We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what you think” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Breeze

Sea Breeze
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Contemporary, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not what you think”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

From the outside it looks like a very typical sea side B & B but once inside you feel as though you are in a small well run resturant. The welcome was friendly but not over the top. The food was well presented, tasty and well served. The service was good as we had no long waits between courses but were not rushed. Obviously the staggered booking works well. Although there was a large group already there the noise level was not intrusive. We would certainly go again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueroanWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    76
    9
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good, but not the best!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We received a very warm welcome at the Sea Breeze restaurant (although I always wince when referred to as 'you guys') but I'll let that pass as the service was extremely friendly and efficient. The menu is quite comprehensive with an emphasis on seafood and,on the whole, our food was very good. My crab starter was somewhat bland and disappointing but the lobster main course which followed was delicious. My fellow diners all enjoyed their meals, some of which were meat based. The Sauvignon was a little odd in that it was served so cold it had ice crystals in it so we had to 'thaw' it out! For me, what lets the Sea Breeze down is the decor. There is a very large and ugly mirror, for example, which looks completely out of place and although there are fresh flowers and candles on all the tables there is something about the colour scheme and overall lighting which makes it almost dingy and drab. That wouldn't deter me from returning but I'm sure the ambience could be improved.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brambleyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great local seafood and more”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We dined here at the recommendation of TripAdvisor and were not disappointed. Best to book in advance as the restaurant is not large and it was packed when we visited on a Friday night.

Though the razor clam chowder was not especially inspiring everything else was very good: a grilled goat's cheese starter, grilled black bream with sea vegetable, haddock and (to die for!) chips, creme brulee and apple + gooseberry fool.

Also a warm welcome by the proprietor and very friendly and efficient service all round. Not to miss when in delightful Aberdovey.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IanMcBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The best in Aberdovey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

A restaurant will B+B right on the sea front Unless you knew you might walk past it But don't!
We had to wait a few days over the Bank Hol weekend to get a table
Fish and Seafood are the main focus, but with a few meat dishes I had the rib eye steak which which large portion, tasty and well cooked!
But the fish and sea food are the things to go for I had hake which was fab and the mussels were fab too
Daughter had belly pork which was a little tough, but tasty being the only downside
A reasonable wine list and some good local Welsh ale
Service was friendly and efficient
A small, local family business well worth supporting
Enjoy !

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WardyWolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent quality dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We enjoyed an extremely fresh and tasty meal in this chic restaurant, with excellent service and reasonable prices. We would highly recommend it to those wanting quality over quantity.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Breeze also viewed

Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park
Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park
 
Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park
Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Sea Breeze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing