We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely accommodation and a very warm welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Brigydon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brigydon
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation and a very warm welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

We stayed at Brigydon on Sat 2nd and Sun 3rd April.

The location - up a rather steep hill, but not an issue for anyone who is able bodied and only 5 mins from the seafront. The advantage of being away from the seafront was the tranquility - we left the window open to listen to an owl hooting, undisturbed by traffic or revellers.

The room: beautifully clean, very comfortable bed with crisp fresh linen, great 'rain' shower in the en-suite, mesmerising sea view.

The hosts - Linda and Nigel are great hosts, nothing was too much trouble and they went out of their way to ensure we had everything we could possibly need. Nigel gave us some great tips on the surrounding countryside and places to visit.

The breakfast - what a treat and what a choice! The table was loaded with a fresh fruit platter, yoghurts, croissants, toast, cereal, nuts, juice, iced water, even an avocado! Hot breakfast is selected from a menu and includes porridge, a full English (or Welsh ;) or smoked fish. The bacon was just superb, best I've ever tasted.

Overall - would definitely go back and we were rather sad to leave.

Hints and tips - take plenty of cash as several businesses in Aberdyfi (e.g. the Indian restaurant) only take cash or cheque and the cash machine was out of order when we visited.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nicnjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
85
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2010

Great location, with superb views over the estuary. Safe parking, with easy if steep walk of village centre with good ‘pubs with food’, the Penhelig Arms and the rail and bus stops.

Beautiful traditional and historic house, with a stylish modern touch. Tremendous welcome from the enthusiastic owners, whose passion for Welsh food meant a truly exceptional breakfast featuring organic local produce. As noted by a previous reviewer, the bacon, egg and sausage were truly memorable. Pleasant terrace, with quality outdoor seating set in pretty garden.

For my two-night stay, I had a double room for singe occupancy. It was small, but superbly furnished with tasteful furniture and décor, a big flatscreen TV – and an excellent bathroom featuring a brilliant walk-in shower.

Rarely can you lie in such a comfortable bed, and enjoy such an incredible view. Not cheap, but worth every penny.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StygerTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2010

Stayed here in august, fantastic location and superb hopitality. Very Clean, and the owner was very accomodating of my 2 young children. Breakfast was fantastic with a brilliant variety offered( better than hotels I have stayed in). Would recommend this B&B

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steggles248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

We stayed in this wonderful guest house for 2 nights. Both the facilities and the breakfast were better than in most hotels. The room we stayed in had a glorious view overlooking the harbour with a comfortable bed with good bedding and two easy chairs. Why do most places only give you one chair in a double room? Are you meant to take turns sitting down? The ensuite had a walk in rain shower with plenty of hot water and lovely toiletries provided. For breakfast there was plenty of fresh fruit and cereals, followed by a full cooked breakfast cooked to order, which was delicious, the eggs and bacon deserved particular mention.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westview_Guesthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
0.3 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 4 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
#1 of 1 in Eglwys Fach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
9.1 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dovey Inn
Dovey Inn
#5 of 12 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cartref Guest House
Cartref Guest House
#3 of 12 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
#2 of 12 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brigydon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brigydon

Property: Brigydon
Address: Balkan Hill, Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park LL35 0NH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Hotel Class:5 star — Brigydon 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brigydon is by far one of the finest houses in the beautiful village of Aberdovey. Your room has en-suite facilities along with all the comforts that the modern traveller seeks in his Bed and Breakfast. In addition to this, your room has stunning views across the Dovey estuary and around the coast of Cardigan Bay. There is ample secure parking. Recently re-awarded Five Stars by Visit Wales, Brigydon is the only Five Star Bed and Breakfast in Aberdovey. Brigydon was recently given its second Gold Award by Visit Wales - one of only five given in the whole of the county of Gwynedd! Discover a quality B&B; Discover Brigydon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brigydon Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing