We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very well appointed and comfortable B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cartref Guest House
hants.uk
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A very well appointed and comfortable B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Mike and Linda are great hosts and maintain very comfortable accommodation. The bedroom was comfortable and had a super bed. The house is well appointed and has nice features like a really comfortable lounge, tea to hand at any time and a sunny terrace to relax on. It's in a good location being just a short walk to the village centre with good eateries and pubs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetwocvsandoscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
51
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Cartref still maintains it excellent standards, it is a lovely guest house spotless clean and breakfast is really spot on very plentiful and excellent choice. Linda and Mike are very welcoming and nothink to much trouble for them. A lovely stay in beautiful Aberdovey. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anglesey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Four of us booked in to play Golf at Aberdovey Golf Club (literally a stones throw away) Superb stay - everything just spot on. We even had a pot of tea & home made 'bara brith' on the terrace on arrival. Extremely warm welcome, breakfast delicious & the room was lovely. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank del s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Linda and Mike were excellent friendly hosts, their house spotless and breakfast superb.Would recommend staying here to anyone visiting Aberdovey which was equally as enchanting.We will definitely return.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 49woody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shady Side, MD
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

The Cartref Guest House was the nicest place that we stayed at on this trip. The room was clean, comfortable and modern. Linda and Mike were gracious hosts. Breakfast was delicious. We also enjoyed walking around beautiful Aberdovey.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelllady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wangen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed at Cartref Guest House for four nights in May 2013.
Very friendly owners and always helpful. We had a nice room in a quiet location. The room, the bed and the ensuite are absolutely comfortable and modern.
From Cartref Guest House everything's in walking distance - the beach, the station, the restaurants.
We enjoyed our stay at Cartref and would recommend it.
Best regards Birgit&David

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Birgit_David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

This is an extremely comfortable, friendly and well run guest house. The accommodation is excellent, spacious with great views and quite peaceful. Lovely breakfast, easy access to beach, plenty of parking and really helpful and thoughtful owners. We would recommend this highly and will hope to return!!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
0.7 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 4 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
15.0 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
#1 of 1 in Eglwys Fach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
#2 of 12 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dovey Inn
Dovey Inn
#5 of 12 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cartref Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cartref Guest House

Property: Cartref Guest House
Address: Cartref Road, Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park LL35 0NR, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cartref Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cartref is a stylish and relaxed Guest House that has recently been completely renovated, in the picturesque and sought after sea side village of Aberdovey. Our aim is to provide four star quality on a small scale for visitors who want comfortable, contemporary accommodation set in a beautiful Edwardian detached house, without the formality and expense of a top hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cartref Guest House Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing