We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as it was :0(”
Review of OK Diner

OK Diner
Ranked #60 of 210 Restaurants in Hartlepool
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Beverly Hills, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not as good as it was :0(”
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Been here before and thought it was great so took a diversion home just so we could go again- it was ok but didn't justify the prices. Place itself is nice and the staff are good but it's lost something along the way so don't think it's worth the quite expensive prices anymore :0(

Helpful?
1 Thank Soupdragon68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    72
    39
    26
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

The ok diner is a very nice place to eat. The staff are friendly and the food is really nice. The best part is the milkshakes. They are amazing!!! My favourite flavour is the cookies and cream- it contains real cookies!

Overall, the ok diner is a very good place to visit :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Won't be back”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Stopped here for a snack on our way south. Extensive menu, but we didn't want much so my husband ordered scrambled egg and I had a bagel with cream cheese. When we eventually got the food, it was freshly cooked and edible but tasteless. While waiting for it to arrive, I had plenty time to observe two different waitresses carefully ignoring a chip which had fallen from another table on to the floor and been trodden on, and which they each repeatedly walked past and didn't bother to remove, though they couldn't have failed to see it and it was a slip hazard. Even when she cleared the table it had come from, she didn't pick it up. Clean cutlery was being carried to tables in a plastic box, where it shared space with the cloth and spray being used to wipe the tables. I'm not a hygiene freak, but found this unpleasant and off-putting. Toilet floors were wet and dirty.
The staff were scruffy and not very friendly or welcoming.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotadviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-tees, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Genuine American Root-beer!!!”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

The OK Diner is one of those places you drive past full-pelt and imagine the day you'll actually stop there for a meal, a drink - anything..!

We finally had the luxury of time to pull over last month, so we took a chance. We were initially hesitant about eating in as we couldn't see a menu and feared that it would be roadside service station prices multiplied by the 50's diner gimmick, but all-told, the prices were acceptable and the food was very tasty.

Inside were booth style tables and all the pictures and fittings matched the theme of the diner well. What impressed me more was the inclusion of root-beer on the menu, which was poured from a can - the genuine article from the states I presume - great!

I had a pulled-pork burrito that was incredibly tasty and, although it was a fair sized portion for the price, I could easily have fit a little more in if I'd had the time or the budget!

We didn't stick around for too long as we were on our way home, but the service was efficient and pleasant and the staff said goodbye as we left.

I'm glad we stopped off and will definitely call in again to try more of the menu.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailsham, East Sussex, UK
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great fun!”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We passed this restaurant on our way to Bishop Auckland Castle so stopped for lunch and were not disappointed. We had the chicken burritos and they were well stuffed with chicken and lovely and fresh. As they were freshly cooked they took some time but we enjoyed bottomless cups of coffee while we waited. For dessert I had the apple strudel and although the filling was tasty they had put it in the microwave and spoilt the pastry which resembled cardboard and was flabby. The menu has a good selection and it was packed with people of all ages. The staff were OK but quiet! We would certainly visit again and next time try one of their special breakfasts. This chain is plentiful up North but we don't seem to have any below the Watford Gap! Can you send us one please!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Professor Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed OK Diner also viewed

Stamford, Lincolnshire
Hartlepool, County Durham
 
Hartlepool, County Durham
Hartlepool, County Durham
 
Hartlepool, County Durham
 

Been to OK Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing