We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too expensive for what it is” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bodfor Hotel

Bodfor Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bodfor Hotel
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Too expensive for what it is”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2009

The main problem for me with this B&B is the price. While it is by no means a dive, I am not sure I agree with the previous posts that describe this as a 'stylish haven' - but that is a matter of taste. What I definitely didn't like was the cupboard style door on the bathroom (slatted not solid) which offered absolutely no privacy whatsoever.

I think the hotel should have better soundproofing as we found the room quite noisy. We heard another guest coughing in the room below.

With regards to room servicing, our bath towels were not changed - despite being wet and left on the edge of the bath - they were just hung back up, and the room wasn't vacuumed.

Although it is not the fault of this particular B&B or a criticism as such, Aberdovey is not the slick tourist resort you may expect having read or booked via 'Mr & Mrs Smith'. Like the other comments, I found the choice of restaurants in the area very limited and average at best.

Expectations are always driven by price and the two don't match up here in my opinion. It's a 2.5 out of 5 for me.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank africa74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2008

Fantastic sea views, lovely room - breakfast good - but the cost to stay is over the top. Ate at the Bistro on the Square - found this very average also at the Bay of Begal - the lamb balti was excellent the service was excellent and the staff were very pleasant

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The price
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EARLGREY500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2007

We recently stayed in a suite and it was stylish and comfortable. Service excellent, friendly and not too intrusive. Good quality breakfasts with an excellent vegaterian option. Generally very laid back and relaxing. I would certainly come back.
Ate in the bar at the Penhelg Arms which was excellent, particularly the seafood (you will need to book even for the bar but the bodfor will do it for you). Also ate at the cellar bistro but that was very average and wouldn't recommend it. The bistro on the square looked good but was full.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2007

This place is amazing. Great stylish B&B with tremendous service and great breakfasts. Get a top floor room and you'll do nothing but look at the stunning views. Some great local restaurants and relaxing walks. Top notch.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank StevenDickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ynys mon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2006

Stayed in the basement apartment - absolutely lovely! Spacoius apartment with lounge/breakfast room, bathroom and bedroom - all with stylish decor. Very clean apt. with well stocked mini bar, dvd library and good pillows! Top-notch breakfast delivered to room with complimentary newspaper. Smack in the centre of the village within minutes walk of good pubs and restaurants - "Bistro on the Square" worth a visit for some decent nosh. Will definately return soon.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank ygath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2006

Definitely not your average B&B - we had a top floor room with sea views, and found it difficult to drag ourselves from watching the world go round outside the windows! Lovely modern but cosy decor, and liked the kitchenette as a nice touch.
Breakfast very nice, but needed more of a 'host' to give some atmosphere - was very quiet given we were all at a communal table. Excellent service - as we were there over a busy holiday weekend, they emailed us in advance and made dinner bookings for us at the Penhelig Arms and the Bistro on the Square, also provided parking permits for the carpark opposite. Pretty pricey for a B&B though.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ambergatekirsten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2005

We stayed two nights at this townhouse hotel, and couldn't fault it at all. The room was lovely, overlooking the beach. Bathroom enormous, with a great shower and deep roll-top bath.

Breakfast was delicious, and the staff were very attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scooterpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
0.5 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 4 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
14.9 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dolffanog Fawr
Dolffanog Fawr
#1 of 1 in Tal-y-llyn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Dolserau Hall Hotel
Dolserau Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brithdir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
#2 of 12 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dovey Inn
Dovey Inn
#6 of 12 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodfor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodfor Hotel

Property: Bodfor Hotel
Address: Seafront, Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park LL35 0EA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bodfor Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Bodfor Hotel Aberdovey
Bodfor Hotel Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing