We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Hartlepool

“Ian Smurthwaite ”
Review of The Stag & Monkey

The Stag & Monkey
Ranked #2 of 24 Quick Bites in Hartlepool
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Stag and Monkey is part of the Hungry Horse pub brand, with an outstanding reputation for great sports viewing, a fantastic selection of drinks, value food and regular entertainment. Stag and Monkey is relaxed, easy-going and hospitable. What’s on the menu? All your family favourites! Whether you're in the mood for an all-day breakfast, beer and a burger, or fish and chips, you’ll find there’s plenty to tickle your taste buds on our menu.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited yesterday evening with family had the steak special very nice. Dave who attended to us was excellent very good at his job very funny and witty cracking bloke. Give him a pay rise

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Ian I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Owner at The Stag & Monkey, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your positive comments about our pub, have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (867)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 867 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went for tea this evening. Food and service excellent. Especially David. Couldnt do enough for us. Food definately worth the money. Will be going again.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank JoW1365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Owner at The Stag & Monkey, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Lovely to read your comments about your experience, I'll make sure to pass them on to the rest of the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Food was better since the change of the chef David was pleasant as always love the food would come here more often now.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Charlieteasdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Owner at The Stag & Monkey, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your positive comments about our pub, have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Me and my partner always go out to this restaurant :) food is excellent. We can drink eat watching match and after play billard i tell couple friend about this restaurant and food there

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank KlaudiaK2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Owner at The Stag & Monkey, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your positive comments about our pub, have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2020 via mobile

I attended with friends and I have to say this is a brilliant pub. Lovely decor and plenty of space with big TVs showing sport all of the time. Some people have commented about the food but it is excellent value for the money as you won't find food cheaper, the roasties and pigs in blankets were particularly lovely. If you want plenty of options with good food and a good atmosphere I can highly recommend the stag and monkey.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank t0mt669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Stag & Monkey, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2020

Thank you so much for your positive comments about our pub, have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stag & Monkey also viewed

Hartlepool, County Durham
Hartlepool, County Durham
 
Hartlepool, County Durham
Hartlepool, County Durham
 
Hartlepool, County Durham
Hartlepool, County Durham
 

Been to The Stag & Monkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing