We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding But......”
other travelers have booked this property
Balcony View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Balcony View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
3 reviews
Balcony View
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anthony c
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely property”
Reviewed April 14, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Lovely property very spacious and great location, great holiday let.
However not very well equipped when it comes to kitchen utensils you will need to take scissors, cheese grater etc not sure if over time these items have just gone missing.
No bin bag, no washing up sponge we had a dirty dishcloth left from maybe previous guests.
We also had one shower mat between two bathrooms, and the towel rail in ensuite bathroom was filthy.
The kitchen work surfaces I had to clean because they were full of left over crumbs again from previous guests.

As for independent holidays company! I will never ever book with them again, 3 weeks before our holiday they were rude unhelpful wouldn’t answer any questions we had for them appalling customer service (once payment has been received!) they are not interested!!

The property as I said is lovely it’s just a shame the cleanliness was quite poor, and the holiday agents are not very helpful.
I have kept all messages from independent holidays if the owner of the property wishes to see them.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 4, 2018
The owners’ response is as follows:-

Prior to this tripadvisor review this client made no complaint to either Independent Holidays or to Scrubadub, the cleaning company responsible for cleaning Beach View Apartment.

Independent Holidays have provided all the messages from the client and all their replies. The client initially booked the apartment online for only 2 adults. On 17th July 2017 the client asked if the booking could be amended to two adults and two children and Independent Holidays replied saying “that’s no problem” and there was no extra charge. On 28th February 2018 the client maintained he had booked for 2 adults and 3 children and Independent Holidays replied saying this was different from his request on 17th July 2017 and asked the client to confirm that he now wanted the apartment for 2 adults and 3 children as they needed to advise the owner. The client then replied saying “the 5th person is not definite”. Independent Holidays tried to explain that although the apartment has two bedrooms for four people plus a sofa bed for two more people they needed to know if there was to be a fifth person. Independent Holidays were not rude to this client and accommodated the addition of his children to his original booking.

As the scissors and cheese grater appear to have gone missing the owner will be replacing these. The apartment was checked after the client left and there were two shower/bath mats for the two bathrooms and so the owners do not understand why the client could only find one. Although self-catering apartments do not normally provide dishcloths and washing up sponges the owner will leave packs of these in the apartment so that the cleaner can ensure only new ones are available when guests arrive.

Finally the owners are concerned that the client found the ensuite towel rail dirty, crumbs on the kitchen worktop and no bin bag. This has been taken up with the cleaning company to avoid it happening again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janie431
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning views but disappointing overall”
Reviewed January 2, 2018 for a stay in November 2017

The location and views are excellent and the apartment is spacious. The bathrooms are well fitted out and overall the accommodation was clean. However, the first impression was not good as the flat was cold and unwelcoming. In particular we were very disappointed with the standard of the bed-linen provided and the lack of basic equipment and information provided by the owners. The tog rating of the duvet on the double bed was only suitable for a warm summers day and the linen was very cheap. The kitchen looked like someone had cleared out every drawer and cupboard of the useful things you would expect to find in a self catering apartment. There wasn't a single bin bag, pan scourer, dishcloth or any cleaning equipment of any sort to be found. There was a single roasting dish which was dirty and no other baking trays. The first thing we had to do was ask the key holders, who happen to run the local launderette, if they could loan us a suitable duvet and then go and purchase a hot water bottle to try to air the bed. The car-park ticket had also gone missing which was a concern as the only place to park is in the car park opposite. There were no instructions on what to do with the rubbish though there were instructions on how to assemble the bedroom furniture! We have stayed in many other excellent apartments in Wales in the last ten years, however this was by far the most expensive and the most disappointing. The accommodation has great potential but it needs someone who cares about and understands how to make guests feel welcome and how to make that important first impression.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 4, 2018
The owners response is as follows:
The duvet in the main bedroom is not a Summer Tog rating, but a higher Tog rating duvet to use year round in a home with central heating. As it was particularly cold the night they mention I am sure the clients could have turned the central heating up and used the spare blankets in the bedroom cupboard. It also appears that duvet issue was resolved by the agent providing another duvet for them. There is also another duvet for clients use with the sofa bed in the cupboard.
This client advises that we advertise that we provide electric blankets which we do not especially because of safety & hygiene reasons and also we do not consider it necessary.
The parking pass was in the apartment as usual and was used by the client
With regards to rubbish there is a new bin bag left in the kitchen waste bin. In the drawer under the microwave there is a key with a label stating the key is for the Westhaven Apartments large wheelie bin across the road. There are recycling facilities in the car park which they will be familiar with as they are frequent visitors to Aberdovey.
The clients initial contact with the agent was to demand a full refund for their comments to which we have refused, we also offered to relocate the clients if it was so bad to demand a full refund but they also refused this offer
We do not agree that our Beach View Apartment is badly equipped, the kitchen has a microwave, dishwasher, washing machine and spin dryer, there are two bathrooms, two bedrooms each with HD TV and all the apartment has BT infinity WiFi. In October it was all newly decorated.
The owner of this property further advises that he does not wish the client to be allowed to stay at his property again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holipopgi...
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding But......”
Reviewed November 8, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

The apartment is in a great location with outstanding views. Well equipped and comfortable. However, the Trip Advisor website stated that towels were included, as you would expect; but there was none!
We had arrived at 18.30 on the Friday night. I called the number and the chap said he would bring the towels the next day!! However he didn’t turn up so we had to go and collect them. Also the TP website states two double beds - incorrect. One double and twins.
When I emailed the contact he showed me an extract from another website which had conflicting information to the TP.
It didn’t spoil the weekend but is annoying and an inconvenience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing