We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slow Service and not What I Ordered”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Penhelig Arms

Penhelig Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ystrad Mynach
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Slow Service and not What I Ordered”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

We had a DBB deal booked and had reserved a table in the main restaurant some time in advance. On arrival we were told the restaurant was fully booked but we could eat in the bar if we wanted. When we said we had a table booked they said they might be able to squeeze us in if we didn't like the bar. We decided to have a drink and peruse the menu in the bar but the longer we sat, the worse the smoke from the fire got - the room was full of it.
So, we ordered our food and were told that we would be taken through to our table when our food was ready.
Unfortunately after we were seated we waited and waited whilst others around us were served. The food when it eventually arrived was good - particularly the lamb shank.
Main disappointment was the dessert - I had ordered a lime cheesecake with lemon grass and was presented with a bland concoction with summer berries. When I queried it the waitress checked with the chef & informed me it was a mistake on the menu. Surely you inform your customer of such an error instead of serving them something else?
If we hadn't had such a good deal including dinner it would have been a major disappointment considering the a la carte prices.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Orland0belle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    90
    45
    30
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not what it was”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Once upon a time, The Penhelig was THE place to eat in Aberdovey. Not any more. Sadly the standards have plummeted. The food is average and the service very, very poor. We still visit when we fancy a walk to the other end of the village, or everywhere else is full, hopeful that things will have improved and The Pen will be back on track. Sadly our optimism has yet to be rewarded. Such a shame, as the location is wonderful.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Juli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“New manager, what a turn-around! Now great.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

On previous visits to the Penhelig Arms in previous years, my wife and I have been very disappointed with the service, food and beverages and have avoided it totally.

During a 1-week stay in the Old Lifeboat Cottage (brilliant) in March, we heard that there was a new manager and that he was taking the Penhelig Arms back to how it used to be.

My brother-in-law and his wife paid us a visit and they have a dog, so we looked where we could go for dinner and also take the dog, and the Penhelig Arms allows dogs in the Mariner side of the pub.

We had a variety of meals including mussels, fish and meat and every dish was excellent. I find that not many places can cook fresh fish very well, but the Penhelig Arms can. Phil (the new manager) really makes the place feel great. He is the life and soul of the Penhelig Arms and brings it to life.

The beers have also improved, with more real ales available.

Previously, Seabreeze has always been the best restaurant in Aberdovey and it is good that the Penhelig Arms is now giving them a run for their money. We will definitely go again next time we are in Aberdovey.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Extremely disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

Shame. Starters were lovely but the main (some deep fried oily pork disaster) was utterly untouchable. We sent the meal back immediately to the sullen and unapologetic waitress and low and behold were charged for both meals upon being presented with the bill.

After questioning who I can only assume was the manager we were actually informed that he had tried the food and it "tasted okay to him", which is astonishing considering the people on the next table had been unable to stomach it either, but had been too nervous to complain.

With no apology, and a defensive and rude response, the appalling food is the least of this establishments concerns. I think it's time for a cookery course and a few lessons on customer service before the summer season starts. Will not be going back.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harriet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Stayed here for two nights. Had afternoon tea on arrival served in the lounge. We were given 2 large trays of very good food between two couples. There was so much food that they could have quite easily got away with giving us one tray. We had rooms with a sea view. we could lay in bed with the estuary about 50 metres away. Good clean rooms. excellent lunchtime and evening menus and very reasonably priced. Will definitely be going back in the future.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jimknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penhelig Arms also viewed

Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park
Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park
 
Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park
Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park
 
Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Penhelig Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing