We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Hartlepool
Certificate of Excellence
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good location, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights over new year, and despite being next to the railway line we weren't disturbed by the trains (helped by the fact they weren't running on new year's day!). Staff were friendly, room was very clean, bed comfy. A gripe would be that there was no program guide on the TV so didn't know if there was anything to watch whilst we had a lie-in.
The location is very good for getting back into town and also for the local Lloyds bar, which does good food (particularly breakfast). Also close enough to the marina, although the restaurants round by the headland are a bit further (most of these were closed anyway New Year's Day). It's a Travelodge - you don't expect the world...but this one is better than most I've been in.

Room Tip: We stayed at the end of the corridor which was probably a bonus as less neighbours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BabeNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    112
    20
    11
    13
See reviews for
101
127
26
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
296 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed here in Early December 2013.Requested 2 Rooms looking over the Marina,but did'nt get that! However Rooms where large,Warm,Quality Bed & bedding.Large wall flat screen TV & Clean Modern Toilet/Shower Room.We'd booked ahead & cost was only £25 per room.Car Park was more than big enough,right outside the Travelodge & as safe as anywhere your likely to get in this general area.Travelodge had only been opened a few months,not sure if it will stay this good,but at the price we paid it was as good as value for money as anywhere we have stayed.

Room Tip: Ask for a High Floor Room overlooking the Historic Tall Ships in The Marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Got a £10 discount voucher here which we used to stay on a Friday night ergo we paid £24 which in our opinion was a real bargain !!
Comfy room , nice and quiet ,clean modern and ideal for a stopover.
Good location with easy access to nightlife nearby

Room Tip: Go for the front of the hotel if possible - less noise .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Purple_and_Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

if you want a good nights sleep this is the place to stay,the bed is kingsize the duvet light but warm, mattress is comfy, the bath is on the small side so be prepared to take a shower, if u like a lot to drink be prepared to extra teabags/coffee.ample parking space , staff friendly .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

A great place to stay with superb value for money.

The travel lodge is clean, modern and new. The rooms are basic but clean and tidy. You get what you pay for and you will get just the basics, tea and coffee, but no toothpaste, shampoos, soaps etc. so if you are staying make sure you bring your own shower gels. I can't complain about this given the vale for money offered. The bed is soft and comfortable. The rooms were quiet and I had a good quality sleep, awaking fresh the next day.

In Christmas week paid £21 for the night, which is excellent value. It was booked in advance. I recommend booking online as for some reason when I went in person I was quoted a higher amount! You can pay for additional extras but if you just need a room to sleep then you can't ask for much better value. The travel lodge was a pleasant experience and much better value than other hotels nearby.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank James813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed 2 nights here. Very clean and lovely bed
You do get what you pay for! No shower gel or shampoo and no phone in room.

This is fine just for a place to crash but no food but there is a Pizza Hut and KFC next door and you csn walk to marina

Room Tip: Room 413 nice and quiet with view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holiday73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for your review holiday73. We are really glad to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay at our Hartlepool Marina Hotel. Unfortunately, as standard we do not supply phones or toiletries in our rooms. We do however have toiletries available for purchase from our vending machines in reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay at the Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel. When in Hartlepool we usually stop with a competitor but when we checked the availability of both the local budget hotels; where the options given were paying £200+ and breakfast was compulsory or paying £62 for room only ... we opted for the £62 room only and for not to be force fed breakfast.
The reception staff were friendly. Being a fairly new build, the minimalist rooms are still in very good condition and were spotlessly clean. No bath, just a shower. It was nice to have two large pillars each, as the usual Travelodge standards are one very flat one each! Our bed was a little uncomfortable with a dip in the middle but not that uncomfortable that it was difficult to sleep.
We had a view of the train station but with the windows closed it was very quiet, couldn’t hear anything from outside. During our stay, more noise was heard from our neighbours up on the fourth floor!
The hotel is in a central location, within close walking distance to the marina, the town centre, local supermarkets and a number of retail parks.
The Travelodge only provides snacks. KFC is next door, McDonalds is across the road and there is a good selection of more upmarket eateries situated around the Marina.
Would happily stay here again and would recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LellynIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hartlepool hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Hartlepool Marina Hotel
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hartlepool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
#3 of 9 in Hartlepool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Norton Hotel
Norton Hotel
#9 of 9 in Hartlepool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hillcarter Hotel
Hillcarter Hotel
#6 of 9 in Hartlepool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 9 in Hartlepool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel

Property: Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel
Address: The Lanyard | The Lanyard, Hartlepool TS24 0XS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Hartlepool
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Hartlepool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing