We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel”
Review of The Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Hartlepool
Reviewed August 11, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for four nights. There is a small car park dedicated to the hotel. The welcome at the reception desk is pleasant.
The room is large with a good bed and a small desk. The room was quiet (no specific noise in the hotel and with the customers). The wifi connection works. The curtains in the room (no shutter) are not dark enough, so you can be waked up early in the morning with the day light in the summer. The breakfast is served from 7 a.m. and is good. In the bathroom, there is no hook to hang the towers, so every day I found the towers on the bed. There is unpleasant smell in the bathroom when you use the washbasin. You do not find this smell with the shower.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vr45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 145 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2014

Work booked us into this establishment this time, the room was clean although i guess it's above the kitchens cause an extractor fan was clearly heard for most of the stay, the bed was not the best the matress is well past it's best, the showrs we all agreed are at best funny at worst dangerous, there appears to be only 1 mm between freezing cold and burn your skin off hot, this really needs addressing as i got caught a few times and it was bright red for a bit, would not like to guess what it could have done to a child.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lincsoyibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

stayed at the Marine for 1 night only on 12 June. A very nice welcome from the receptionist. The public areas of the hotel were a bit tired and smelled of cabbage. I had a large quiet room on the top floor with a very comfortable bed and a sea view, though the windows could have done with a clean. The bathroom was Ok once I'd worked out the shower and managed to get hot water, but some regrouting would help the appearance of the bathroom and there were some odd white stains on the bathroom floor. Ate in the bar. The steak was just about Ok but it came with an uninspired salad of iceberg and cucumber, but it was only £12.50. I only had cereal tea and toast for breakfast, so can't comment on the cooked breakfast.

The nice surprise was a perfectly chilled dry white wine from the bar: really very good indeed.

Overall for £68 for B&B, it was good value, but the hotel could just do with some money spent on it.

Oh yes, and if you like being called "pal" or "mate" by the male staff, then this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fulhamforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for one night on the 6th June. Access and parking are very good and reception is professional.

We were given the Seaton Suite on the second floor. NB. There are approximately 40 stair steps to the second floor. The room was well appointed but the shower hose was mangled at the tap end. It was Impossible to get a decent flow of water without holding the hose out straight. Not the most sensible thing to do in a 'corner' bath with no shower curtain !!!

Bar prices were very reasonable as was my fish pie. I can't recall what my wife had as a main meal.

Conclusion: This hotel does not quite do what it says on the tin.

Recommendation: Sort out the shower in the Seaton suite.

Room Tip: Check rooms before committing to pay and stay. In particular, that everything works as it should.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fred E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband for his fortieth, couldn't have been happier

We stayed in the marine suite, was very comfy, clean & romantic - the sea view was just beautiful

Food could have been better but it was nice

Staff were ultra friendly & helpful

Would definitely recommend this hotel to able bodied guests, there is no lift as it is a listed building but the stairs are not steep

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cazlwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We had a half-price voucher for a meal from the Grill menu, which had to be used between 5 and 7pm. We booked and turned up to the Victorian hotel and were shown the dining room. IT WAS HUGE! Probably 70 tables, mostly for four. What was spooky was that we were the only customers. All that unused space. We were served quickly and well. We both chose lamb steaks. The plates came with a piece of flamegrilled lamb leg medium cooked, as we had asked for, chips, peas and a grilled halved tomato. We were offered a choice of sauces and asked for mint,
The chips were brilliant - crispy on the outside and soft on the inside (probably twice-cooked) but the lamb was a bit chewy. Steak knives had been provided, which helped. Bog standard fare really. In all the time we were there, we only saw the waitress and a group of four that came in just before we left. It was average, so we probably won't return. Shame, really, to see such a large unused space. The place and toilets were clean. We had a table by the window, which looked over at a children's fairground right on the front by the sea.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shezza51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

called in for a lunch time meal, three adults and a baby.Two went for the carvery and the baby went for the baby carvery, meat was as dry as sticks but the veg was lovely, roast potatoes nice and crisp. The other adult had fish chips and mushy peas, he said it was about average.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Caz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hartlepool hotels
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Hartlepool Marina Hotel
0.4 mi away
Staincliffe Hotel
Staincliffe Hotel
#8 of 9 in Hartlepool
235 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Best Western Grand Hotel
Best Western Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hartlepool
492 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
#3 of 9 in Hartlepool
522 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hillcarter Hotel
Hillcarter Hotel
#7 of 9 in Hartlepool
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Address: The Front | Seaton Carew, Hartlepool TS25 1BS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Hartlepool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Hartlepool
Price Range: $84 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
25 bed 3 star hotel. Beautiful sea views with a very popular restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Hartlepool
The Marine Hotel Hartlepool, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing