We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely setting and nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mary Rowntrees - CLOSED

Mary Rowntrees
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $17
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Mary Rowntree's is a beautiful tea room during the day and restaurant on an evening. The staff are friendly, polite and helpful to make sure you enjoy your experience. The food is freshly made from local suppliers and the view, especially from the top floor, can be staggering if you get the timing right. You can book the top floor (Seating around 40-50 people) or the whole premises for a function (Seating 100-120 people) - simply ring the phone number provided to enquire and book. Mary Rowntree's is suitable for many types of functions including
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely setting and nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Me and my wife have visited on a couple of occasions since discovering the tea shop. it is set out very nice with spotless clean design and wonderful outlook over the headland and sea.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

563 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    112
    75
    41
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Going down hill?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Something seems to be lacking. We have been at Mary Rowntree's several times but the service is slow, meals average and junior staff seem to me lost with no guidance or experience.

Kremo all is forgiven we were there for Sunday lunch and it was all excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Not Just a Tea Shop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

I had a fantastic three course Birthday lunch with 36 members of my family and despite the number of people the atmosphere was relaxed and the staff were welcoming, very helpful and professional.

The upper floor was beautifully dressed and the view over the bay one of the best you can get from the Headland.

The food was well presented, delicious, the portions generous and the prices reasonable.

I cannot recommend Mary Rowntree's highly enough.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely setting let down by everything else”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is a lovely venue, but let down by the service and the food. Having never been before we weren't sure whether to wait to be seated or just pick a table, and spent a good five minutes wondering whilst the staff hurried by with averted eyes. Eventually we picked up a menu to look at and finally managed to speak to someone and get a table. The service was good once it started. The food was OK - good fish but a bit mean with the chips, though the panini and accompanying tablespoon of coleslaw had 'economy catering pack' written all over it. Lattes tasted very much as though they had been made with UHT milk. Next time I'm in the area I'll stick with the local chippie and a can of pop.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grahame_Goode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Mixed experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We found fabulous reviews of Mary Rowntree's Victorian Tea Shop on Trip Advisor, and as we were making our way up the East Coast to Scotland, we decided to make a detour to visit for lunch. We arrived just before 1pm, and there was a notice outside to say that they were closing at 2pm because of a wedding function, and last orders were to be placed by 1.15pm. So far, so good, and even better when we went inside - the building is really lovely. A most interesting conversion of an old chapel. The staff were also very friendly, and the views were good. We ordered a jacket potato each, and a cream scone with a pot of tea and a cup of coffee. The tea and coffee were most enjoyable, and for once, my husband enjoyed a pot of tea with colour!

Our disappointment was with the potatoes - both were luke warm, at best, in the middle. So much so that the butter didn't even start to melt. My husband has more tolerant taste buds than mine, so ate his, I managed half of mine. They were probably the worst jacket potatoes we have been served with - and I always thought of jackets as a safe option! We then waited for the scones - but they didn't arrive, so in the end, we decided it was time to get moving. Often the response from managers/owners on Trip Advisor is to raise a grievance whilst in the venue, not to just give a negative review, so this is what we did. Our comments on the potatoes were taken on board, and it seems that although we had asked for the scones when we placed our order, we had not taken on board the fact that we needed to go to the cake counter to order them. A few crossed wires there! I wish that had been made more clear at the start. We felt that the upcoming wedding celebrations were perhaps causing the staff to be a bit distracted as regards the other customers. Understandable, perhaps.

Would we return? Probably yes, if we were in that area again. The main meals served to other customers looked well presented and generous. I think we were just unlucky, on a busy day. We aired our grievance and the staff dealt with it in a satisfactory manner.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Slimlinelizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mary Rowntrees also viewed

Hartlepool, County Durham
Hartlepool, County Durham
 
Hartlepool, County Durham
Hartlepool, County Durham
 
Hartlepool, County Durham
Hartlepool, County Durham
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing