We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shhhh..dont tell anyone about this.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Vanner

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Vanner
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Shhhh..dont tell anyone about this.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Small compact and bijou. Its like having your own place without all the hassle of looking after it. Views to die for, food to live for and very friendly. Stayed 3 nights when the weather was perfect so it felt like paradise.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kraggash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan R, Owner at The Vanner, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We try to make our guests as comfortable as possible with use of our guests lounge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
14
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

My partner and i only stopped for one night but found it positively perfect. Rooms are small but homely, owners are friendly and love a good chat and the breakfast omg! Georgeous is an understatement. Pork and laverbread sausages are a new fav of mine. Will defo me staying again. Highly recomended!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachie_p91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan R, Owner at The Vanner, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your comments. we try to give our guests a "home from home" experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Aussie
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

Only two rooms here for guests, and both overlook the rear of the property, so the spacious guest lounge with large window overlooking the ocean is a real delight.

On the second floor, we found our room to be comfortable although small but that is, of course, not unusual. The only downside was that am not sure of the effectiveness of sound insulation as I could hear snoring on the last of our two nights there (after guests had arrived and were staying in the room below us). As a light sleeper, I would have been distressed if it had been an ongoing problem.

Breakfast menu was quite extensive, and our hostesses home made jams delicious..!!!

The Vanner is in a wonderfully convenient position for exploring the town, and the surrounding areas, and the hosts are extremely knowledgable and helpful. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The room on the second floor is larger than that on the first, so worth climbing the extra stairs
See more room tips
Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PaintedSkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

we only stayed for 1 night but were made very welcome and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The room was small but clean and we had a comfortable and peaceful night. Breakfast was excellent. I had the vegetarian full breakfast whilst my wife had salmon and scambled eggs. We will return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJM186454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
0.2 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 4 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
8.6 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel
Wynnstay Hotel
#1 of 3 in Machynlleth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
#1 of 1 in Eglwys Fach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
#2 of 12 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dovey Inn
Dovey Inn
#6 of 12 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cartref Guest House
Cartref Guest House
#3 of 12 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vanner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vanner

Property: The Vanner
Address: 27 Sea View Terrace, Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park LL35 0LL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vanner 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vanner offers excellent Bed and Breakfast accommodation in our family run house. It is ideal for a quiet, relaxing stay with stunning view overlooking the estuary. Our comfortable rooms are en-suite and have TV and tea/coffee facilities. In the morning enjoy a freshly cooked breakfast or a lighter alternative in our dining room which also overlooks the estuary.Free WiFi AccessThis is an ideal place for exploring Snowdonia and the Cardigan Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Vanner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vanner Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing