We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service and average food”

Spices - Hartlepool
Ranked #28 of 201 Restaurants in Hartlepool
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $33
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good service and average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Service was excellent and food was average, I would go back because some of the things we had were excellent and some were okay, maybe we need to try other dishes

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Niamh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    52
    29
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Redcar
Level Contributor
536 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Great food little atmosphere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Nice place to eat, food was really tasty and well presented. Restaurant was empty no atmosphere. Staff very friendly and could not do enough for you. I will visit again

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Don't go on a groupon”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I went with my wife here for a curry with a groupon voucher and I could tell how the meal was going to go. First we sat on little cheap sofas with the menu in our hand even though it was empty,got a pint which was flat and warm,waited for ages to be sat . Food was terrible bulked up with large onions my wife's tikka had two bits of chicken in it ,the stuff we paid for was expensive ie rice and we were sick of getting asked for drinks . Overall poor badly run

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great Takeaway option”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is our Indian Takeaway choice.......always good food!! But a good option for a restaurant meal as it's next to the Bars on the Marina.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Went for a meal on a Groupon voucher and added popodums, pickles, side dishes and a couple of drinks. Found the starters king prawn puree starters dry and virtually devoid of prawns and the main courses disappointing. We felt that the chicken had been pre cooked and the sauce added later rather than cooked in specific sauces but could be wrong as am not expert on Indian cooking.The side dishes were OK but nothing out of the ordinary but the service was quite good. We felt that the bill was quite expensive considering the voucher value and probably would not go again despite the pleasant atmosphere and scenic outlook over the marina.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank starlightlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spices - Hartlepool also viewed

Hartlepool, County Durham
Hartlepool, County Durham
 
Hartlepool, County Durham
 
Hartlepool, County Durham
Hartlepool, County Durham
 

Been to Spices - Hartlepool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing