We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and good value”

Pharoah's Cellar Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious and good value”
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We visited Pharaoh's Cellar Bar over the Easter break after reading the reviews on trip advisor. We weren't disappointed. As a family of four with two teenagers we needed something delicious but not too fancy. It was perfect, three courses each and not a scrap left by anyone! Successful choice and would highly recommend

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrHentch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    46
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very cozy”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I was made to feel welcome from my entrance to the cozy cellar bar and restaurant. Try the ginger dessert - it was an extremely nice ending to the great meal!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ToniM38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A great little find”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Whilst staying in Aberdovey this week, my wife and I had the pleasure of eating in the Celler Bistro. We had not been there before and the second we descended the stairs into the restaurant below ground, it just oodled charm and atmosphere.

The hosts were very friendly indeed. I had told Marg (owner) that it was my wife's birthday and as soon as we sat down, my wife was presented with a glass of fizz.

We both had the homemade pate to start which was very nice. I followed this with "Trevor's special" medallions of beef and my wife had a half roast duck. Both mains were really good. My beef was cooked perfectly (rare) and my wife's duck just melted in the mouth. All washed down with a pleasant New Zealand sauvignon blanc.

My pudding sounded interesting - ginger and black pepper sponge with fudge sauce. And it was. Weird how good it was. My wife had the profiteroles.

If we are in Aberdovey again, we will definitely be heading down the stairs again.

One thing to note - check opening times. At present, it is only open on Wednesday through Saturday.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The first time we dined here we were intending to eat at the 'Bear of Amsterdam' but it had closed and so by the time we found our way to 'Pharoahs' it was getting late but we were welcomed in and had a very good evening. The menu is varied and the food was very good - so good we booked to return the following evening. The atmosphere is as good as any restaurant We have visited and when we return to Aberdovey, we will certainly return to 'Pharoahs'

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing choice and excellent quality”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a fantastic meal, there was a good selection of dishes, quality was fantastic, lovely atmosphere and excellent service. A real gem, we will definitely be revisiting. Thank you for a lovely evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Granllyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pharoah's Cellar Bar also viewed

Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park
Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park
 
Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Pharoah's Cellar Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing