We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, nice food”
Review of Britannia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Britannia Inn
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great view, nice food”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Our first impressions of this establishment weren't good. The entrance and stairs up to the restaurant are shabby and off-putting and we actually only decided to give it a try as there was nowhere else available.This is a pity, as the restaurant itself is perfectly fine, with great views over the estuary (depending on where you sit). On our first visit, they were very busy and we were told that there was a table but that it would only be available for an hour and a half or so as it had been reserved for later. This was fair enough as we were only looking to have a main course in any case. The waitress (owner?) was friendly and helpful, if a little stressed. However, to her credit, she took our order promptly and we received our food soon afterwards. We had gammon and sea bass and both meals met with our approval. There was a choice of 2 cask ales, which was good.

After trying unsuccessfully to get in a couple of nights later, we made a reservation for our last night. Again, the meals (Madras Curry and Cajun Chicken) were very good and we were even tempted to share a tasty rhubarb crumble. The service was friendly and efficient and the prices reasonable.

Would definitely go again if we return to Aberdovey. However, they really should do something about the entrance and stairs as it could put some people off. Having said that, the place was busy enough, so what do I know?!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lycrafreebiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    30
    9
    6
    7
See reviews for
14
39
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The accommodation here is very modern, clean, stylish and comfortable, you pay a little bit more for the best room, but it is well worth it when you wake up over looking the beach and sea.
Really lively restaurant and bar as well which worked well for us being a young couple, breakfast was also yummy!
Would definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for the room at the front of the hotel overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gem-Gem2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This hotel situated in delightful Aberdyfi has goodt rooms, modern, clean and well equipped but is let down slightly by the public aras downstairs and approach to rooms. I was not sure where to check in as there didn't seem to be a reception area, and whilst the welcome was pleasant enought I would have appreciated a little more practical information regarding restaurant times etc. The journey up to the room was a little dismal - chipped paintwork on stairs and entrance to restaurant kitchen door was very scruffy, carpet on the stairs was a little grubby - Nothing that a fresh lick of paint and carpet clean could not resolve. I had a really good fish and chip supper - the fish was excellent and portion size generous and the waitresses were very attentive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kymosavvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Six family members were recommended this pub with sea views.We were sat behind a large chimney breast so no sea views. The meal took one hour to appear with an apology coming from a very stressed waitress after 45mins.The roast dinner was adequate but the vegetarian guest ordered a jacket potato with salad and sautéed mushrooms.Bacon appeared after 2 mouthfuls and the response when questioned was I thought it had been taken out!CLEARLY a staff training issue.
We left without ordering dessert.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The bar area of the this inn is quite basic but go upstairs to the dining room. The food is lovely. Had Garlic prawns to start with they where lovely and came with a chunk of bread and butter. Followed by the lamb steak. Very good!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davegj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We have just returned from a 4 night stay in the Brit and we cannot fault it one bit. The room was excellent as was the location. The food was outstanding and the staff could not have been more accommodating to us - even borrowing a charger for our little boys DS!
Alison, Mark, Christine, James and Hamish made our stay even better. We have booked to go back again later this year!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Having had a disaster with the Penhelig, ruled out Llety Bodfor (a B&B without the B ! - that's a good trick) and the SeaBreeze (why stay at a B&B where the owners won't) we saw that the Britannia was advertising upgraded rooms so we tried it for a meal.
We won't be going back.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
12.4 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
506 reviews
22.8 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
223 reviews
8.9 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Awel y Mor
Awel y Mor
#4 of 11 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
42 reviews
3.0 mi away
Leahurst Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Inn

Property: Britannia Inn
Address: 13 Sea View Terrace, Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park LL35 0EF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Britannia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Inn Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing