We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best ever.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Altonlea Lodge Guest House
Ranked #1 of 16 Hartlepool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2013

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. One thing I think is really amazing is what Lee done he could have just simply told me how to drive from the front of the guesthouse to the back where the secure car park is but no he came with me in my car and showed me which way to go which I was really happy with because this saved some hassle because known me I would have got lost. Lee also helped to carry our bags up to our rooms I have been to other places where they don't do this for you. The rooms 10 and 11 that we had are very clean with very comfy beds and spacious. The garden is kept in very good order and is peaceful. The breakfast is one of the best we have ever had its in our top 3. We didn't have time to use the lounge when we were here but it is a great place to watch t.v, read a book or socialise its the room next to room number 6. The Altonlea is ideally positioned for the beach with it been just across the road, shops, pubs and restaurants are just down the road. For eating I would recommend Hornsey's bar & grill, Mateo's and the almighty Cod for the food but the service and drinks are terrible at The Almighty Cod.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkO826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 305 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

lovely guest house . people so friendly they carnt do enough for you . rooms were lovely foood great . location right on the seafront . i would go back there again you couldnt find a better place i havent heard anythink bad about this guest house .

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

stayed at Altonlea for all of May 2013. Rooms were spotless and Lee was a great host. Never a problem for him to help out if required. did not stay for breakfast as was working early but offer was there to open early. Would definitely stay again as working nearby frequently.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

What a lovely family, we were made most welcome at their b&b, nothing is too much trouble, we had 4 room's which were spotless, we needed ground floor room's so didn't get sea views but we didn't mind as we had a lot of sightseeing to do so we were out all day. The breakfast was superb and we couldn't fault it, we will definitely stay again when we find ourselves in Hartlepool in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Altonlea Lodge Guest House for about 8/9 weeks and we could not recommend the place more highly. The place is spotlessly clean and the breakfasts are great.
Everyone takes a great pride in the place and go out of there way to make you feel welcome. Lee, Olwyn and Tony run the place in a friendly and professional manner and are thoroughly deserving of the high rating.

Ted & Annette

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I'm delighted I found this place! Charming, calm, very clean, homely, just across the road from miles of beach (you can walk along the sea front a couple of miles to Hartlepool marina), yet on a quiet, rather quaint village green. There is a very relaxing, friendly atmosphere. The owners go out of their way to make you feel at home. I will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Wow, just spent 4 nights at the Altonlea guest house with my wife and what a fantastic place. The rooms are beautiful and clean. The breakfasts are fantastic. Tony Olwyn and Lea are very nice friendly people and all for a very good price. I rate this better than most of the large hotels around the world and we would not hesitate to stay there again on our next visit. If in Hartlepool do yourself a favour and stay in the best guesthouse around. Really a fantastic place. Blair & Sara

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blair R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hartlepool hotels
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel
2 mi away
Premier Inn Hartlepool Marina Hotel
0.1 mi away
Norton Hotel
Norton Hotel
#9 of 9 in Hartlepool
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The York House
The York House
#2 of 16 in Hartlepool
92 reviews
2.1 mi away
Douglas Hotel
Douglas Hotel
#3 of 16 in Hartlepool
215 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trinity Guest House
Trinity Guest House
#2 of 2 in Seaton Carew
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altonlea Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altonlea Lodge Guest House

Address: 19 The Green | Seaton Carew, Hartlepool TS25 1AT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Hartlepool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Hartlepool
Price Range: $78 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a friendly family run guest house in Seaton Carew, Hartlepool. The main house overlooks the village green and sea. There is also a beautiful south facing garden for guests to enjoy. Contained in two buildings, all of Altonlea's bedrooms boast large airy rooms, each of which are decorated to a high standard. Ground floor rooms have wider doors to allow easy access for wheelchair users. All of our rooms have LCD Freeview TVs and free high speed WiFi with 3 hotspots so all rooms have good reception. You will find Tea, Coffee and Hot Chocolate making facilities in every room. A guest lounge is also available for guests to meet up and spend time together. Only a couple of minutes walk away from Hartlepool's fine golden beaches. Seaton Carew has many traditional sea-side amenities to offer the family, including award-winning Fish & Chips, Amusement arcades, Rock Shop, Park with playground and a range of tea rooms and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Altonlea Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altonlea Lodge Guest House Hartlepool, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing