We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab room.”
Review of The Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Hartlepool
Liverpool, England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fab room.”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed for one night and the room was a suite. On two floors with a double bed on ground floor and single and bathroom on top floor. The room for value for money is excellent. However on arrival I was offered a wake up call and choice of complimentary paper. The paper was never seen or discuss again. If you are not going to give it don't offer. It only became an issue as it was offered.
The web site also states SKY in rooms. This is free view and doesn't have BBC channels.

The staff are friendly and the bar is warm and spacious with a good standard of pub grub.

The morning breakfast was quick and cooked to order. the coffee however!!!

Overall a pleasant surprise and the base to be a proper little gem in Hartlepool.

Room Tip: Go for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snaicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    44
    33
    8
    16
See reviews for
37
41
7
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were booked into the Marine Hotel for 2 nights in early June. I had been there before, 4 years ago, but didn't recognise it because it was covered in scaffolding! The receptionist made no apology but insisted that we pay up front, offering no discount. Our big room would have been beautiful had it not been for the filthy, dusty windows obscuring our view of the sea - and the scaffolding! So make sure that the repainting is finished before you book!!

Room Tip: The Cleveland Suite is a corner room on the 2nd floor, en suite, with sofa, TV, tea facs., view of s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Madeline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hartlepool hotels

Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
521 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Cashed in a "Groupon" voucher for a carvery for two people. Made very welcome by the waitress. Had a bowl of soup to start with [OK] then had a reasonable carvery with three meats and a good selection of veg. Not too much of an atmosphere as we were the only only ones in the restaurant!! The floor could have done with a hoover - tinsle etc still left from a previous event!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

It was abaloutly amazing I love the marine hotel it is one of the best hotel in Hartlepool the food is truly delicious and staff are really friendly I recomened this hotel to every one because it was totally fabulous!you should all go!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a descent room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hannah_123456789_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I visited the hotel on a recent drive out and have to say that the food and service from the staff as extremely pleasent. The pâté is some of best I've tasted and the parmo with home made chips an enjoyable delight and filled a hole after a freezing walk along the seafront. Good value and the staff mean ill definitely be making another visit soon.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Donnerz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

After reading these reviews I felt that I had to put something on here as I've visited this hotel on numerous occasions and the food is very nice and enjoyable. I particularly like the pâté and hunters chicken. It is also nice to have home made chips and crispy onion rings instead of frozen and soggy stuff.

I can't understand why there is bad reviews as on each occassion my meal has been lovely and will be returning again. The staff are also very helpful and efficient and if any problems help out straight away especially in relation to children and picky eaters !! Which some of my friend are.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sue_2679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockton on tees
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We were told it was advisable to book a table but when we got there were only 2 occupied. The bread you got with the soup was a small slice off a baguette or something similar.
When we went for the Carvery there were 3 meats looking very unappetizing, as there was nothing to cover them up. The chef wasted meat trying to get to the good bit. I know we were there early at 6-30 pm but it looked as though it had been left from dinner time.The Yorkshire puddings were flat and cold as were the vegetables, these were carrots ,swede, onions, parsnips and roast and mash potato. There was mint sauce with no lamb, pork but no apple sauce. Overall not a very enjoyable meal.
The staff were friendly but when told all we got was we will tell chef.
If you want a better Carvery in Seaton Carew try the Schooner further along the coast on an estate, it is better and cheaper.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheilas434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hartlepool hotels
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Hartlepool Marina Hotel
0.4 mi away
Staincliffe Hotel
Staincliffe Hotel
#8 of 9 in Hartlepool
232 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Best Western Grand Hotel
Best Western Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hartlepool
471 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
#3 of 9 in Hartlepool
498 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hillcarter Hotel
Hillcarter Hotel
#6 of 9 in Hartlepool
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Property: The Marine Hotel
Address: The Front | Seaton Carew, Hartlepool TS25 1BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Hartlepool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Hartlepool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
25 bed 3 star hotel. Beautiful sea views with a very popular restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Hartlepool
The Marine Hotel Hartlepool, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing