We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas Lunch”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Staincliffe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Staincliffe Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Hartlepool
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Christmas Lunch”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Tried to get information from hotel on Christmas lunch. After several phone calls one visit and promises to call me back with information no information was given. A very nice receptionist but no information. On the fifth call I eventually got my information hanging on the line for about 5 minutes. This once good hotel seems to be going down hill not at all professional. I will not be going for Christmas Day Lunch.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank goldstar31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    42
    35
    42
    49
See reviews for
49
49
18
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I have a quick note to write about one of the reviews on here that mentioned Pamela the wedding co ordinator. I was chief bridesmaid last year and Pamela was also our wedding co ordinator, she was fantastic, nothing was too much of a problem and she gave 100% to the wedding. It must have been a tough job as there was also another function at the hotel at the same time, yet that didn't falter her at all. i find the comments made by some to be a tad harsh and shouldn't really be aired on here. I was sorry to see Pamela go, and hope she has every success in the future. As for the hotel it has a lovely atmosphere, drinks were a bit pricey, however the rooms that we stayed in where to a high standard. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Go for one that a bit more expensive, cause the other rooms are a little smaler so i was told.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank keighty_bell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I booked my wedding here and originally was going to cancel it after the so called wedding coordinator pamela upset me so much . ( Pamela does not work there any longer )However I decided to go ahead as Angela took over everything and assured me my day would go as planned . Angela was fantastic really got involved in the wedding and made our day fantastic
I stayed overnight in the Family room so I had more room to get ready and wot a room ! It was done out lovely all nautical, plenty of room and amazing views and spotless, My honeymoon suite was jsut as nice fab views . The only comment I would say is they could do with putting a full length mirror in bridal suite .
The Food was gorgeous and the staff were really helpful especially Sharon on reception
Overall the whole day was great and everybody commented on how lovely everything was
and how well it all went .
I would definatley recommend staying at the hotel and any functions you need organising see Angela as she is a pleasure to deal with
A very big thank you from the new Mr and Mrs Dunn xxxxx

Room Tip: the sea views are definatley worth paying for
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

Poor rooms very dated and small
Very nice breakfast and views staff very nice and attentive and quality food but room was do tiny and the bed not a double no way struggled to sleep at all tiny bed Maybe a 3quarter but we wanted a double so really poor

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Col M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We have just returned from a trip to the North East with my very elderly parents during which we made the Staincliffe Hotel our base. There is a great deal about the hotel which made it the ideal place for us to stay.

Our rooms were spotlessly clean and very comfortable with lovely sea views, the food was excellent - the sausages are the best I've ever been offered in a hotel breakfast - and the service was fantastic. The staff are absolutely lovely - very caring and so friendly, they really made our stay perfect.

We ate in the bar on all of our three evenings and are unable to fault either the food or the service.

Two of our criticisms are minor - my parents would have liked more than one chair in their room and we would have liked headboards on our twin beds as their lack made reading in bed quite challenging!

The third is a little more serious, there is no lift (quite understandable in a listed building) and the stairs make this a less than ideal choice for people who are elderly or have mobility problems. A wheelchair user would not be able to stay here at all.

For those people who don't have to consider this, we would whole-heartedly recommend the Staincliffe as excellent value for money and we will definitely be returning at some point.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if stairs are a problem as there is no lift. The sea view rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CambridgeShoequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed overnight at the Staincliffe Hotel last weekend and found the whole place has had a clean up from our last visit.

We were given a suite which had a room with a double bed and a room with two singles there was plenty of room to sit if needed. The bathroom was spotless with a nice corner bath. We overlooked the back garden not much to look at, but very quite which is what we wanted. There was a fridge that did not work, however as we were their for the night it did not matter to us.

The restaurant was great we had a three course evening meal which was cooked to perfection and served to us by a friendly young girl who was preganant she was such a pleasure. Breakfast was served in the same restaurant too, the only fault I could say on that is that they ran out of milk for the cornflakes and had to wait for more to be brought out, then run out of coffee and had to wait again, but all in all a splendid hotel. Our friends were not so lucky with their room as it was so tiny with two single beds and a small bathroom but had a nice sea view.

If you were staying more than the one night I would recommend booking a suite.

Room Tip: If possible pick a suite for the size if staying more than a few days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bettybo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Having read some of the reviews on the Staincliffe, We were pleasantly relieved to find a very attractive, friendly establishment. Our room had panoramic sea views and was nicely furnished and comfortable. We ate in the grill room and to be honest the steak wasn't the best i'd ever had but probably not the worst either! Waitress very efficient and polite.

Breakfast was very good although we could have done without the cleaner spraying polish as we were eating. One of the managers had a very annoying habit of stomping round the place loudly too,He could have spent some time weeding the gardens instead! Also had just one bottle of sparkling wine on offer which he said was reserved for someone that evening although the bottle was still there the next day! He could have tried a little harder to be fair! Also no cocktails in the cocktail bar. The explanation from him was that they were changing to a brasserie.

We did get the chance to look at the attic room which was interesting and quite spectacular. Next time, we will go for this room, if you like sterile, stay in a travel inn (which incidentally was only £10 cheaper). The decor throughout is tasteful with lots of art deco in evidence. All in all a very pleasant stay in a superb location and most of the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Room 20 is spacious with a great view, try room 18 if you want something a little different
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank benny d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hartlepool hotels
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hartlepool
451 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 9 in Hartlepool
131 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hillcarter Hotel
Hillcarter Hotel
#6 of 9 in Hartlepool
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Hartlepool Marina Hotel
7.1 mi away
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
#3 of 9 in Hartlepool
461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Norton Hotel
Norton Hotel
#9 of 9 in Hartlepool
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staincliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staincliffe Hotel

Property: Staincliffe Hotel
Address: The Cliff, Hartlepool TS25 1AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Hartlepool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Hartlepool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Staincliffe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the seafront with breathtaking views across the North East coastline the Staincliffe Hotel has 20 luxury boutique bedrooms. This Victorian hotel also boasts a fine dining restaurant, cocktail and champagne bar, public bar, Grill Room steak restaurant, Function Suite, the Grand Ballroom and private walled gardens. After undergoing a massive refurbishment programme during winter 2009/2010 the Staincliffe Hotel is without doubt one of the northeast's premier venues! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staincliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staincliffe Hotel Hartlepool, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing