We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Brigydon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brigydon
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This is a beautiful house in a stunning location with all rooms having a view of the estuary / sea. This accommodation is classed as 5 star and well worthy of its status. The room was immaculate and very comfortably furnished. Breakfast was excellently prepared. This B&B is exceptional and well worth a visit - you wil not be disappointed

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deluca5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 122 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2012

What a find! Totally deserving of its 5-Star rating, Linda & Nigel made us very comfortable and welcome on a rare night away for us. The room was luxurious with the most amazing view over the Dyfi estuary and beyond. The massive walk-in shower and dressing gowns were a real treat, and large breakfast full of fresh fruit and local produce fry-up delicious! Great value too! We would love to return if we get a chance sometime, and will certainly be recommending Brig-y-Don to others. Thank you both very much. Nick & Jan Young

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We visited Aberdovey to meet up with family at the beginning of May and stayed for 2 nights at Brigydon. The room is lovely, spotless, carefully furnished, with a good bed and superb views of the estuary. Comfy chairs by the window with a pot of tea and a slice of Bara brith .. need one say more.
Separate entrance to the room makes for freedom to come and go, there is safe off-road parking and Brigydon is just a short walk from the centre of town.
Thank you to Linda .. a friendly and welcoming host who also lays on a very good breakfast!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jones1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Nigel and Linda proved to be great hosts, welcoming and friendly. The en suite room, with separate access from the house, is spacious and comfortable with wonderful views over the estuary and sea. A really relaxing setting to just sit and and enjoy. Breakfast, in the dining room, was exceptional with a menu to suit everyone's taste. Thank you.
It was for us too, the best B&B we've stayed in.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

After reading the reviews on here I booked Brigydon with high expectations.

All I can say is that we were not disappointed! A beautiful, warm and spacious double room greeted us with a slice of homemade barabrith (not sure of spelling...). The view is breathtaking looking over the estuary and you'll spend a relaxing hour or two sitting and absorbing the peace and calm. One real bonus is that you can park your car on site so you don't need to worry about it being on the front.

The breakfast was nothing short of epic and we were both full for most of the day. Linda really makes you feel welcome in her beautiful home. Nothing it seems is too much to ask.

To sum it up: a stunning 5 star B&B with amazing view, incredible breakfast and on site parking. Ive travelled all around the world and I KNOW quality and this is it! We will definitely by back!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeobw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

All we wanted was a little bit of peace and quiet in a comfortable setting and that was what we got. A smart, clean room, with fanstatic views to wake up to. All mod cons and some home made cake to arrive to - lovely touches. The hosts were friendly and approachable, breakfast was fit for a king. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greend244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

By far the best B&B we have ever visited. Linda and her family have gone the last yard to make your stay memorable. The room is fantastic with unrivaled views and if you forgot your binoculars don't worry a pair are on hand. The bathroom, luxury with complimentary robes. The food is second to none and as much as you can eat.
The lady herself, first class with nothing ever being too much trouble.

We will be back

Carol & Andy, Wirral

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 551traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
0.3 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 3 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
665 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
#1 of 1 in Eglwys Fach
269 reviews
8.6 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel
Wynnstay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machynlleth
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
#3 of 11 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Awel y Mor
Awel y Mor
#2 of 11 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dovey Inn
Dovey Inn
#7 of 11 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brigydon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brigydon

Address: Balkan Hill, Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park LL35 0NH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Price Range: $124 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Brigydon 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brigydon is by far one of the finest houses in the beautiful village of Aberdovey. Your room has en-suite facilities along with all the comforts that the modern traveller seeks in his Bed and Breakfast. In addition to this, your room has stunning views across the Dovey estuary and around the coast of Cardigan Bay. There is ample secure parking. Recently re-awarded Five Stars by Visit Wales, Brigydon is the only Five Star Bed and Breakfast in Aberdovey. Brigydon was recently given its second Gold Award by Visit Wales - one of only five given in the whole of the county of Gwynedd! Discover a quality B&B; Discover Brigydon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Brigydon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brigydon Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing