We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overcooked Pasta!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Matteo's

Matteo's
Ranked #16 of 202 Restaurants in Hartlepool
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Little gem hidden in the heart of Seaton Carew if your looking for good value and Authentic Italian meals look no further our staff are always happy to help
Hartlepool UK
Level Contributor
180 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Overcooked Pasta!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Thought we would give it another try as they offered a cheap deal but thats what we got, Pasta totally overcooked and that carbonara sauce was so full of salt I drank two pints of water when I returned home! My wife's Lasagne was obviously microwaved and had little taste. Sorry, twice bitten - will give this place a wide berth in future

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GoanCrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    47
    13
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hartlepool
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“food with a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We have been to this restaurant several times. Great food great service although the last time we were there the kitchen staff and the waiters were having a bit of a dispute which I didnt think very appropriate in front of diners. However this place has a great atmosphere and very good menu and great value for money.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank chrishartlepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Perfecto!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

This little restaurant is a local gem!
We're lucky to have been on many occasions as a couple, with family and even as a large group and we're never disappointed! The food is delicious and Happy Hour offers fabulous value for money whilst not compromising on taste or quality!
All of the serving staff are always very welcoming and friendly, Mr Boss man circulates (but not in an imposing way like other restaurants in the area) to welcome you and make sure you're happy!
Can't fault Matteo's - it's a must if wanting to dine out in this area!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gemandmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartlepool
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Could do better !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

I have eaten out for the last 25 years and this was not good. It was a combination of the overbearing manager, the food and the barmaid who talked rather openly about her personal life. I ordered Lasagne which turned out to be a few sheets of pasta with tinned tomatoes poured over them, clearly microwaved by the idiot in the kitchen. It wasn't expensive and this is why, it would be ok if it had been a take away but not good enough to be called a restaurant. I never complain in restaurants or on trip advisor but this was justified, i attended his previous place on the Marina which i enjoyed several times but the quality is not in the kitchen this time. I hope it improves and survives but i shall not return.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Westdocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friday 3.8.12”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

food and service excellent, spoilt my owner having a go at one of the waiters, whom had actually been fantastic all evening, and worked his socks off. Atmosphere was therefore spoilt from this incident.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matteo's also viewed

Hartlepool, County Durham
Hartlepool, County Durham
 
Hartlepool, County Durham
Hartlepool, County Durham
 

Been to Matteo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing