We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Altonlea Lodge Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Altonlea Lodge Guest House
Ranked #1 of 14 Hartlepool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

We chose to stay at the Altonlea for our 2 night stay in Hartlepool based on our previous experience at this lovely, friendly, hospitable guest house - we were not disappointed. Once again our room was spotless and decorated to a high standard, our hosts were happy to help in any way they could and we will definitely choose to stay here again rather than other guest houses we have stayed in previously. Many thanks!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glennkerrynancyedith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
63
79
27
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

We arrived at around six pm to be greeted by a very welcoming host. The room was spotless and decorated to a very high standard. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room were excellent, just what was needed after a seven hour car trip. The hotel is in the process of fitting new digital flat screen televisions, the one in our room was just recently installed and was a very impressive modern addition to a very traditional room. The beds were incredibly comfortable and the bedding immaculate, which all led to a very good nights sleep.

Breakfast was impressive, such a large choice of quality foods from cereal and toast to full English that was cooked to order. Along with as plenty of fruit juices , tea or coffee it was a great start to the day.

I will surely be back thanks to the effort that goes into maintaining the highest standard at Altonlea Lodge.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

Friendly welcome. Excellent breakfast. High quality accomodation.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house are more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne_Old_School
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

Our two-night stay at the Altonlea Lodge hotel was more than we could have expected.

The owners' 30 years in the business is evident...they went the extra mile in every area.

Location: Seaton Carew seafront, facing onto a traditionally English green
Appearance: Period features ....tastefully decorated to a good standard
Beds: perfect...we sank into them and slept right through...rare when away from home
Breakfast: taste & presentation excellent
Room: spotless, cosy & comfortably warm
En-suite shower: just the right pressure with reliable, constant temp. control
Staff: helfpul, attentive, warm...went the extra mile

Would certainly stay again..

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nazza17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

stayed as was attending a family wedding in the area,the owners could not have been more helpful.
Our room was very clean &comfortable and anything we requested was attended to. This B&B is in a very good location and the owners are extremely knowledgeable regarding eating out etc..
Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank webstere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

stayed here for one night and found it very comfortable,clean and friendly, breakfast very good would definatley go back again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

I work in the hospitality business myself and have to say I was looking for an escape. I needed a close loation and easy access to visit my son at the University in Durham. I found it here. Thank you to Lee and the team. When I arrived I had a very warm, friendly welcome. My room was exactly what I had wanted. A sea view with a very comfortable bed. The B&B was very clean and comfortable. A delightful garden. The Breakfast was delicious. I really can not thank you enough. A perfect start to my holiday and I will return.

Room Tip: All the rooms are delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seabreeze88a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hartlepool hotels
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Hartlepool Marina Hotel
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hartlepool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
#3 of 9 in Hartlepool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#6 of 9 in Hartlepool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Staincliffe Hotel
Staincliffe Hotel
#8 of 9 in Hartlepool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.0 mi away
Norton Hotel
Norton Hotel
#9 of 9 in Hartlepool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altonlea Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altonlea Lodge Guest House

Property: Altonlea Lodge Guest House
Address: 19 The Green | Seaton Carew, Hartlepool TS25 1AT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Hartlepool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Hartlepool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a friendly family run guest house in Seaton Carew, Hartlepool. The main house overlooks the village green and sea. There is also a beautiful south facing garden for guests to enjoy. Contained in two buildings, all of Altonlea's bedrooms boast large airy rooms, each of which are decorated to a high standard. Ground floor rooms have wider doors to allow easy access for wheelchair users. All of our rooms have LCD Freeview TVs and free high speed WiFi with 3 hotspots so all rooms have good reception. You will find Tea, Coffee and Hot Chocolate making facilities in every room. A guest lounge is also available for guests to meet up and spend time together. Only a couple of minutes walk away from Hartlepool's fine golden beaches. Seaton Carew has many traditional sea-side amenities to offer the family, including award-winning Fish & Chips, Amusement arcades, Rock Shop, Park with playground and a range of tea rooms and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Altonlea Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altonlea Lodge Guest House Hartlepool, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing