We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of The Vanner

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Vanner
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Spent two nights at The Vanner as attending a family wedding in Tywyn. The welcome from Megan & John was warm and friendly. The 2 rooms available are of adequate size with en suite and are very comfortable. The guest living room has fantastic views across the estuary, and as we had family in the second room, it meant we made good use of this room. The breakfast served on both mornings was excellent and the homemade bread and jams are very good. We would recommend The Vanner to family and friends and will definitely be staying again.

Stayed: February 2014
2  Thank TOPCAT1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan R, Owner at The Vanner, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

That was a good weekend, very busy with the wedding. Everyone had a good time with the "away from it all" in the lounge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 30 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

Best holiday break I've had for a long time. We will be going back again. Homemade bread and jams with your breakfast are something else. A big must is to try the veggie sausage, WOW!!
Megan and John are very accommodating, making you feel totally at home. The views from the guest lounge are astounding.
I went to Aberdovey to trace my ancestors, Megan was a great help with all the local history books that she has collected.
Thank you both for a lovely time.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mogwai61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan R, Owner at The Vanner, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you very much. As I come from the village I know a lot about its history & its people and its great to help someone trace their roots. We look forward to meeting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The welcome we recieved at the Vanner was second to none John and Megan are such really good people very welcoming and friendly
The Vanner stands on the seafront in Aberdovey a really well looked after older building the rooms are very nice almost like going to stay with family full of treasured items of worldwide travels
we stayed in a rear bedroom that was very good nice bathroom and good shower with hand wash a shower gel all very good style
there is a guest lounge that overlooks the front and you can see up and down the waterside view is just amazing
the breakfast was amazing nothing is too much trouble the homemade bread and jam was out of this world
Also the homemade vegi sausage were also amazing
We stayed here for 2 nights as we were working in Towyn up the coast it was a real shame we didnt book for the week this place is so relaxing i went home very chilled out even though i was at work
thank you John And Megan for the amazing stay

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chesmetalwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan R, Owner at The Vanner, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you for your kind remarks it was a pleasure to look after you. We are just about to start making jams & jellies from this years harvest. we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

So my job as a coach driver brings me to a Welsh village by the sea. So how do you greet guests that you have invited into your home? With the warmth and gratitude shown by our hosts at The Vanner. The Victorian frontage is a facade to a cottage like feel of the interior. Service is too harsh a noun to describe the ambiance created. The delightful rooms and food are provided with a passion. Top this off with a breathtaking view from the communal lounge? No the shared living room. The fact that I am writing this mid way through my stay, says a lot about how welcome I have been made to feel.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan R, Owner at The Vanner, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you for your kind remarks. It is always a pleasure to be told we are doing it well and we intend to keep doing it well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I have been travelling to aberdyffi and tywyn for over 30 years, and have stayed in many different "b & b's" and hotels. Aberdyffi is a calm and beautiful town, with the friendliest people in wales. And now on to "The Vanner". John and Megan Reynolds, the proprieters, are wonderfully gracious, kind and considerate hosts. Nothing is too much trouble for them, and they have provided accomodation that is truly home from home. The bedrooms themselves are furnished to a standard that surpasses most top class hotels. Its the little things that really matter. The beds are really comfortable, and a great nights sleep was had. The rooms themselves are at the rear of the house, but why would you sit and look out of your bedroom window, when there is so much to do outdoors?? On the first floor, there is a spacious guest lounge, with fantastic views of the dyffi estuary.

The breakfasts created by our hosts was amazing. Homemade sausages, bread, jams, marmalades and chutneys took the experience to another level. Johns creativity with the cooked breakfast was astounding, and the salmon and scrambled eggs was a sight to behold! If we'd stayed 1 more night, the baked eggs with bacon was more than tempting.

On the whole, our stay at "The Vanner", was fantastic. it made a birthday weekend really special. And to our hosts, John and Megan, All I can say is thank you, and we look forward to our next stay with you.

Room Tip: of the 2 rooms available, the one on the 2nd floor is a little more spacious, but both are equally f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adamjneale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan R, Owner at The Vanner, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you for your comments. We try to provide a "home from home" experience and we like to provide good local/homemade food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Small compact and bijou. Its like having your own place without all the hassle of looking after it. Views to die for, food to live for and very friendly. Stayed 3 nights when the weather was perfect so it felt like paradise.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kraggash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan R, Owner at The Vanner, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you for your comments. We try to make our guests as comfortable as possible with use of our guests lounge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

My partner and i only stopped for one night but found it positively perfect. Rooms are small but homely, owners are friendly and love a good chat and the breakfast omg! Georgeous is an understatement. Pork and laverbread sausages are a new fav of mine. Will defo me staying again. Highly recomended!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachie_p91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan R, Owner at The Vanner, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you for your comments. we try to give our guests a "home from home" experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdyfi (Aberdovey) hotels
0.1 mi away
Dovey Inn
Dovey Inn
#7 of 11 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
367 reviews
0.4 mi away
Awel y Mor
Awel y Mor
#2 of 11 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
58 reviews
0.1 mi away
Britannia Inn
Britannia Inn
#8 of 11 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
#3 of 11 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 3 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
669 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brigydon
Brigydon
#4 of 11 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vanner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vanner

Address: Sea View Terrace, Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park LL35 0LL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Price Range: $80 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vanner 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vanner offers excellent Bed and Breakfast accommodation in our family run house. It is ideal for a quiet, relaxing stay with stunning view overlooking the estuary. Our comfortable rooms are en-suite and have TV and tea/coffee facilities. In the morning enjoy a freshly cooked breakfast or a lighter alternative in our dining room which also overlooks the estuary. Free WiFi access. This is an ideal place for exploring Snowdonia and the Cardigan Bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Vanner Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing