We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend destination”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Altonlea Lodge Guest House
Ranked #1 of 16 Hartlepool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Friendly welcome. Excellent breakfast. High quality accomodation.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house are more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne_Old_School
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 305 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2011

Our two-night stay at the Altonlea Lodge hotel was more than we could have expected.

The owners' 30 years in the business is evident...they went the extra mile in every area.

Location: Seaton Carew seafront, facing onto a traditionally English green
Appearance: Period features ....tastefully decorated to a good standard
Beds: perfect...we sank into them and slept right through...rare when away from home
Breakfast: taste & presentation excellent
Room: spotless, cosy & comfortably warm
En-suite shower: just the right pressure with reliable, constant temp. control
Staff: helfpul, attentive, warm...went the extra mile

Would certainly stay again..

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nazza17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

stayed as was attending a family wedding in the area,the owners could not have been more helpful.
Our room was very clean &comfortable and anything we requested was attended to. This B&B is in a very good location and the owners are extremely knowledgeable regarding eating out etc..
Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank webstere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

stayed here for one night and found it very comfortable,clean and friendly, breakfast very good would definatley go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

I work in the hospitality business myself and have to say I was looking for an escape. I needed a close loation and easy access to visit my son at the University in Durham. I found it here. Thank you to Lee and the team. When I arrived I had a very warm, friendly welcome. My room was exactly what I had wanted. A sea view with a very comfortable bed. The B&B was very clean and comfortable. A delightful garden. The Breakfast was delicious. I really can not thank you enough. A perfect start to my holiday and I will return.

Room Tip: All the rooms are delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seabreeze88a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

This hotel is the best hotel in seaton Carew they have the most friendliest kindest hosts and special thanks to Lee and his team for making me feel so welcome! And of course the dog gilly!

If we are ever back in the area I will defiantly be back!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmarobertson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

A very pleasant experience. A friendly welcome, a comfortable night's sleep all rounded off with a great breakfast. Everything a B&B should be and at a great price too. Keep it up Olwen! Many thanks

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RomanRemains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hartlepool hotels
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel
2 mi away
Premier Inn Hartlepool Marina Hotel
0.1 mi away
Norton Hotel
Norton Hotel
#9 of 9 in Hartlepool
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western Grand Hotel
Best Western Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hartlepool
504 reviews
1.7 mi away
The York House
The York House
#2 of 16 in Hartlepool
92 reviews
2.1 mi away
Douglas Hotel
Douglas Hotel
#3 of 16 in Hartlepool
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altonlea Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altonlea Lodge Guest House

Address: 19 The Green | Seaton Carew, Hartlepool TS25 1AT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Hartlepool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Hartlepool
Price Range: $69 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a friendly family run guest house in Seaton Carew, Hartlepool. The main house overlooks the village green and sea. There is also a beautiful south facing garden for guests to enjoy. Contained in two buildings, all of Altonlea's bedrooms boast large airy rooms, each of which are decorated to a high standard. Ground floor rooms have wider doors to allow easy access for wheelchair users. All of our rooms have LCD Freeview TVs and free high speed WiFi with 3 hotspots so all rooms have good reception. You will find Tea, Coffee and Hot Chocolate making facilities in every room. A guest lounge is also available for guests to meet up and spend time together. Only a couple of minutes walk away from Hartlepool's fine golden beaches. Seaton Carew has many traditional sea-side amenities to offer the family, including award-winning Fish & Chips, Amusement arcades, Rock Shop, Park with playground and a range of tea rooms and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Altonlea Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altonlea Lodge Guest House Hartlepool, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing