We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Penhelig Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penhelig Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Superb location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

We had a suite overlooking the estuary with its everchanging scene according to the tides. The room was very comfortable and well appointed. The room and its en-suite were extremely clean and spacious. The staff were very welcoming and the food was really good with generous portions. Had we not had duties which meant we had to return home, we would have certainly stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victoria d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    173
    67
    33
    21
See reviews for
79
392
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

This was one of those deals where sometimes you take your chance - however, this was a gem of a place. We were fortunate to have the 'little house' attached to the Hotel, two storey, great lounge, three double settes, television and Bose sound system, dining area and shower room. Upstairs, an impressive kingsize bed, another double settee, television and massive on suite with both a large bath and a separate shower - this was some of the best value accommodation we have ever stayed in - the accommodation to ask for at Penhelig Arms - well worth the additional premium.
The bar was great and atmospheric, the restaurant brilliant with a simple but comprehensive menue, well cooked food and most enjoyable wine.
We have already recommended a number of friends to visit and hope to return ourselves - well done to both the friendly and efficient management and staff - as stated a gem of a place to be discovered in Aberdovey.

Room Tip: Pay an additional relatively small amount and ask for the 'little house' attached to the sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights here at the beg of feb and as soon as we arrived we rec a fab welcome. Food is amazing , pricey but very good . We stayed in the most gorgeous room , it was huge :) the staff are lovely and very helpful . Would def love to stay again

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brimfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

My previous review of The Penhelig reflected a sad decline from boutique hotel to pub with rooms over a six year period. Having taken a year off to allow for something dramatic to happen I can now report that The Penhelig is back on track and moving forward at some pace! The usual half-term break followed some of the worst storms in North Wales so we weren't there for the weather! On arrival we were greeted by Paul who clearly knows what he's doing both in the hotel, restaurant and behind the bar! We were shown to our rooms which were looking a bit tired and threadbare in places and smaller than we have had in the past. Having asked if there were any others we were informed that the hotel was full for the duration of our stay, and quite right too! The menu is simple and uncomplicated but there is a good selection of dishes to choose from, and this time, the cooking was excellent and no missing ingredients, just a late remoulade which arrived in the nick of time! Wines were available and well chosen, the Torrontes is particularly good value. Breakfasts were excellent and toast much improved. All of the staff were competent, bordering on impressive. It would be nice to see new soft furnishings in the rooms next year, and we will be coming back! I cannot tell you how much I have enjoyed seeing this little gem emerge once again from the dirt and be polished to a brilliant shine. Someone should get a really big pat on the back for turning this place around and steering a steady course.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NiklasCeolmund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

what a little gem !!!! stayed here last last Friday in Bolhelig suite spacious room outstanding views over bay must be really special on sunny day !!! could not fault the accommodation towels soft and large great ensuite We had the evening meal something to die for everything faultless in restaurant , delightful bar area with roaring fire , Phil and his staff hats off to you all, no wonder you have cornered the market . A must to visit .

Room Tip: the bolhelig suites are exceptional within self contained block of four but have steep steps to and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merc593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in February on a Travelzoo 1 night DBB voucher. Stayed in Room 1 - a lovely big room overlooking the river. Very welcoming and helpful staff. The dinner on the Friday night was exceptional - and everything on the menu could be ordered on the deal. A very good and varied wine list - and a request for one glass of a white that was not shown as 'available' by the glass was met with a 'but of course'! The breakfast was also very good - with a good selection of 'hot' food available cooked to order. The laver bread and cockles in the 'Full Welsh' was a real 'hit'.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ckhmold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Penhelig Arms, Friday 21 Feb in room 17, Bolhelig suite. The room was spacious and had excellent views of the bay. The dinner was spot on, scollops for starter, lamb shank and steak for main followed by cheesecake and sherry trifle. The bar was cosy with the fire glowing. Breakfast was also very nice. I would recommend this hotel. We had a voucher through Travelzoo which made it excellent value.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheshirelad64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
14.7 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
12.9 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
9.2 mi away
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Plas Dolguog Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machynlleth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Y Meirionnydd
Y Meirionnydd
#1 of 3 in Dolgellau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
9.2 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
19.2 mi away
Ty Mawr Hotel
Ty Mawr Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanbedr
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penhelig Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penhelig Arms

Property: Penhelig Arms
Address: Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park LL35 0LT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Penhelig Arms 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Penhelig Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penhelig Arms Hotel Aberdovey / Aberdyfi
Penhelig Arms Aberdovey
Penhelig Arms Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing