We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful find.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cartref Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Every need is unobtrusively catered for in this immaculate Guest House where a warm welcome awaits all guests.An imaginative choice of food makes breakfast a pleasure with 'bottomless cup of freshly brewed filter coffee' the icing on the cake!A wonderful find in a fascinating area with so much to do and see.. .T.C. . Rye,

Room Tip: Twin beds in Room 2 were big and extremely comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TERESA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 100 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

An excellent guesthouse in a quiet part of Aberdovey opposite the railway station. Plenty of parking at the guesthouse and on the road. Really friendly hosts who ensured we had everything needed for our stay. Stayed in room 1 which was very large with a king size bed and view of the front garden. Well equipped shower room. Breakfast was very good although a short window of 8.30 to 9. Eating and drinking places nearby and lovely beach walks.

Room Tip: Room 1 is recommended. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angderby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Cartref offers a convenient location and excellent accommodation - will certainly stay here on any future visits to the area. The cooked breakfast consisted of locally sourced ingredients (always a plus) and the bacon was particularly tasty. (From our window we could see home grown tomatoes ripening and these will no doubt be included for future guests.) I heard a younger guest complimenting the Bara Brith that was served with tea on arrival - an old family recipe apparently. Linda and Mike were very welcoming and will recommend local eateries and places to visit if required.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrestatynWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Lovely welcome and really comfortable accommodation. The Breakfast was superb. Spotlessly clean and ideal location. Owners very friendly. We will be back! Thank you Linda and Mike.

David and Jenny Stanton

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worcestermatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I always hope for a comfortable bed with beautiful bedlinen, best quality towels and a really good shower and I got all of them. Cartref would certainly be my first choice when we return to Aberdovey. Well done Linda and Mike for getting it just right.

Oh - and the breakfast was amazing....

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Five of us stayed here after playing a ladies match at Aberdovey Golf Club. Linda gave us a warm welcome including nibbles for our wine and tea, coffee and biscuits on tap. The rooms were comfortable, clean and well equipped - super shower in mine, the single and breakfast was excellent. We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Mike and Linda are great hosts and maintain very comfortable accommodation. The bedroom was comfortable and had a super bed. The house is well appointed and has nice features like a really comfortable lounge, tea to hand at any time and a sunny terrace to relax on. It's in a good location being just a short walk to the village centre with good eateries and pubs.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thetwocvsandoscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdyfi (Aberdovey) hotels
0.7 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 3 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
682 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lookout
The Lookout
#1 of 11 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
#3 of 11 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Awel y Mor
Awel y Mor
#2 of 11 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
62 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dovey Inn
Dovey Inn
#7 of 11 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
370 reviews
0.4 mi away
Britannia Inn
Britannia Inn
#8 of 11 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cartref Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cartref Guest House

Address: Penrhos, Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park LL35 0NR, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Price Range: $69 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cartref Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cartref is a stylish and relaxed Guest House that has recently been completely renovated, in the picturesque and sought after sea side village of Aberdovey. Our aim is to provide four star quality on a small scale for visitors who want comfortable, contemporary accommodation set in a beautiful Edwardian detached house, without the formality and expense of a top hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cartref Guest House Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing