We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away”
Review of Dovey Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dovey Inn
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stay away”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We popped in for a quick lunch yesterday and were greeted by surly unfriendly staff. We ordered quick easy dishes.....baked potatoes, cheesy nachos and sausage and mash for a 2 year old. We waited for 45 minutes and were served microwaved cool potatoes, nachos which somebody had managed to burn and sausages which had barely any pork in them. Great position, awful place...avoid avoid avoid....better off in the Penhelig where you will get good food with a smile.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    100
    54
    30
    37
See reviews for
85
154
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on business, not my first choice as would always go for llety bodfor. Anyway room was well presented and had a fantastic sea view. It is a little warn and needs a little tlc to give it a new lease on life. Staff were very helpful and polite and provided an oil heater when they couldn't get the heating in the room working. Finally found the problem and heating was sorted. The system was very old though and creaks and grows as heats up and cools down. Not very conducive to a good nights sleep.

Overall not to bad but could do better.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MPT1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Visited it 3 times on holiday. Great to have a drink and sky TV but let down badly when we had a meal. Food bland and cold. Although offered free sweets as compensation the damage had already been done.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aberdyfi (Aberdovey) hotels

Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a 2 day golf trip to Aberdovey as part of a group of 8 men. We went into the Dovey to have a few drinks and an evening meal. Immediately the staff seemed reluctant to allow us to order food and informed us that the wait would be in excess of 30 minutes for food. Unfortunately we had no other options available to us for an evening meal so we ordered good in the dovey regardless of the waiting time. The food which arrived was appalling and one meal had to be returned to the kitchen twice as it looked like it had been prepared by someone who had never cooked a meal in their life. Eventually after having a meal completely re-cooked one of our party was giving a full refund for his meal as the 2nd attempt at preparing his meal was no better than the first, and he left the pub very hungry!

The food was terrible and the service not much better. We won't be visiting this establishment again

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tywyn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I received an email from Brains saying there hotels were giving 30% of main meals from the 9th till the 12th October. I checked the Dovey Hotel web site and it said there were running this promotion. I went with friends on the Friday night to have a meal and was greeted on the door with a message saying, Sorry no food as we are having new shiny things fitted in the kitchen.
So just went and had a very good meal some where else.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Spent the week touring and stayed in some great places. This was the best. All the things we wanted,. Friendly and helpful staff, spacious clean room with a big bed, decent pub meal, great breakfast., and the most beautiful view overlooking the estuary. Lovely location for different levels of walks. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at the Dovey Inn in September 2013 for one night. I originally from the mid Wales area and used to drink in the Dovey Inn. Now I live in England, we stayed over on a one night stopover on the way to see family.

I feel a little unkind giving an 'average' review, but it didn't quite make 'very good' - TA needs a 'good' option.

The overall look of the room was lovely - recently refurbished in modern style, sea view, nice internal areas, comfy bed, stylish bathroom with very modern fittings, clean, warm, comfortable.

What let it down was basic issues - two bulbs out in the room which made it dim, no hot water for the bath - I really wanted to climb into the lovely tub after a days walking, phone in room couldn't get outside line. I would rather have a tired room with everything working than a beautifully decorated room with bits gone awry.

No car park - you need to park in the car park in the centre of the village, it's free after 6pm but you have to get back to car park for 8am to buy a new ticket. Reception is at the bar, staff very friendly.

Breakfast was average - the hot options are a 'full English' or if you want a lighter option 'full English with less stuff on it'. Yes, that made me giggle. However, I did get scrambled eggs on toast with no trouble :-)

Overall I would stay again, it's a nice, friendly place.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
0.3 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 3 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
640 reviews
12.5 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
312 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
#2 of 11 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Britannia Inn
Britannia Inn
#9 of 11 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Awel y Mor
Awel y Mor
#5 of 11 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
36 reviews
5.4 mi away
Llety Ceiro Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dovey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dovey Inn

Property: Dovey Inn
Address: 8 Sea View Terrace, Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park LL35 0EF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dovey Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Dovey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dovey Hotel Aberdovey / Aberdyfi
Dovey Inn Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing