We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Penhelig Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Penhelig Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Just come back after a 2nights stay at Penhelig Arms and would thoroughly recommend this place. We were in a small double with sea view and while the room was small the facilities were fabulous. The food was great especially the breakfast (which even catered for vegetarians).

We bought our stay on a Groupon offer £99 for 2 nights with afternoon tea but what I would say is if you book directly you will get this deal cheaper by about £25.

Aberdovey is a lovely seaside village and staying at the Penhelig Arms made our visit even better - I have rated this place as very good only because we ended up paying more through groupon

Room Tip: Room 8 is a very small double but cosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah7472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    178
    68
    34
    21
See reviews for
83
403
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambs
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Had short 2 day stay in Feb 14 and Bodhelig Room Outstanding in every respect. Food was exceptionally good quality. Staff very enthusiastic and helpful which is very refreshing these days. We ate in the bar both days and lovely open fire and great atmosphere.We will go back again without doubt.

Room Tip: Our Bodhelig Room was great and I understand others in the main building are just as good if not bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ydeoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

We recently had a two night stay in the Penhelig Arms.our room was in the Bodhelig suite and was comfortable and warm but had some plumbing problems. To reach the main hotel it involved a steepish set of slate steps which were exposed to the elements.
The staff were friendly and helpful at all times, the bar was welcoming and served good enough food and excellent wine and beer. The breakfast was a hit and miss affair with several items , which were on the menu, not available. The coffee was served in teapots and included with our selection of breakfast conserves, in individual jars, was a recycled, opened used marmalade! Would we return??

Room Tip: Rooms with sea views in the Bodhelig suite but be careful if not very mobile and the weather forecas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberaeron, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Visited Penhelig on a Sunday in January,found to be very welcoming and friendly. Stayed in a dog friendly room with our pooch and were impressed with the accommodation offered,the bar was also dog friendly and was very convivial. We were especially impressed by the staff who were attentive & friendly.At breakfast, where a comprehensive selection was on offer,the young man who singlehandedly serviced a busy dining room though under some pressure remained both efficient and humorous and was a credit to the business-best wishes to him on his forthcoming trip to Australasia ! Altogether a very pleasant experience and would recommend to anyone, thanks - Diolch yn fawr !

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank MartinWJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as part if a weeks tour. A real gem to find. It's in a fantastic location, has fantastic evening supper in a warm friendly bar. The staff were excellent and really friendly, the irons were very nice for an Inn and we had a fantastic stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James67Bath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Visited the Penhlig Arms over new year 2014 for a bar meal and a drink. Have been here several times before to eat, it used to be very good but lost its way for a couple of years. There is now a new manager and thankfully the Pen seems to be on the up again. There was a roaring fire to welcome us in the bar area, helpful bar staff and good food once more. The manager, Philip, checked with everyone that their meals were ok and seemed very friendly. Will definitely be eating and drinking there again on our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 494DianeMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinver, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Thanks to Phil, Paul and Christina for helping to make our stay very enjoyable. Amazing value for money, comfortable and bright bedroom with beautiful views over the estuary. Breakfast more than adequate. All visitors strongly advised to sample afternoon tea. Better than the Savoy!
Very warm and welcoming staff, who went out of their way to help

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benandmarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
14.7 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
#1 of 1 in Eglwys Fach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
12.9 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dolffanog Fawr
Dolffanog Fawr
#1 of 1 in Tal-y-llyn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
#2 of 12 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dovey Inn
Dovey Inn
#5 of 12 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penhelig Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penhelig Arms

Property: Penhelig Arms
Address: Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park LL35 0LT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Penhelig Arms 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Penhelig Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penhelig Arms Hotel Aberdovey / Aberdyfi
Penhelig Arms Aberdovey
Penhelig Arms Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing