We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wok Inn

The Wok Inn
Ranked #75 of 201 Restaurants in Hartlepool
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: http://maps.google.co.uk/maps/place?hl=en&safe=off&bav=on.2,or.r_gc.r_pw.,cf.osb&biw=1468&bih=1226&um=1&ie=UTF-8&q=the+wok+inn+hartlepool&fb=1&gl=uk&hq=the+wok+inn&hnear=0x487e8a33e97e0a65:0x50dc644f0bd33136,Hartlepool&cid=7057601971421064943http://www.scoresonthedoors.org.uk/business/the-wok-inn-hartlepool-128951.html
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Just visited this evening. Lovely meal. Lovely welcome and friendly staff. Will definately return. Thank you for a brilliant evening.l

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    29
    18
    8
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What's happened to it?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We started going here just under three years ago when we went as a large family group for a birthday. I'd never had Chinese (it's Thai and Cantonese) food before, but loved it. As it's an 'all you can eat' restaurant, you can try different things. The good thing is, it's not a buffet style restaurant, you order off a menu, and are served by a waiter/ess, everything is cooked to order, not kept in warmers.

The chef is excellent, we love the starters, spare ribs, prawn toast, pancake rolls and seaweed. We liked it so much we started going nearly every week, I guess we've spent around £2000 to £2500 or more there in the last (just under) three years. We were confirmed regulars, we had a party of ten there just last week for a Golden Wedding.

On to tonight's episode. We decided to go again tonight. The lady running it was there when we first started going, but left for, we think, the Durham version after six months or so of us starting to go. She treated the staff very badly, shouting at them in front of customers, and even slapping the waiter around the head (she even did it to me once). She is funny is some ways, but also has an underlying abruptness about her. A young man started running it, and he progressed quickly from the new guy being trained by the lady (slapped around the head), to running it with a different lady who didn't speak any English at first, but picked it up quite quickly.

All was well, good service, excellent food, they even got to know what we drank and ordered without asking. Then a couple of weeks ago we hear it's closed for a week for refurbishment. We went last week with our large party not knowing what to expect since re-opening. The only change we saw was some wrinkled wallpaper installed in the bar area, everything else seemed the same.....except, where were all the staff we knew?

The restaurant had been taken back over by the original chinese lady, still as loud and abrupt as ever, but ok to have a laugh with too, but still treating her staff the same. All new staff, although we were told the English girls who had started over the last year still worked there, but we've yet to see them. All the other staff are new to us.

Tonight we waited 40 minutes to be seated (normally they got you seated within five minutes or so). Then waited ages for one of our drinks to come. Food order only part coming, having to remind them of missing items. Everything was rushed, they didn't have enough staff to keep up, and seem to have cut back on staff to save money....while also increasing prices by a pound too. The place was still cold, but it always is, but you go for the food, which is still excellent. It's the BEST Chinese food I've had anywhere.

BUT...they are driving regular customers away with the return of this staff. Of the three groups there when we were, everyone had a complaint, one guy was kept waiting just to give them his money while the staff were 'chatting'. The guy wasn't happy because he had a cab waiting.

This lady, although nice in some ways, and can be quite funny, seems to think she's doing you a favour, rather than you coming there to spend your money, and pay her wages, and finds nothing wrong with keeping you waiting, and thinking 'sorry' is ok all the time. We're patient, but everyone has a limit, eventually 'sorry' isn't good enough. She asked if we wanted a tip to be added to the card machine, I told her we always did tip, but no, as far as I'm concerned, it's built into the increased price now. The service tonight didn't warrant a tip anyway. I even told her how often we'd been coming since she left, but she didn't seem to care...didn't even ask if everything was ok. The previous lad that ran it always asked, and on the rare occasion it wasn't, seemed genuinely interested in the reasons why.

I would have given it five stars, as we've always loved this place, and the Chinese music giving it the atmosphere, but have given it three stars. The chef warrants five, but the service now lets him down badly.

EXCELLENT FOOD, but POOR SERVICE now. Bring back the old staff!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Never again- but if yr partial to glass in yr sweet n sour or sharp n sour !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Food was late and glass in one persons meal. Told by manager' oh it's my last night , I can give u £5 off, oh come on'. Poor servings or none at all ordered. Last time ever

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodloverrr1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Stinks but great food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Went for a birthday party in August 13 can't fault the food at all and what fanatic staff. But we were kept waiting in a small room the paper falling off the wall smell of foist and damp horrible needs decorating... Worst of all was the pop music blasting out just hated it would have loved a nice atmosphere which reflected the food the place was really bad.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank karinanjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“bad manerd manager”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

the meal was great but the guy who serves you is real pushy and wants you out befor you have even finnished he was leaning all over me to clear the plates and was then very rude to us we also went the week before when he was not thier and it was a lot better service next time i go if he is there i wont be staying

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank paul l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wok Inn also viewed

Hartlepool, County Durham
 
Hartlepool, County Durham
Hartlepool, County Durham
 

Been to The Wok Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing