We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice festive fayre”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Golden Lion

Golden Lion
Ranked #51 of 202 Restaurants in Hartlepool
Price range: $9 - $28
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Golden Lion has the largest thatched roof in the north of England with working open coal fires and bespoke oak furniture. We pride ourselves with friendly staff and fresh food cooked on site by our talented chefs, no ready made meals here! Independantly owned by a family from the town we are a freehold business stocking real ale, an extensive single malt collection and fine wines as well as your usual draught products. We are open from 9am Monday to Saturday serving breakfast, lunch and dinner then from 9am Sundays serving breakfast till 11.30am and our traditional roasts 12 til 6pm. (Some might say we serve the best coffee in the town, or even the north east!)The current climate hasn't seemed to effect us as we are getting busier week by week from opening in 2005. It is great to see new and old faces each day! In 2014 we opened The Lion's Den on the first floor, our stylish wedding and event venue. Speak to our event coordinators for more details!
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice festive fayre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Met up with ex work colleagues and we decided to have the 2 course lunch festive fayre £12.95, served from 12:00-5.30pm, Christmas crackers included. Good choice of options on the menu, meals well cooked, although the gravy was a bit too thick and lumpy. If your in the area give it a go,

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hairgrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    76
    53
    27
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I are regulars here and would highly recommend it. They always have something different on the specials board and midweek an early bird two course offer is great value for money. Recommend the bean burger

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debbie3062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“We will be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

It had been a long while since we had eaten at the Golden Lion, we went along this evening and it was absolutely superb!
Chicken with a la creme and I chose rice, a steak with homemade chunky chips! Completely impressed.
We had 3 courses in the end even though we took advantage of the early specials.
I was impressed to see they do a full english breakfast, good to know for the future for those hangover days as they are just a few mins away from where we live. Amazed we haven't been going more often.
We will be back - service was great, friendly staff and food excellent.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeniseGBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G0ldenLi0n, Manager at Golden Lion, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Wonderful news! Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A bit like a barn”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Nice atmosphere but a bit big. Good food, selection is reasonable, nice coffee and the prices seem ok but just lacking a little somthing which I di think is down to the size. Maybe if you're closer to the open fire it would be better, but choose your seat carefully to enjoy your experience.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G0ldenLi0n, Manager at Golden Lion, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
The Golden Lion boasts the largest thatch roof in the north of England, with working coal fires and oak furniture. Many customers comment that they like the open plan feel of the building, its sociable! As to the cod, our supplier the very reputable Hodgesons Fish, supply us with the freshest catch all filleted to the same weight before cooking. After the cooking process some may appear larger to others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside, England
Level Contributor
91 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good value for early menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Ate here a number of times and always good value. Staff are always pleasant and polite. Service is normally quick. £10.95 two courses before 6.30pm is really good value and over the past year or so the choice has got even greater. Game sausages have been good and the terrine too. Cant understand though! every time I order the cod and chips I get the small one!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank neilnsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Lion also viewed

Hartlepool, County Durham
Hartlepool, County Durham
 
Hartlepool, County Durham
Hartlepool, County Durham
 
Hartlepool, County Durham
Hartlepool, County Durham
 

Been to Golden Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing