We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth trying this Indian”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bay of Bengal

Bay of Bengal
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Near to the Dovey Inn in Wales, Postcode LL35 0EH. They do Indian Cuisine.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth trying this Indian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Very pleasantly surprised with the quality of the food in this restaurant. Well worth a visit you will not be disappointed. We all thought our curries were amongst the best we have had anywhere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    40
    22
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
160 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A welcome delight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stumbled across this excellent restaurant one evening whilst looking for somewhere to eat in Aberdovy and I'm glad we did!

Although it was very quiet due to being out of season, this didn't detract from the attentive service and excellent food. We sampled the meat Samosas and lamb chops with some Popadoms for starters, and then moved onto a well presented Murgh Masala with mushroom rice and a garlic naan.

The restaurant isn't licenced so you are limited to soft drinks, but to be honest this didn't bother us, as we werestaying at the pub down the road anyway. Of course you could always take your own beer or wine if you wished.

Overall we loved the food and wouldn't hesitate to go again if in the area.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good curry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Not a place to go for a romantic tete-a-tête-à-tête with the Mrs. But the food was good and the service was fine.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Good food and service. Basic interior but friendly welcome and very good food. Just remember to bring cash and your own beer. Pub next door was doing a good trade in take-out! Basic decor means not a place for fine dining, but good place to go with your mates.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank macdid57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warkwickshire, England
Level Contributor
80 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Tasty curry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Small group of us enjoyed our meal and would all happily return. Decor and ambience not 4* but food certainly is.

Helpful?
1 Thank MarkyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bay of Bengal also viewed

Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park
Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park
 
Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park
Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park
 
Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park
Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Bay of Bengal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing