We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in aberdyfi by far!!”
Review of Dovey Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dovey Inn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in aberdyfi by far!!”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I visit aberdyfi quite frequently like many people that stay there. This has got to be the first place where I've felt really welcomed and happy to spend my money again. Great food, great beer, great value for money. I will definitely be back to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wyatt1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    103
    55
    30
    37
See reviews for
88
157
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Used to be great, friendly staff, lovely food, etc that was 10,15, 20 years ago, last 5 years I have seen it go down the pan in ALL of those areas.
Sort the attitude of the staff out first, you must be losing custom big time, last 2 times I have been in there I have been treated really badly, staff were rude, more interested in their own selves than their customers, its become really stuck up. I think I had a conversation with the owner, or head barman once, I was scared to death, if looks could kill I'd be dead!!, no interest in my custom WHATSOEVER. I shall ever go in there, EVER AGAIN!! Couldn't care less about the place anymore, we'll be down the Bear of Amsterdam for some friendly banter and great food, and we'll pop for a pint in the Brittania..

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aberdyfi (Aberdovey) hotels

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2011

After having an unusually warm week in October we decided to take a quick day trip to Wales, we had lunch in the Dovey Inn, the service was friendly and the food reasonably priced with a good varied menu. As the weather was so nice we decided to stop overnight, luckily for us the Dovey Inn had a room available and we were able to check in there. The lady on the bar showed us to our room, room 7 and wow what a room, beautiful view of the sea, gorgeous bathroom and modern spacious bedroom, this was not what we were expecting as the Doveys exterior is that of an old Inn, the room was modern and wonderful. The lady then reserved us a table for dinner in the dining room and we had been given a window table and so could enjoy those sea views again. The young waiter was very polite and the staff behind the bar, two ladies both were friendly and welcoming and it was nice to see staff happy in their work. We didn't have to wait long for our food and the waiter even checked back at our table to see if we were happy, this does not happen everywhere! On the whole we enjoyed our experience of the Dovey Inn, it made a change to stay and dine somewhere where the staff had a welcoming smile, and not forgetting the wonderful view! We will definitely return again the next time the weather warms up!

Room Tip: room 7 is modern and has a great sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrummieLass_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2011

My husband and I stayed here in March and had a fabulous stay and were well looked after by a young lady, so we booked another stay for this month.
We returned last week and thought we were in a different place. We waited 20 minutes to check in, after waiting what seemed to be a very long time a lady in her late 30's with short red hair tried to check us in to our room. First the key wouldn't open the door so she returned down stairs to "get a new one". She had disappeared for 15 minutes and had left us standing there. We then saw her running up the stairs towards the back of the building with a dinner? She had forgotten about us! She then came back with no apology and let us into our bedroom. The rooms are very dated but very clean. My husband and I went to the bar for a dinner and were told that food service finished 5 minutes ago, so we headed to the pub next door and ate there. Breakfast was awful and the eggs looked like they had been cooking from the night before! Standards have slipped.
We booked a table for the evening and went for a walk along the beach. Later on we went to the restaurant to find our table - we couldn't find it so my husband asked the lady behind the bar ( mid 30's with long hair) . She apologized and seated us in the bar which was too loud. The food was nothing special and took 50 minutes to arrive. The waiter brought our food and did not ask us if we wanted salt or pepper and didn't clear our plates until he brought our desserts. The desserts were fabulous!
My husband and I were very disappointed with the staff. It always seemed a pain for them to serve anyone. We think we only thought this because we had such a welcoming stay in March, we thought it would be the same. It's a shame the young girl wasn't there as she made us feel so welcome and she sat down with us every evening and made sure everything was perfect with our stay.

We will not be returning.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redlight26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

This hotel is best viewed as a Pub with Rooms; a roll that it fulfills with spades. Located in the centre of Aberdovey, directly oposite the landing stage for the few fishing boats that ply here, it is an old building dating back to the 18th C (when it was called "The Ship"). This Pub is part of the Brains Brewery chain that often has some very good deals on-line (Like the two nights for the price of one that we enjoyed on the 25/27 the September 2011). We were in room 8, which is on the second floor (No lift) and is HUGE and has (Unusally for the UK) a USA size Queen bed and flood shower.The views over the estuary are fantastic and worthy of a perch while sipping a sundowner. Very special indeed!
There are a few things that could improve (probably requiring more staff than a Pub with rooms could afford at these rates). The room had a very light coloured carpet which was stained with what looked like dirty boot marks,and the shower could have been cleaner. A silly clause on the breakfast menu demands a UKP 2.00 for any change to the "full breakfast" that's included in the room rate. Also the TV reception needs attention, as does the (free) WIFI. But remember the room rate and look out of the window at the estaury and all is well. A great place to stay. Did I mention that our room had individual air con? Yes it does. Book now.

Room Tip: Ask for room 8!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spock_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed at the Dovey Inn after looking on Tripadvisor for a room on the way back from a weekend on the Festiniog and Welsh Highland narrow gauge railways in Porthmadog. The room was brilliant with a king size bed. The staff were welcoming, friendly and excellent and the food served in the restaurant was very good with plenty of choice.

Aberdyfi has plenty of public parking, but most of it fully occupied on the front immediately outside the hotel.

Having arrived about 7pm we found street parking round the back of the hotel, so parking was free until 9:45am next morning which gave us plenty of time before we drove to Tywyn to catch the 10:30am first train on the Talyllyn Railway.

A good find - we'll be back again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianA613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwynedd, wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We are a couple from Bala who wanted just a 1 one stay stay for a break and we loved it! All the staff are very friendly and welcoming, the food was gorg!!, our room was lovely brilliant view. We will be going back at least once a month.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alyates64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
14.9 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
334 reviews
9.7 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
315 reviews
9.0 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Britannia Inn
Britannia Inn
#9 of 11 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
90 reviews
0.3 mi away
Awel y Mor
Awel y Mor
#4 of 11 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
42 reviews
5.4 mi away
Llety Ceiro Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dovey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dovey Inn

Property: Dovey Inn
Address: 8 Sea View Terrace, Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park LL35 0EF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dovey Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dovey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dovey Hotel Aberdovey / Aberdyfi
Dovey Inn Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing