We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in northeast England”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Altonlea Lodge Guest House
Ranked #1 of 15 Hartlepool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in northeast England”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I spent ten nights at this B&B while on a business trip. My room was large, comfortable, well-lit, and exceptionally clean. It had more reliable wireless internet access than when I've stayed at larger hotels in the area. The hosts are friendly, helpful, and give you as much or as little interaction as you want. Breakfast is prepared to order. The location is lovely, just across the street from a miles-long esplanade along the North Sea, with a wide sandy beach. I will definltely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
68
86
29
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

For an excellent stay we highly reccommend the Altonlea. Very friendly, spotlessly clean, excellent breakfast. Should be more than 5 star. Tom and Lib Donowho, Dumfries.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olwenbryan, Manager at Altonlea Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Hello Tom and Lib. Thanks so much for your review. Now you have created your TripAdvisor account don't forget to review all the restaurants you visited and loved so much! It was a pleasure to have you both staying with us and look forward to your next visit.

Thanks also to everyone else who has reviewed Altonlea Lodge in the past - we will try to respond to everyone from now on!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston,Lancs
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed here for one night whilst attending a family party at the start of the jubilee weekend. Perfect location for us to walk to party very clean, stunning garden which we walked through to get to our room! Owners very friendly and helpful. Perfect Breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyPreston_Lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights last wk end after reading the reviews here, we really enjoyed the place, nice room,excellent breakfast, great location and nice friendly hosts. We will definitely be returning

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baljordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

This is my second visit to the Altonlea and once again I wasn't disappointed. The staff are only too happy to help from the minute you arrive to the minute you leave. Breakfast was stunning as usual with a very large selection of items on offer.

No doubt if I'm in the North again this is where I will be staying.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2012

I have stayed here a number of times and think it is the best value for money accommodation I have ever stayed at in the UK. Good quality rooms. Great breakfast. All for a very fair price. Add to this the fact that the sea front 20 yards down the road and I have always received a very warm welcome from the lovely hosts, what more can you ask for?

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank stevengibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

most guests return and can fully understand why,this is our second visit.
It is clean,comfortable but the oustanding thing is the service,so friendly and helpful,nothing is too much trouble.

Don't stay anywhere else if you are in the area.

Room Tip: ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank webstere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hartlepool hotels
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Hartlepool Marina Hotel
1.9 mi away
Best Western Grand Hotel
Best Western Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hartlepool
467 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
#3 of 9 in Hartlepool
486 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 9 in Hartlepool
136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Norton Hotel
Norton Hotel
#9 of 9 in Hartlepool
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altonlea Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altonlea Lodge Guest House

Property: Altonlea Lodge Guest House
Address: 19 The Green | Seaton Carew, Hartlepool TS25 1AT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Hartlepool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hartlepool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a friendly family run guest house in Seaton Carew, Hartlepool. The main house overlooks the village green and sea. There is also a beautiful south facing garden for guests to enjoy. Contained in two buildings, all of Altonlea's bedrooms boast large airy rooms, each of which are decorated to a high standard. Ground floor rooms have wider doors to allow easy access for wheelchair users. All of our rooms have LCD Freeview TVs and free high speed WiFi with 3 hotspots so all rooms have good reception. You will find Tea, Coffee and Hot Chocolate making facilities in every room. A guest lounge is also available for guests to meet up and spend time together. Only a couple of minutes walk away from Hartlepool's fine golden beaches. Seaton Carew has many traditional sea-side amenities to offer the family, including award-winning Fish & Chips, Amusement arcades, Rock Shop, Park with playground and a range of tea rooms and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Altonlea Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altonlea Lodge Guest House Hartlepool, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing