was an amazing dish, good wine selection and good service.
Breakfast was good with lovely FRESH fruit salad and a good choice of cooked breakfasts. The bar area is very welcoming with a roaring log fire and all staff very attentive.
We are looking forward to a return visit later this year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the estuary
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We had a suite overlooking the estuary with its everchanging scene according to the tides. The room was very comfortable and well appointed. The room and its en-suite were extremely clean and spacious. The staff were very welcoming and the food was really good with generous portions. Had we not had duties which meant we had to return home, we would have certainly stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victoria d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This was one of those deals where sometimes you take your chance - however, this was a gem of a place. We were fortunate to have the 'little house' attached to the Hotel, two storey, great lounge, three double settes, television and Bose sound system, dining area and shower room. Upstairs, an impressive kingsize bed, another double settee, television and massive on suite with both a large bath and a separate shower - this was some of the best value accommodation we have ever stayed in - the accommodation to ask for at Penhelig Arms - well worth the additional premium.
The bar was great and atmospheric, the restaurant brilliant with a simple but comprehensive menue, well cooked food and most enjoyable wine.
We have already recommended a number of friends to visit and hope to return ourselves - well done to both the friendly and efficient management and staff - as stated a gem of a place to be discovered in Aberdovey.

Room Tip: Pay an additional relatively small amount and ask for the 'little house' attached to the sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights here at the beg of feb and as soon as we arrived we rec a fab welcome. Food is amazing , pricey but very good . We stayed in the most gorgeous room , it was huge :) the staff are lovely and very helpful . Would def love to stay again

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brimfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

My previous review of The Penhelig reflected a sad decline from boutique hotel to pub with rooms over a six year period. Having taken a year off to allow for something dramatic to happen I can now report that The Penhelig is back on track and moving forward at some pace! The usual half-term break followed some of the worst storms in North Wales so we weren't there for the weather! On arrival we were greeted by Paul who clearly knows what he's doing both in the hotel, restaurant and behind the bar! We were shown to our rooms which were looking a bit tired and threadbare in places and smaller than we have had in the past. Having asked if there were any others we were informed that the hotel was full for the duration of our stay, and quite right too! The menu is simple and uncomplicated but there is a good selection of dishes to choose from, and this time, the cooking was excellent and no missing ingredients, just a late remoulade which arrived in the nick of time! Wines were available and well chosen, the Torrontes is particularly good value. Breakfasts were excellent and toast much improved. All of the staff were competent, bordering on impressive. It would be nice to see new soft furnishings in the rooms next year, and we will be coming back! I cannot tell you how much I have enjoyed seeing this little gem emerge once again from the dirt and be polished to a brilliant shine. Someone should get a really big pat on the back for turning this place around and steering a steady course.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NiklasCeolmund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
14.7 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
323 reviews
15.0 mi away
Y Meirionnydd
Y Meirionnydd
#1 of 3 in Dolgellau
304 reviews
8.3 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel
Wynnstay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machynlleth
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dolffanog Fawr
Dolffanog Fawr
#1 of 1 in Tal-y-llyn
150 reviews
9.2 mi away
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Plas Dolguog Hotel
#1 of 3 in Machynlleth
98 reviews
12.9 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penhelig Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penhelig Arms

Property: Penhelig Arms
Address: Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park LL35 0LT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Penhelig Arms 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Penhelig Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penhelig Arms Hotel Aberdovey / Aberdyfi
Penhelig Arms Aberdovey
Penhelig Arms Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing