We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fisherman's Bar Menu?”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Penhelig Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Penhelig Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fisherman's Bar Menu?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

We returned on Tuesday evening from a 2 night stay. Our room, No 9 was on the 2nd floor at the back of the hotel. It was good a comfortable bed and bathroom and we had ample hot water, it was very close to the rail track but this didn't bother us. We ate in both nights at the Fisherman's Bar but were disappointed that the menu featured on the web site, which included some really interesting fresh fish dishes was no longer available and there were no 'specials' on the specials board, the food we were served was OK . We liked the bar which had the atmosphere of an old fashioned pub and the customers were not restricted to hotel residents, but were really disappointed at the lack of fish dishes. We understand that the hotel now owned by Brains and the chefs do not have a free hand producing menus but have to stick to dishes dictated Brains, also there were agency chefs in the kitchen ( which is never a good thing) however a new chef will be in place soon so hopefully things will improve, The breakfasts however were good and although the buffet table could have been better the rest of the breakfast was of good quality and all dishes were beautifully cooked.

All the staff were pleasant and very helpful and made our stay very enjoyable.

Brains beware please don't let this lovely gem become run down ( there are signs that some maintenance is required) and loose the character and features, especially all those lovely fish dishes, that has given it its reputation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    178
    68
    34
    21
See reviews for
83
403
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

The hotel is in need of a cash injection the rooms are past there sell by date although there is a separate annex where I am told the suites are very nice. The food is only OK. [and yes the chips are awful] we had to ask for serviettes the steak knives came half way through the meal and they had never heard of French mustard all very strange ?.Some breakfasts were better than others and no brown sauce. I am sure they could do better although the staff were pleasant but in need of better supervision.
I must mention the plumbing in room 6 the shower went everywhere the sink plug is stuck and you can only flush the loo by removing the cover from the unit.
All in all I have had much better for £95 D.B.B.

Room Tip: Only book if you can get a room in the annexe ,but you will need to be fit to climb the steep steps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevev0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We had a great weekend recently at this really nice little hotel, and were especially delighted to find that pets are welcome.

We stayed in one of the 4 suites which are separate from the main hotel, with a fabulous view over the estuary and to the hills beyond. We thought a balcony would be good, but they were already booked and the room available was on the ground floor with patio doors and a seating area/terrace, which worked perfectly, particularly having a dog. We were able to go out without going via the hallway so - with luck - we didn't disturb anyone. The rooms were excellent, smart, comfortable and spacious with a huge bathroom, with underfloor heating no less!

The food was pleasant, with fresh fish featuring, although I'm not sure the chef quite executed all dishes as you would hope, overall it was a good meal. The Welsh breakfast was enormous and had everything you could hope for, even laverbread (a bit like porridgy frog spawn in my opinion) - so you don't set out from here hungry!

This part of Wales is beautiful and Aberdovey is delightful with a good array of eateries. Try The Britannia for more fresh fish dishes. Definitely a good place to visit.

Room Tip: Choose the Penhelig suites - expensive but worth the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The plus points of our stay were the rooms which overlooked the sea and were very well furnished. The inn is in a very convenient position but has very little parking. Some more information about parking would have been useful. How about permits for the nearby council car park. During our 2 night stay we only had hot water once. There had been a power problem in the village but it seemed to be a problem with the inns heating. We kept being told the water would be hot in 10 minutes but it wasn't and the problem seemed to be taken quite lightly. We ate in both and thought the D,B&B offer was good value. The food was good with a couple of exceptions. We waited over an hour for our starter on the first evening and had to send a chicken dish back because it was undercooked. On our second evening we sent back a sticky toffee pudding which was a piece of dry sponge with no sauce at all.
The cooked breakfasts were good but you didn't always get what you had ordered. The buffet table on our second morning was rather sparse.
Overall we felt that someone wasn't keeping their eye on the ball. We will probably stay again sometime because we really want to like the place.

Room Tip: Choose rooms overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank safariUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alderney, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Once again another story about what was once a great little pub. evening bar meal no fire and the chips wer very poor, the only thing good about it was the barman reduced the double meal coast by £10 when we complained

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We only stayed one night on our way to Birmingham. Great spot. We had one of the larger rooms above the main hotel. Very nice and had all the amenities. Dinner and breakfast were very good and included in the price. Quite centrally located with shops and the main part of town within a short walking distance. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frinton on Sea
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

A wonderful find - find being the operative word, Aberdovey is not easy to get to... let the train take the strain? However, the Penhelig Arms alone is worth the trip. Wonderful dinner, lots of local fresh ingredients, especially fish (although the Black Forest slate couldn't be described as local, you'd have to try it!). Don't be misled by the 'Bin Ends', attractively priced at £18, they appear to have gone. Rooms have been recently re-furbished and are delighful. Staff very helpful. If you also happen to be a golfer, top your trip off with a round at Aberdovey, you then have already had a very memorable visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a river/sea view - Room 3 superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandVFrintononSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
14.7 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
#1 of 1 in Eglwys Fach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
12.9 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dolffanog Fawr
Dolffanog Fawr
#1 of 1 in Tal-y-llyn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
#2 of 12 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dovey Inn
Dovey Inn
#5 of 12 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penhelig Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penhelig Arms

Property: Penhelig Arms
Address: Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park LL35 0LT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Penhelig Arms 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Penhelig Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penhelig Arms Hotel Aberdovey / Aberdyfi
Penhelig Arms Aberdovey
Penhelig Arms Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing