We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and comfortable.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Awel y Mor

Awel y Mor
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Awel y Mor
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and comfortable.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We had six lovely days staying at Awel y Mor. The holiday was made by Brian and Jen who create such a friendly and welcoming atmosphere and made us feel like old friends from the first night. Good food and a great location. We're looking forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
9
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
redditch
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

we stayed for 1 night on route to meeting friends arrrived early and was given a very friendly welcome we stay on average 6 times a year on short breaks and never have we stayed in one so clean and comfortable i would be amazed if anybody found anything to complain about the breakfast was lovely and very attentively served thank you so much and will know where to stay when we are down again .mr &mrs garner

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garner1redditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

I stayed here with my mother just for 1 night as I needed to find somewhere quickly in the Aberdyfi/Tywyn area, and this hotel seemed to be very reasonable and in a good location.
We were welcomed by Brian who showed us to our room which was compact and clean with ensuite and all the usual facilities including TV, hospitality tray. This was a double and met our requirements perfectly. Mum was very impressed. We were asked to complete a form for breakfast choice, of full English, or the different types of eggs of your choice including scrambled egg with smoked salmon. There was a good choice of cereals, and as much toast as you wanted. Brian served the guests breakfast whilst Jen cooked in the kitchen. We found him very friendly, and helpful and he is a font of all knowledge with regard to the locality and surrounding areas. This hotel is located opposite the car park to the beach and offers sea views from upstairs rooms. There is at lounge for guests to use if they wish on the 2nd floor affording great views. Its worth knowing too that as a guest you will get a parking permit but this must be handed back on your departure.
Aberdyfi is a picturesque fishing village having 3 pubs, all serving bar snacks, and good restaurants. Activities include all kinds of watersports and a yacht club on the wharf. Just outside the village is Aberdyfi's championship golf course where many tournaments are held, and most of the visitors here are usually golfers as well.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone, Brian and Jen are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. We were very pleased with the price, which was £65 for the 2 of us which we thought was very reasonable. I will be staying again when I can.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julesver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

A very warm welcome from Brian and Jen. Made to feel at home straight away with no rules or fuss. Being able to come and go anytime was really good. Delicious breakfasts. Room was stylish and spotless. Wonderful position and great views in one of the best little resorts in the UK.
The fantastic weather meant it felt like being in the Mediterranean. Blue skies and sea even managed a swim!

Room Tip: Worth asking for a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skydiver58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

We booked this B&B on the spur of the moment for a relaxing family break, and certainly found a gem!

My husband and I, plus our three year old Son were made extremely welcome by Jen and Brian. We stayed in the family en-suite room, which was spacious, comfortable and spotless. The real bonus was relaxing on the sofa overlooking a beautiful sea view.

The breakfasts were delicious, and nothing was too much trouble for Brian and Jen. They were very helpful with advice on the local attractions and places to eat.

Highly recommended. Can't wait for our next visit!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moelfre07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2011

Beautiful westher prompted a two day visit to Aberdovey. With no lodgings booked we found the Awel Y Mor right on the seafront in a great position. We received a warm and friendly greeting and were shown a room available. Immediatley we both agreed it was for us!! Large and airey with a bay window overlooking the promenade and a sofa strategically placed for viewing (or people watching). It was immaculate and very clean, with a selection of teas and coffees. We enjoyed our time in Aberdovey and had a wonderful nights sleep. Breakfast ordering was simple and we could choose a time. This was served to us by the host Brian, who was a cheery face in the morning. Jenny also popped in for a chat between running the rest of the establishment.
All in all, we would recommend this b&b to anyone visiting Aberdovey and will most certainly be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pricetag69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2010

We had a great 2 nights here, Breakfast was freshly cooked for us. The owners local knowledge was very helpful. The rooms were very clean with terrific sea views. Too sum up, Clean, Well presented rooms, Great freshly prepared breakfast and an ideal quiet location.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grannykash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
0.5 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 4 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
#2 of 12 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dovey Inn
Dovey Inn
#5 of 12 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Britannia Inn
Britannia Inn
#8 of 12 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
5.6 mi away
Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort
0.2 mi away
The Vanner
The Vanner
#7 of 12 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Awel y Mor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awel y Mor

Property: Awel y Mor
Address: 4 Bodfor Terrace, Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park LL35 0EA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Awel y Mor 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aberdovey is an unspoilt seaside village in Snowdonia National Park with its majestic mountain scenery. The accommodation is centrally located and has easy access to the beach and the village amenities, with it's boutique shops, art galleries, cafes, restaurants and pubs. Now under new ownership, Awel y Mor is opening it's doors once more to Bed & Breakfast guests who maybe new or returning visitors. Currently, we offer 3 rooms ( 1 with stunning sea views and 2 non-sea view) which have been individually designed in a contemporary and elegant style with modern en-suites. The rooms also have a Smart TV; free WiFi access; luxury Nespresso coffee machine; tea-making facilities; complementary toiletries; luggage rack; hairdyer and safe. You will be assured of a friendly welcome and a well cooked hearty breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Awel y Mor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awel y Mor Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing