We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend Away”
Review of The Lookout

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lookout
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2013

My husband, dog and I have recently returned from a wonderful weekend away in Aberdovey. We stayed in the Lower Deck which was spotless clean, spacious, well equipped and modern but the best aspect of the apartment is the view from the window. However, I must mention the super comfy king-size bed, fantastic shower and coded door entry system (so you never need to worry about keys)! Our dog Dee loved Aberdovey as during the off-peak seasons (October-April) she could go onto the beach and the apartment is right next to the beach so we had an extremely happy dog. The whole town is dog-friendly too, with cafes, pubs and even the 'Fat Face' shop accomodating dogs! The walks along the beach and the mountainside of Aberdovey were just perfect for us and Dee. We will definitely be going back to stay at 'The Lookout' again at some point next year. Jules was amazing and so friendly when we made the booking and we were looked after during our stay by a lady called Margaret who too was very helpful and extremely friendly. If you eat out we would recommend the Seabreeze restaurant which is a minute walk from the apartment. The food and service was outstanding. Aberdovey was also great as many of the cafes, restaurants were gluten-free as I am a Coeliac and eating out can sometimes be a problem but not in Aberdovey!
Fantastic accomodation which I would 100% recommend. Congratulations Jules on creating such a perfect haven for holiday makers looking for the perfect getaway.
Already looking forward to going back and so is Dee!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 241 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

We have today returned home from a long weekend staying in the Crows nest apartment. We did not want to leave, the views are fantastic looking over the beach.

The apartment can not be faulted, very well laid out with great attention to detail. Very clean and offering all you need for a more than comfortable stay.

We plan on booking again very soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay-Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I am sitting here in the Lower Deck apartment writing this review on a sleepy Sunday morning, the views are amazing, we are checking out soon but really wished we had booked to stay here longer...
The apartment is virtually faultless, it is clean, modern, well thought out and location is perfect!
Jules the owner is a very nice chap.

tip: the Local grocery store shuts at 6 pm, make sure you get your bits and bobs b4....

Thanks again...

Room Tip: We had a dog, so we had to have the Lower Deck, but it was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daz_van
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed in 'The Crow's Nest' top floor apartment and couldn't have been happier. An incredible view, a spacious and comfortable apartment with smart furnishings, and a huge comfortable bed. Julian the owner was always friendly and went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable and well looked after throughout our time in Aberdovey. We will definitely be staying at the Lookout again.

Room Tip: Ask for 'The Crow's Nest' room if it's available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed in the Upper Deck apartment at The Lookout this weekend - with views to die for and a massive super king bed, it was the perfect place for complete relaxation!!! Julian couldn't have been more helpful...and we'll definitely be returning. Thanks very much.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Huw T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed in The Upper Deck for 3 days in September 2013 and loved it. It's biggest plus is the fantastic view of the beach and estuary from the big bay window, but the flat itself is modern, stylish, well equipped and freshly renovated to a high standard. The front room is a bright decently sized kitchen/living /dining room and the bedroom at the back has a huge (super, super King?) bed. Good value when compared to local B and Bs which are are around the same price. Owner very helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArnoldTheBulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was our second stay in the lower deck. It is the perfect holiday accomodation for a family with young children. We had tea at the Sunflower cafe which was also good value. Would 100% recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VeneShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
0.1 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 3 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
666 reviews
4.0 mi away
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
#1 of 1 in Eglwys Fach
269 reviews
8.4 mi away
White Lion Hotel
White Lion Hotel
#3 of 3 in Machynlleth
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
342 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
#3 of 11 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
334 reviews
0.5 mi away
Awel y Mor
Awel y Mor
#2 of 11 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lookout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lookout

Address: 6 Glandovey Terrace, Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park LL35 0EB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Price Range: $80 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on Aberdovey seafront in the Southern Snowdonia National Park. The Lookout has 4 newly renovated suites with fabulous sea views over the Dovey estuary, beach & mountains beyond. All suites have open plan kitchen, dining & living area with free WiFi and parking. Beds are superking size doubles and also have sofabed in the lounge area for families.The Lookout is situated opposite Aberdovey beach for fun summer days and just a level stroll to the pier, shops, galleries and restaurants. The stunning surrounding area has mountains, lakes, castles and steam trains. Whether you want to relax or try the outdoor pursuits on offer, The Lookout is the perfect spot to tour both Mid & North Wales. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lookout Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing